We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, lovely welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We ended up in the Crawfordsburn having been unsuccessful getting refreshments in the Cultra Inn. As always the Crawfordsburn was welcoming and staff helpful. We enjoyed our visit and refreshments & pannacotta was perfect. Given our previous experience at one of their local competitors (Cultra Inn - see review) it was very satisfying to find that local Co Down hospitality does exist. If you are a visitor please skip the other & go to the Crawfordsburn.

Thank you Crawfordsburn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Stephen W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found the Panna Cotta a particular hit. Thank you also for your kind words on our hosptitality. As a family owned and managed hotel it is always very reassuring to see when the whole team 'clicks'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

To pay for this hotels top suits and to have them above a wedding party is beoynd me.the noise was crazy from outside and from below this went on to after 12.we booked the inn to end our break away and thought bu booking a suite this would be the icing on the cake .we could open windows duevto the nosie from the wedding smoking outside and the music coming from the floor below,we would of thought it was in our room.terrible nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garethm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Garethm28, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We do try, as far as possible, to allocate rooms associated with any weddings, closest to our banqueting suites but unfortunately sometimes it is not always possible to how far guests may 'stray' from these rooms. We hope that your expeience does not deter you from visiting the hotel again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I recently had a short break at the Inn. Neither of us could speak highly enough of it, in every aspect. The sense of history was amazing, particularly knowing that former guests included CS Lewis, who honeymooned there, and Dick Turpin. Our room was styled beautifully, creating a quaint image and again giving a sense of history, yet was cosy and welcoming, though our 4 poster bed was quite high, which may have presented a dilemma for the vertically challenged. The restaurant and quality of the food were second to none and the garden seating area made for an excellent venue for after dinner drinks, particularly as one young man in a group sitting near us, provided us with an excellent acoustic set comprised of songs which would have suited all age ranges and tastes. He was an excellent talent and added to what was already a wonderful experience. Our breakfast service was a little slow, though it transpired that there had been a problem in the kitchen. This was well handled by staff, who apologised to each guest personally on behalf of the management and remained attentive and pleasant throughout the service. We left the Inn, already trying to work out when we could fit in another visit. Can't wait!

Room Tip: The Clandeboye Suite was beautiful and well appointed at the front of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear James M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us so much that you are already planning a retuen trip! We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you do. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were visiting friends in Holywood and decided to reminisce by going to The Old Inn for lunch (our friends were married there 18 years ago)
Each family now has two children so it was lovely to go back there and share our memories with them. There was a wedding on whilst we were eating lunch there too!
We all ordered an array of sandwiches, every one of which was spectacular. They were packed with a range of ingredients, all of which complemented one another. Mine was an open smoked salmon and caper sandwich on wheaten bread and was delicious. We also ordered a range of sundries including chips, garlic chips and - the winner - big fat onion rings!
The restaurant was packed when we arrived but we didnt have to wait long for a table of 8. The food on all the surrounding tables looked amazing and the homemade soup of the day looked so inviting.
Although the prices were slightly higher than other restaurants in the area, the quality of food and of service was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairegallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear clairegallie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit for lunch. We put a lot of emphasis on getting the basics right such as our sanwiches and our soup and it is great to see they were such a hit. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Northern Ireland. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

at a wedding here in dec. decorations open fires all good
service excellent
restaurant food was superb.
craic in bar entertaining.
seafront is great 4 walk to bangor.
scenery powerful
rooms r quaint but very comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear lesstewart, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us last December. We hope that you will not leave it as long until your next visit. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed over 2 nights while attending a wedding. The wedding was well organised and the staff worked hard to give guests everything they needed. Food was good and was served efficiently. Staff at breakfast were not particularly attentive and buffet choice was average for the price. Scrambled egg was inedible but we didn't complain as other wedding guests were there. Weird decor in the dining area! Bar prices high.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room at the back above the bar which was rather noisy. We had been at a wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 879gillh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Gill H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent wedding experience with us. We have taken your comments with regards to breakfast and have shared these with the rest of the kitchen team. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our daughters gave us a birthday present of short a 2 night stay at The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, N.I. We had never been to N.I. before and would probably not have chosen Belfast. How wrong we would have been. The hotel is in a very quiet village and oozes charm and character without being at all stuffy or pretentious. The staff were all efficient, helpful, and very polite. Even the owner stopped to chat with us. The food is not cheap, but is good value for money - generally large proportions of qulaity food, well cooked and welll presented. Our room was full of character with hand-made carved oak walls, and art deco furnishings, but with a modern TV, free WiFi, tea and coffee - everything you expect. There is a bus stop outside that takes you to the heart of Belfast in one direction, and to Bangor in the other. A few steps from the hotel is a wooded walk down to the beach - about 20 minutes going, but allow longer for coming back as it is mostly up hill. A taxi ride from George Best airport was £17 and £13 going back (use the same taxi firm and they give 20% discount for the return leg).
Belfast itself was a real eye-opener. The city is smaller than I expected and traffic fairly light. Much of the city centre is a modern shopping area. Even though they had had some minor problems the week before - it being the Orange Parade - we found the locals to be friendly and helpful. Take an open topped bus tour of the City, including the H&W docks (of Titanic fame), Stormont, Shanklin and Falls Roads...

Room Tip: There are functions nearly every night - weddings, social groups, birthday parties etc, so expect so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Jon J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our locality on the edge of a country park, on a direct bus route to Belfast makes us a very unique proposition indeed. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your trip into Belfast and that you found the people friendly. Thank you for your kind words on the standard of our food and the friendliness and professionalism of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,806 reviews
8 mi away
Titanic Hotel Belfast
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#25 of 45 in Belfast
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
577 reviews
21.2 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Address: 15 Main Street, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn Is the CURRENT AA NORTHERN IRELAND HOTEL OF THE YEAR! Over 400 years old, with thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star (highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing