We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Full of Charm”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A beautiful Inn in a lovely village. The rooms are very quirky but beautifully fitted out, and the bar is very cosy. The food in the restaurant is wonderful, dinner and breakfast were perfect.
There was a little noise from a wedding but it finished at a reasonable time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Carol S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the hotel and indeed the village to be so full of character. As you correctly point out, all of our rooms are individually styled with hand made bespoke furniture and carefully chosen antiques, which all add to the overall character. we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    188
    96
    58
    45
See reviews for
194
479
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed at The Old Inn to celebrate both of our birthdays. We are having are wedding here in October so we thought it would be a great chance to see what our guests can expect! We stayed in the Oriental Poppy room which was absolutely gorgeous, it is above the function room so we could hear the wedding below but it finished at 12 so it didn't keep us awake.

The food in the Lewis dining room was excellent and the service was perfect. The staff were polite and friendly throughout our whole stay and we really can't wait to come back to get married!

Room Tip: If you want an early night then ask for a bedroom away from the function room but the music stops at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Han1310, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you are looking forward to your wedding in October. Thank you for your kind words on the professionalism of the team especially in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in October and rolling out the red carpet for you. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a very delicious afternoon tea here. The service was impeccable and the food was lovely. Only complaint was that when we booked we specifed no fish in the sandwiches. We got fish but didnt complain as we didnt want to make a fuss. They were eaten anyway! Have had afternoon tea in well known Belfast hotels but must say this was the best and not as expensive. We would return and highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Joan901, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit for afternoon tea and that you found the service impeccable. Thank you also for your kind words on the standard of food and your constructive comments on your specific request have been shared with the restaurant team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We ended up in the Crawfordsburn having been unsuccessful getting refreshments in the Cultra Inn. As always the Crawfordsburn was welcoming and staff helpful. We enjoyed our visit and refreshments & pannacotta was perfect. Given our previous experience at one of their local competitors (Cultra Inn - see review) it was very satisfying to find that local Co Down hospitality does exist. If you are a visitor please skip the other & go to the Crawfordsburn.

Thank you Crawfordsburn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Stephen W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found the Panna Cotta a particular hit. Thank you also for your kind words on our hosptitality. As a family owned and managed hotel it is always very reassuring to see when the whole team 'clicks'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

To pay for this hotels top suits and to have them above a wedding party is beoynd me.the noise was crazy from outside and from below this went on to after 12.we booked the inn to end our break away and thought bu booking a suite this would be the icing on the cake .we could open windows duevto the nosie from the wedding smoking outside and the music coming from the floor below,we would of thought it was in our room.terrible nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garethm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Garethm28, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We do try, as far as possible, to allocate rooms associated with any weddings, closest to our banqueting suites but unfortunately sometimes it is not always possible to how far guests may 'stray' from these rooms. We hope that your expeience does not deter you from visiting the hotel again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I recently had a short break at the Inn. Neither of us could speak highly enough of it, in every aspect. The sense of history was amazing, particularly knowing that former guests included CS Lewis, who honeymooned there, and Dick Turpin. Our room was styled beautifully, creating a quaint image and again giving a sense of history, yet was cosy and welcoming, though our 4 poster bed was quite high, which may have presented a dilemma for the vertically challenged. The restaurant and quality of the food were second to none and the garden seating area made for an excellent venue for after dinner drinks, particularly as one young man in a group sitting near us, provided us with an excellent acoustic set comprised of songs which would have suited all age ranges and tastes. He was an excellent talent and added to what was already a wonderful experience. Our breakfast service was a little slow, though it transpired that there had been a problem in the kitchen. This was well handled by staff, who apologised to each guest personally on behalf of the management and remained attentive and pleasant throughout the service. We left the Inn, already trying to work out when we could fit in another visit. Can't wait!

Room Tip: The Clandeboye Suite was beautiful and well appointed at the front of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear James M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us so much that you are already planning a retuen trip! We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you do. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were visiting friends in Holywood and decided to reminisce by going to The Old Inn for lunch (our friends were married there 18 years ago)
Each family now has two children so it was lovely to go back there and share our memories with them. There was a wedding on whilst we were eating lunch there too!
We all ordered an array of sandwiches, every one of which was spectacular. They were packed with a range of ingredients, all of which complemented one another. Mine was an open smoked salmon and caper sandwich on wheaten bread and was delicious. We also ordered a range of sundries including chips, garlic chips and - the winner - big fat onion rings!
The restaurant was packed when we arrived but we didnt have to wait long for a table of 8. The food on all the surrounding tables looked amazing and the homemade soup of the day looked so inviting.
Although the prices were slightly higher than other restaurants in the area, the quality of food and of service was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairegallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear clairegallie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit for lunch. We put a lot of emphasis on getting the basics right such as our sanwiches and our soup and it is great to see they were such a hit. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Northern Ireland. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing