We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing inn great charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
DC
1 review
“Amazing inn great charm”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved staying here! Great value for such a fine inn. We had the Clandeboyle Room just up the staircase.Huge bathtub! The food is nothing short of spectacular. Grilled krill with mussels - mmmmmmmmm. The $52(pounds) dinner menu for two with bottle of wine is a great
deal. I recommend a quick drive to Crawfordsburn park if you want a relaxing walk along the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear chrissica, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and especially glad to see that you enjoyed the Clandeboye Room (all of our rooms are individually named instead of numbered) and we were delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Lewis restaurant. It certainly looks as if you had a 'whale' of a time. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    203
    100
    61
    47
See reviews for
203
498
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have stayed in crawfordsburn on numerous occasions & this is the first we have written a review on it. The hotel is charming, every room is spotless & Traditional. The staff are all very pleasant & there are always plenty of them about. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in bar area. Our dinner was absolutely stunning one of the best meals we have had, goats cheese & pear salad to start followed my seabass, my husband had quail, followed by brill with cockles & mussels, absolutely amazing & a lovely bottle of Shiraz. Its always lovely to see Danny the owner as well always present to chat & check on customers. Finally we love heading out the back to sit by the open fire in the garden just to finish the night off, & we always get speaking to others & have some craic! Oh & finally finally, the breakfast is amazing too, fresh, cooked to order & perfect cooked selection. Another perfect stay n crawfordsburn, look forward to next time :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashmar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ashmar2013, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a family owned and managed business it is usual to see at least one of the family out and about on the floor during service. Thank you too for your kind words on our food and of our service team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

yet another great stay in The Old Inn at Crawfordsburn. A warm welcome by reception. immaculate room, great breakfast with a friendly good morning from staff. all this at an amazing price by booking direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear ianyscotland, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that it was as good as it was in April! We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here recently with a group of friends. The purpose of our trip was a girlie catch up and it was perfect for this. when we arrived we checked in to our respective rooms (all very different and all lovely) and then met in the bar for a few drinks. Really relaxing way to spend a couple of hours. Our dinner that night was included in our deal and it was first class. I had smoked salmon to start followed by sea bass. Too full for a dessert! Had a really good nights sleep although was a little concerned when I could clearly hear music from an on-sight wedding but this stopped shortly after midnight.
Breakfast the next morning was equally good. It makes a pleasant change to have the hot breakfasts made to order. Too many hotels cut corners on this but it really added to the relaxed feel of our stay.

Highly likely to return and even more likely to recommend to others. The location is lovely being so close to the country park for some exercise and the onsite facilities are very good. Well done to all the pleasant staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Armaghgirl, Thank you for taking the time for posting such a positive and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us and left with so many positive memories. Thanks in particular for you kind comments on our team throughout the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again, but please don't leave it so long! Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co antrim
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

just back after attending an evening wedding party - rooms are all named not numbered but our twin room was lovely clean comfortable and beautifully decorated - most staff very friendly and helpful - supper and breakfast was very tasty - a really nice hotel but not cheap

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear libbyCoAntrim, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you enjoyed the wedding meal and breakfast the following morning as well as noticing that all of our rooms are indeed, individually styled and named. Thank you also for your kind words on the attitude of the overall team. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. We had afternoon tea, and drinks and later food in the hotel.
The rooms are beautiful and the staff so attentive, without being intrusive and overall the loveliest experience.

Whenever I have a special occasion I would go there to celebrate. Just divine.

Room Tip: If you venture to this area do not, do not miss staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Katie G, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We tend to agree with your sentiment that many people view us as a special occasion location, which is a reputation that we love. However, we also love doing the simple things well and the guys in the kitchen get a real kick out of simple done well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions for business purposes and have been so impressed I keep meaning to book a long weekend with my partner. While there isn't much around the hotel itself, it isn't far from Belfast - I would definately hire a car from the airport though if I stayed for anything other than business.

Every bedroom is decorated differently and each has a different name, giving it that personal touch. Its very oldie worldy but you can't help falling for the place. Even reception area has great character and in the winter you walk through the front door to a large open fire. Very welcoming!

Service has always been amazing here for business and also in the evenings in the bar and restaurant. Breakfast - well, you have quite a choice - full Irish or just toast, you pick! The evening menu is also superb and very beautifully cooked and presented.

If you enjoy a walk, behind the hotel is a wooded country park with pathways which takes you down to Belfast Lough - which has a beach and I have witnessed people swimming there. Its a beautiful spot and well worth a wander!

If you're a smoker, it has possibly the BEST smoking area i've ever witnessed - specially built pavillion in the garden with its own furniture and open fire for the winter! If you're not a smoker, you will still appreciate this little folly and the lovely small garden it sits in.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several rooms at this hotel and they are all lovely. However, if you like your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear cloverwood, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and left with so many positive views of not just ourselves but of Northern Ireland. Thanks particularly for your kind words on the food and service. Also, as you correctly point out all of rooms are named instead of numbered, very much in keeping with a coaching inn that will be 400 years old next year. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. KInd regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,730 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
215 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing