We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very welcoming” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Called in with a few girlfriends for a drink while out a drive.
No time to serve food because of a wedding and to be honest felt as if the staff looked down on some customers and considering they advertise on daily deal sites this isn't maybe is the wrong attitude as it has put me of asking my husband to try it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniTony69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear ToniTony69, Thank you for taking the time for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We were a little confused by your posting as it is unclear if you requested food and were maybe refused, or if you were just in for a drink with the girls. We have a separate banqueting kitchen and a separtate banqueting team to look after our wedding of the day which does not impact on the main kitchen and customers out for a quick lunch or afternoon snack can be accommodated quickly. We hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    180
    95
    53
    42
See reviews for
186
467
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent two nights in this gorgeous hotel last week. Stayed in the "cottage" - what a place!! Four Poster Bed, dressing room and living room - it is absolutely beautiful. Food is really tasty and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Really relaxing break

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear murpees79, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. we were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with and that you particularly enjoyed the surroundings of our Castleward Suite. We would have to agree that it is just a bit special. Thank you also for your kind words on your dining experience in our Lewis restaurant. We are very proud of our 2 AA Rosttesand work diligently every day at maintaining that standard. Last, but by no means least, thank you for talking so highly of our assistant manager Ciaran Sloan. An absolute one of a kind and a real asset to the management team. We forward to welcoming you back next year. From all at the Old Inn, 'Thank you.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Husband and I spent our 4th wedding anniversary at the Old Inn and we were spoilt from arrival to departure. We stayed in the Castleward Suite and dined in the Lewis and I have to say it exceeded all our expectations. Clean, friendly, and nothing a problem. Our sincerest thanks to Ciaran the assistant manager whose faultless attention to detail was fantastic. Well done to you all for an absolute pleasurable stay. We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murpees79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Heather W, Thank you for taking the time to post a 'beautiful' review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that I have posted your response and that of 'murpees' to the wrong pages. Thank you for your kind words on your visit. We were delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and that you found the Cottage to be very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times and never been disappointed! Every room is different! Just a beautiful place to be! Lovely seating area outside to sit with a drink - open fire in the evening also!! Food is also amazing and they do a great deal for two with wine! Def recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Joanne M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed several stays with us so much. As you correctly point out, all of our rooms are individually styled and decorated and many now have four poster beds. Our outside areas also encourage a lot of positive feed back even in the autumn and winter months when we have a real fire blazing in our Pavilion every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say other than I love this hotel. My family and I had dinner for my 40th birthday celebrations on Friday 13th June and all I can say is it was absolutely perfect. The hotel is gorgeous, the food is delicious and off a very high quality and the staff are so welcoming, attentive and friendly. I thank you all for making my birthday just a perfect day/night. My husband and I then stayed over in a deluxe room. The only complaint is the heat in the bedroom even though there was no heating on, but really what can the hotel do to rectify the problem. .....I certainly would hate to see air conditioning installation ruin the old and tranquil experience of a stay in this hotel. I love this hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for helping me make excellent memories. Your hotel played a big part in making me a very happy 40 year old.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SMICK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear SMICK74, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your 40th birthday with us so much. Thank you for your kind words in particular on our lovely team, we have been working hard in the background and we are pleased that you liked the results. Thank you also for your kind words on our accommodation; there a certainly quirks to be managed when managing an hotel, thats 400 years old! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 41st! Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a deluxe room. Room was beautiful and very clean.
Dinner in the Lewis restaurant was amazing and we had fantastic service throughout out our stay.
Have stayed before and each time have had the same experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. Sitting in the garden on a sunny day with a glass of wine is pure bliss!

Room Tip: Each room is different so I would advise choosing a different room each time you stay! I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juls541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear juls541, Thank you for taking the time for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recentstay with us. Thank you, in particular, for your kind words on the appointment of your bedroom. All of our bedrooms are individually styled and named instead of numbered. Rather unique we think. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you bring the weather with you (again). Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a one night stopover here visiting friends in Bangor. The Hotel is very old and full of character. On entry a warm wood fire was burning in reception and it had a good feel right away. The bar and restaurant areas are very warm and inviting and are individually different the hotel being long and narrow. Our bedroom was in the old part with uneven floors and very quaint. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the hot food was delivered to the table. A nice place to stay

Room Tip: book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Zanique, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our fire at reception is indeed one of the key focal points of the hotel and ceratinly helps to 'set the scene' for anyone visiting the hotel, especially on a rainy, miserable day such as today (in June!) Thank you also for your kind words about your freshly cooked breakfast; we do consider it to be the most important meal of the day as for many it is the last food memory that they will have of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
4.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing