We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon tea!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I had afternoon tea here on Friday 14th march. We were served by a lovely lady called Cathy who was fantastic. There was a wedding on that day however we wouldn't have known. The service was great and there was adequate staff on. It would have been nice to have a better selection of teas, however all in all its great value for money. I've tried quite a few afternoon teas, and £18 is very good. The decor is lovely too, it's a must visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jgroow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Jgroow
Thank you for your review, we will make sure that Cathy knows about your comments! We will review the selection of teas available, we currently have a selection of eight teas and seven coffees to choose from, but perhaps we did not stock your preference, so we will speak to Cathy to see if she can recall it. We would hope to have the most popular selection on teas so we do hope that this has not put you off returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    180
    95
    54
    42
See reviews for
186
468
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had lunch here in March, as we did last March (annual visit, you'll have worked out). Although situated on a main road there was no traffic disturbance, although that may be different at night. The food was well prepared & served by friendly staff in attractive surroundings. All the same as it was last year. Prices remain reasonable. Clearly a reliable destination.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear john g
Thank you for your review, we really strive for consistent food with friendly service and great value for money food. So your review is very gratifying to us. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at hotel last week [late deals] and had meal in restaurant. Room excellent[Oaks]
Staff very friendly,had both lunch and evening meal,everything top class. For a tuesday/wednesday lots of like people around. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear charliecmcc
Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed the room, the food and the service. Your comments are read by all of the team here and help keep us all motivated! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Called in to The Old Inn on Thursday evening 20th of February without a reservation as decided we would eat out that evening. Staff were welcoming and efficient as befits a 4 star hotel and we were shown yo a table. Drinks orders were taken and we were given menus and the food arrived promptly and the main courses were well cooked and tasty as were the desserts.
The reason for a merely average review was because of the chips ! Call them French fries, chips or whatever, firstly the portions were miserable, they came in little "chip baskets" which look fancy but hold very little and secondly they were very "oily". I know, they are chips and as such are fried, but these were not very nice.
I will give The Old Inn another try, and hopefully they will look at the portion size for thier chips and what they fry them in, otherwise I will do as most people do and vote with my feet by going elsewhere.
Its a nice hotel with pleasant staff in a lovely location, just sort out the way you cook and serve your chips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Clive B
Thank you for your review.
We pride ourselves on a few key elements of our food and drinks menu and we've noticed that what keeps our customers happiest is good batter on fish, good chips, good coffee and good Guinness! So we focus on these items in particular to our normal high standards across the board. About 2 weeks ago we noticed that some batches of chips were coming out from the kitchen lighter in colour and immediately went to find the source. We have variable temperature on our fryers and had found the temperature of the oil set slightly low, which due to the lower temperature gives a particular flavour to the chips. We use soya bean oil due to high levels of mono-unsaturated fats and omega 3 oils, it also has the distinct quality of being less flavoursome than other oils so that it does not impart a flavour to anything it cooks. We change all of the oils in all of our fryers at least once per day, sometimes more in busy services. From your comments a small team of us tried them yesterday and found them to be very good indeed. We think, from your explanation, that we may not have solved the issue of having them set at too low a temperature and you may have been unlucky in this instance, which of course is no excuse, we should be able to serve them the exact same way every time. So our sincere apologies for this.
Regards the portion size we actually weighed out the servings before deciding on the basket size, and although some people do look at several fat chips in a basket and think it's on the small side, compared to a 'portion' of chips in any of our competitors we are about equal, we also trialled larger portions which overwhelmed the meal with the amount of starchy food per person. It depends what it's being compared to though, as nobody could compete with 'the chippy' for sheer portion size! We have a pretty fair approach to any customer who finds a portion of anything too large or small in the hotel and will always endeavour to rectify it as soon as we know about it. So i would encourage you to come back and try them some time soon and as for a few more if you're dissatisfied with the portion sizes. I hope you find that fair.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We attended a wedding here in November 2013. We were also staying at the hotel for the night. The bedroom whilst not massive was lovely and was 'Oldie Worldie'. The bed was really comfortable and there was no noise from the rest of the hotel.
The hotel has a really nice atmosphere about it.
The wedding took place in the hotel at 1530 hours, after the wedding ceremony we had tea/coffee and biscuits. A short time later we were all led down to the function room. The food was great quality, really tasty and there was plenty of it. After the meal we were all told to leave this room so they could prepare it for the evening bit of the wedding, we were told it would take an hour to set up. An hour and a half later we were allowed back into the function room for the evening do. We had only sat down when the staff brought out the evening buffet, which in my opinion was far to close to the time when the majority of guests had finished the wedding dinner. If they would have left it for another 1-2 hrs it would have been better.
Myself and my wife slept will in the comfortable bed. For Breakfast I had the fry and there was loads of food and good quality.

February 2014 we again attended another wedding at the hotel, we weren't staying overnight on this occasion.
This wedding took place at 1230 hours, after the wedding there was again tea/coffee and scones. We were ushered to another room for champagne. We were then left to our own devices for about 3 hours before we were called to the function room for the wedding dinner. Two hours of speeches later food was finally served. Again the food was excellent and there was plenty of it.
I have a couple of things that I wasn't overly happy about

Although both weddings were at different times in the afternoon the food arrived at the same time, which was great for the first wedding but the second wedding it meant having to wait for food for far too long.
Also can the management not suggest that the speeches are done after the meal which would alleviate some of the waiting.
And lastly, why does it take an hour and a half to set up the room for the evening, this in my opinion is far too long

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne and Davi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Joanne and Davi...D
Thank you for your review. The detail of your comments is greatly appreciated regarding the breakfast, beds and overall food and service. There are some very straightforward answers to your questions which I hope are useful to you and other reviewers regarding weddings. You will know that we are known for great weddings and I hope these insights do not appear defensive;
Brides and Grooms will make the final decision on when the speeches take place. Speeches before a meal account for about 80% of our weddings now (a complete change from 10 years or so ago when speeches before the meal were quite rare) the main reason being that so many people with speeches were so consumed with nerves that the could not eat. It would actually work in the hotel's interest for speeches to be after the meal as sending our food when it's at it's peak can be tricky when 30 mins of allocated speeches take over 2 hours! We quite often re-make several parts of the meal behind the scenes when this happens. Also, with regards to setting up the room, the hotel staff only really need about 35 minutes, however DJ's and more likely singers/bands take longer, and with everything happening in one room they cannot start to set up until the last guest has left the room after the meal. We are not trying to apportion blame to great singers, bands and DJ's but there is a physical limit on how long it takes to set up. Again, if it was up to the Hotel, we would rather guests returned to the banqueting suite as soon as possible, however we are reliant on the evening entertainment being fully ready. Finally on the buffet question, it is again the bridal party who decide the timings for this, and our job is to deliver on our promise to them. We do advise later buffets for the very reason you mention, however there is quite a debate about guests arriving for evening reception only who find a later buffet an inconvenience and cause for complaint. So there are two sides to that situation.
As I say, I hope that provides insight and not taken as defensive on our part. We aim to please everyone all of the time, but we do prioritise the bridal party wishes in our execution of wedding plans on the day. It seems like you really have your eye on the ball though and have you thought of a future in wedding planning? Your observations are really insightful!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a great weekend at this hotel just outside Belfast. Everything was perfect rooms location staff. It's hard to believe its only minutes from Belfast City Airport. prices were very reasonable and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Sue C
Thanks for your review, it sounds like you have travelled up from the south to fly out from the City Airport, thank you for stopping in with us. We are very lucky with our location here being right by Crawfordsburn Country Park, Helen's Bay beach, the city airport and within ten minutes of Belfast centre. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights to celebrate my other half's birthday, as he had always wanted to stay there. Crawfordsburn is a quiet village and the hotel is in the centre of the village on the main road. It is very picturesque from the outside. The inside is very charming also and it is a very old-world sort of place, ideal for a bit of relaxation .

Our room was absolutely beautiful! We booked a "Love Doves" package which included rose petals on the bed, fizz and chocolate-dipped strawberries. In the room was a large vase of absolutely beautiful smelly lilies, which I loved. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and set us up for the day nicely. We did also eat one evening in the hotel restaurant and again this was absolutely superb.

On one afternoon we decided to have the "Victorian afternoon tea with prosecco". It was absolutely divine!!!

My only criticism of the hotel is that I found it quite hard to sleep as there was a wedding going on on both of the nights that we stayed and the wedding parties were extremely loud as they left the hotel in the early hours. This is why I have only rated "very good" and not "excellent".

One more thing: the hotel is ideally located right on the edge of Crawfordsburn Country Park. This is an absolutely beautiful place with a waterfall, beach, wild flower meadow and lots more. Do visit the park if you have a chance (although beware: the public loos are vile!!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Emma O
It was great to have you here for two nights, and thank you for your reply. We are very glad you enjoyed all of the aspects within our control, and we will look carefully at the noise you experienced from the wedding guests on both nights to try and ensure this is kept under control in the future. It's great that you have left with an overall positive experience and did not let the 'revellers' spoil your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing