We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing piece of heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our daughters gave us a birthday present of short a 2 night stay at The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, N.I. We had never been to N.I. before and would probably not have chosen Belfast. How wrong we would have been. The hotel is in a very quiet village and oozes charm and character without being at all stuffy or pretentious. The staff were all efficient, helpful, and very polite. Even the owner stopped to chat with us. The food is not cheap, but is good value for money - generally large proportions of qulaity food, well cooked and welll presented. Our room was full of character with hand-made carved oak walls, and art deco furnishings, but with a modern TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee - everything you expect. There is a bus stop outside that takes you to the heart of Belfast in one direction, and to Bangor in the other. A few steps from the hotel is a wooded walk down to the beach - about 20 minutes going, but allow longer for coming back as it is mostly up hill. A taxi ride from George Best airport was £17 and £13 going back (use the same taxi firm and they give 20% discount for the return leg).
Belfast itself was a real eye-opener. The city is smaller than I expected and traffic fairly light. Much of the city centre is a modern shopping area. Even though they had had some minor problems the week before - it being the Orange Parade - we found the locals to be friendly and helpful. Take an open topped bus tour of the City, including the H&W docks (of Titanic fame), Stormont, Shanklin and Falls Roads...

Room Tip: There are functions nearly every night - weddings, social groups, birthday parties etc, so expect so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Jon J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our locality on the edge of a country park, on a direct bus route to Belfast makes us a very unique proposition indeed. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your trip into Belfast and that you found the people friendly. Thank you for your kind words on the standard of our food and the friendliness and professionalism of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband last weekend for two nights. We both lovely the cosy old style feel of the inn. We had a lovely room, the 1690 room, full of character and very clean. The only thing I would say was that it was quite warm that weekend and so the room heated up very quickly. We opened the windows but it was then quite noisy being at the front of the building beside the road. No bad reflection on the Old Inn at all as this could not be helped, it was just a warm weekend. We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant one of the evenings and sampled the afternoon tea as well which we really enjoyed. Breakfast beautiful both mornings. Really couldn't fault the Old Inn at all. We found all the staff very helpful and are looking forward to booking another stay soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Cheryl G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found your room both clean and cosy. We were pleased that you enjoyed so many of our food services including afternoon tea. Maybe next time we would encourage you try a room at the back of the hotel that overlooks the garden as opposed to the village. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I treated my very good friend to evening dinner and b&b for her 60th birthday. We both loved the look and feel of the inn and especially the fresh flowers everywhere. We had a light lunch and sat outside as weather was very warm. Then we had a walk down to the beach. Dinner that evening was beautiful along with great choice and service. Breakfast was a disappointment as we were served our fry while we were eating our cereal-we were not the only ones to have this happen.We had a problem and I wrote a letter to management, I did not receive a reply and thought this was unprofessional-then I started to think that my letter was not passed on? Perhaps I will get an answer to this e mail. On a more positive note, we both loved the inn and it's surroundings and will be back again. Do go and try it!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful and full of character and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Frances D, thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed some of the personal touches that we have introduced, which, as a a family owned and managed hotel, we like to think helps to make us stand out against the competition. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed both the food and standard of service at dinner.We were of course disappointed to see that you had issues at breakfast. Unfortunately your original correspondence did not reach the management team, but we now believe that this has been resolved, and hope that it does not deter you from visiting the hotel again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We got married at the old inn last october and it was amazing so we decided to book the wonderfull summer facebook deal £50 pp for a 2 course dinner ,wine and B&B. The room was lovely and the meal delicious. The old inn never fails to offer great, friendly service

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samanthab0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear samboN_ireland, Thank you for yet another great review on Tripadvisor. It is very pleasing to see that we are able to provide great food and friendly food so consistently and that you are continuing to enjoy your stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stated here for one night. Stunningly beautiful hotel. Welcome is typical of the people of Belfast. Extremely warm and so friendly. We had one of the best weekends ever. As my 9 year old would say 'awesome'.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Helen
Thank you for your comments, I believe I met you while you stayed at the hotel. It was very nice to meet you. It would be 'totally awesome' if your son and daughter would like to come with you next time and stay in one of our fantastic family rooms overlooking the hotel gardens and country park.
Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the outside the Inn has old charm , very welcoming and inviting .Enter the foyer , wonderful old Irish charm. We are excited. The Inn was built in 1614 , we have "the superior suite" room 1614 . We haul our luggage up the stairs, past beautiful furniture (such as monk's bench) , still very excited . Beautiful lillies outside our room. We open the door excitement ends. The room is small (not unexpected) has no fan , windows open onto the Main Street , tiles on the bathroom floor are coming apart. Quick check of the toilet paper . One ply (please).

We wet for lunch outside . Beautiful. We sat waiting service. There is none, you have to walk inside order your food and drink and this lovely 4 star establishment does deliver. The food , teeters on the expensive side but was good ( 4 pounds 50 for approx 8 chips). We went to the bar for a few drinks. Toni the barmaid was superb. My wife and myself enjoyed her company so much that it made our stay so much more pleasant. Because of Toni we stayed for dinner and drinks for two nights. The owners of the inn circulate and drive you to buy the dinner special , 52pounds for appetiser and main including a bottle of wine.

The location of the Inn is approx 7 miles outside Belfast. Beautiful secluded village. Great area to explore from but nothing else really in village. Very close to beach . Approx 20 min , easy going down hill not so easy going up hill but you can drive to beach in all of 3 mins

On our last visit we stayed at a B &B , two minutes from the inn. (Courtyard cottage). Unfortunately they were on vacation during this stay so hence we gave the inn a try. The B&B has a Beautiful setting , amazing breakfast (jack the inn is challenging you on a great breakfast) . The upside of the B&B is stat they don't threaten to steal your wine if they find it in your room. We would return to the B&B before we would return to the inn.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are not facing the main road. The noise is very bad. If it is warm see if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Martin, we were disappointed to read your review and that you did not have as good a time as you expected. Thank you for the comments which are of course gratefully accepted and appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the overall ambience in the hotel.
We have reviewed, with the head housekeeper and maintenance team the issues with the bathroom and found no single ply paper, nor do we stock 1-ply, so I am unsure of the origins of this, and only very slight drying in of grouting which was recently renewed, which you were quite right to point out - however, there are a variety of points raised regarding the pushing of sales, cost of chips and stealing of wine which I feel need further explanation. The £52.50 menu is a promotion which is much better value for money than choosing a la carte and we, the family who run the hotel, will only try to give you the best experience and value for money. If this came across as any kind of 'push' then please accept our apologies. The chips, are very large, and by weight are quite a standard portion, at £3.50 similar in price to most local restaurants. With regards the wine, I can only assume you are referring to a standard disclaimer in our literature which is unlikely to be invoked unless any guest becomes recklessly drunk, at which point we are obliged by law to stop serving them. There is no mention of stealing and think this statement is quite unfair and misleading to the public reading this review.
The issue with serving in the garden is unusual due to the consistently good weather, and the direction to the staff was to keep delivering 4* service, however we do ask that guests settle food and drinks bills in advance of serving due to several customers recently forgetting to pay bills after serving. We did, regrettably have a short period of confusion where guests were having to come into the hotel to order their food and drinks, which was never the intention. This miscommuncation has now been resolved.
I hope this addresses some of your issues, and we will pass on your kind comments to toni, a very valued member of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at the old inn, the first time being a couple of years ago. I can thoroughly recommend it. I have been very well looked after. The inn itself is lovely, the rooms cosy and the general atmosphere of the place is great. It's a fine looking set of buildings to start with, and the interior is just as impressive. I had the luck of glorious weather as well, so sitting on the large terrace at the back, listening to the river gurgling away below with the sun on my face was fantastic. To cap it off I had an excellent meal in the restaurant with my colleagues and had great service from the staff. I would come here again, no question.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank leonf679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Leon

Thanks for taking the time to review us and so glad you got the best of the very fine weather.
The garden is still a little bit 'undiscovered' in the area and we're very glad you have written about it, it's a real gem in the midst of county down overlooking the country park.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Titanic Hotel Belfast
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#27 of 45 in Belfast
249 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
21.2 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Address: 15 Main Street, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range: £79 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn Is the CURRENT AA NORTHERN IRELAND HOTEL OF THE YEAR! Over 400 years old, with thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star (highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing