We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letter from America”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Letter from America”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Every other year my Uncle from Connecticut ( former native of NI), visits and his first choice of Hotel is the Inn which he loves for its ambience, decor and all round good service,Dining room arrangements have been changed and I must say they are not an improvement which complements the other facilities.Always reserve one's table as it is always full particularly when wedding guests are about--which is a fairly common occurence.

Room Tip: I would have recommended rooms away from the function /conference area but these abutt the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bader54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Bader54, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that we are still a firm favourite with your uncle and that he enjoys the ambience so much. Eventhough we are 400 years old this year we have had to move with the times to meet the demands of the more discerning traveller and diner and it can sometimes be a bit of a challenge to please all of the people all of the time. Every change that we do make however is done with meticulous planning and forethought for the overall 'feel' of the The Old Inn.We do hope your uncle and your family plan to have many more experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    196
    97
    60
    45
See reviews for
196
486
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding ceremony and reception on Sunday 16th March. Everything was absolutely fabulous.
Sean was great and kept everything running smoothly.
The whole setting and ambience of the place is second to none and the food is to die for.
The chic wedding package is an absolute must and meant I really didn't have any stress leading up to my day.
We stayed in the fuschia suite and I have to say I've never stayed in a more beautiful bedroom in my life.
Thankyou so much for looking after us and our families so well and rest assured we will definitely return.
Claire and Glenn xx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pinkhamsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Claire and Glenn, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor. We were also delighted to see that you singled out Shaun for particular praise, he really does try to put everybody at their ease to allow them to enjoy their day completely. We are thrilled that you found the food 'to die for,' and that you found your bridal suite to be so spectatcular. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary, if not before. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I had our wedding reception here and from the minute we arrived no one could have bee nicer Sean who was in charge of our wedding was fantastic he was informing us of everything we needed to know checking how we were if everything was all right our wedding was in the waterfall suite which looks fantastic the food was served promptly there was no 1 table was finished before the last table stared everything tasted lovely and everyone commented on the taste of the food. We stayed in the cottage for 2 nights which is also lovely with the sitting room with the gas fire you almost forget you're in a hotel the grounds are amazing also behind the hotel is a nature trail that takes you into the crawfordsburn country park. To sum it up it is a beautiful venue with friendly staff and we're really happy with the service that we received and we would encourage anyone to booked there wedding or even spend a night and enjoy what the old inn crawfordsburn has to offer and from Michael and Jessica 15/3/14 a massive thank you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear MichaelM, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your wedding day with us. Thank you also for your kind words about Shaun, he has inbuilt willingness to make everybody happy and we will be sure to pass on your kind regards. Also nice to see that the gardeners were doing their bit!! We are very pleased that you found all of the staff to be so friendly, and we all look forward to maybe seeing you, next year, for your anniversary. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I had afternoon tea here on Friday 14th march. We were served by a lovely lady called Cathy who was fantastic. There was a wedding on that day however we wouldn't have known. The service was great and there was adequate staff on. It would have been nice to have a better selection of teas, however all in all its great value for money. I've tried quite a few afternoon teas, and £18 is very good. The decor is lovely too, it's a must visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jgroow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Jgroow
Thank you for your review, we will make sure that Cathy knows about your comments! We will review the selection of teas available, we currently have a selection of eight teas and seven coffees to choose from, but perhaps we did not stock your preference, so we will speak to Cathy to see if she can recall it. We would hope to have the most popular selection on teas so we do hope that this has not put you off returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had lunch here in March, as we did last March (annual visit, you'll have worked out). Although situated on a main road there was no traffic disturbance, although that may be different at night. The food was well prepared & served by friendly staff in attractive surroundings. All the same as it was last year. Prices remain reasonable. Clearly a reliable destination.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear john g
Thank you for your review, we really strive for consistent food with friendly service and great value for money food. So your review is very gratifying to us. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at hotel last week [late deals] and had meal in restaurant. Room excellent[Oaks]
Staff very friendly,had both lunch and evening meal,everything top class. For a tuesday/wednesday lots of like people around. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear charliecmcc
Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed the room, the food and the service. Your comments are read by all of the team here and help keep us all motivated! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Called in to The Old Inn on Thursday evening 20th of February without a reservation as decided we would eat out that evening. Staff were welcoming and efficient as befits a 4 star hotel and we were shown yo a table. Drinks orders were taken and we were given menus and the food arrived promptly and the main courses were well cooked and tasty as were the desserts.
The reason for a merely average review was because of the chips ! Call them French fries, chips or whatever, firstly the portions were miserable, they came in little "chip baskets" which look fancy but hold very little and secondly they were very "oily". I know, they are chips and as such are fried, but these were not very nice.
I will give The Old Inn another try, and hopefully they will look at the portion size for thier chips and what they fry them in, otherwise I will do as most people do and vote with my feet by going elsewhere.
Its a nice hotel with pleasant staff in a lovely location, just sort out the way you cook and serve your chips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Clive B
Thank you for your review.
We pride ourselves on a few key elements of our food and drinks menu and we've noticed that what keeps our customers happiest is good batter on fish, good chips, good coffee and good Guinness! So we focus on these items in particular to our normal high standards across the board. About 2 weeks ago we noticed that some batches of chips were coming out from the kitchen lighter in colour and immediately went to find the source. We have variable temperature on our fryers and had found the temperature of the oil set slightly low, which due to the lower temperature gives a particular flavour to the chips. We use soya bean oil due to high levels of mono-unsaturated fats and omega 3 oils, it also has the distinct quality of being less flavoursome than other oils so that it does not impart a flavour to anything it cooks. We change all of the oils in all of our fryers at least once per day, sometimes more in busy services. From your comments a small team of us tried them yesterday and found them to be very good indeed. We think, from your explanation, that we may not have solved the issue of having them set at too low a temperature and you may have been unlucky in this instance, which of course is no excuse, we should be able to serve them the exact same way every time. So our sincere apologies for this.
Regards the portion size we actually weighed out the servings before deciding on the basket size, and although some people do look at several fat chips in a basket and think it's on the small side, compared to a 'portion' of chips in any of our competitors we are about equal, we also trialled larger portions which overwhelmed the meal with the amount of starchy food per person. It depends what it's being compared to though, as nobody could compete with 'the chippy' for sheer portion size! We have a pretty fair approach to any customer who finds a portion of anything too large or small in the hotel and will always endeavour to rectify it as soon as we know about it. So i would encourage you to come back and try them some time soon and as for a few more if you're dissatisfied with the portion sizes. I hope you find that fair.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing