We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time was had by all!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawfordsburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosevale Farm Cottages
toronto
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A great time was had by all!”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We rented three cottages for two weeks for a family reunion/wedding. We came from Canada, Scotland and New Zealand and we all loved staying at Rosevale Cottages. It was our first time in Northern Ireland and we greatly appreciated all the kindness we received from Anne and David. We were sad to leave! The cottages are charming on the outside, but with all the modern conveniences inside. The only things that were missing were safety bars in the shower that the 3 octogenarians in our group could have used.
It is a short drive into Bangor for shopping. There is free parking at the waterfront near the Eisenhower pier which has beautiful mosaics. We had lunch at the Heatherlea Bakery (near the post office) and it was excellent. If they ask if you want "champ", you should know that it is mashed potatoes with spring onions. We also ate at the Doorstop (or Doorstopper?) cafe which is on the south edge of town. Their sandwiches are amazing. (I think it's a chain, as there is one in Belfast too.) On the west side of Bangor, there is a huge Tesco which is very convenient to Rosevale Cottages. The Marks and Spencer at the Bloomfield Shopping Centre also has a great food selection and a nice cafe. There is another Tesco in that mall, too. There's no lack of food.
For dining out, the nearby garden centre is good for Sunday lunch and The Old Inn at Crawfordsburn had a 10 pound dinner special (main course, dessert and a glass of wine) called the Summer Sizzler. It wasn't very exciting, but the price was right and the inn is supposed to be the oldest in Ireland. You can get a room for 120 pounds.
We took the train into Belfast from Helen's Bay Station. The 4 pound return ticket available afte 9:30 am was a bargain. We took an open air tourbus to see the city and it was excellent. The restaurant at the Merchant hotel on Warren St is beautiful. We didn't eat there, but the place is well worth a look.
The Ulster Folk and Transport Musuem is a must for history enthusiasts and is less than half an hour's drive from the cottages. A bit further away, north of Omagh, is the Ulster American Folk Park which focuses on Ulster emigration to the USA. It is excellent. We left Rosevale Farm at 10 am and were there in time for lunch.
Our favourite meal was at Mattie's Meeting House, 120 Brustin Brae Rd, Cairncastle (4 miles from Larne and 22 from Belfast). It looks like an ordinary pub from the outside, but we were taken to a lovely room upstairs with linen tablecloths and we had an excellent meal with excellent service and a reasonable price.
We also visited Mount Stewart house and gardens, a National Trust property south of Newtownards. The gardens are amazing and we had good food at the cafe.
A FINAL TIP: If you are flying into Dublin (There are no direct flights from Toronto to Belfast this year.) you should be aware that the motorway north to Ulster is a toll road and you will need 1.90 euros and the same again when you return south. British pounds are the currency in Ulster.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My aunt, brother and I stayed for a week in Annie's cottage and it was beyond our expectations. It's from an Irish fairy tale - the zig zag road leading to the farm surrounds you with close cut hedges.

Turn the corner and the farm greets you - a Roisin cow to the left, goats to the right and maybe Buddy the cat. I hope Caitlin, the great Irish wolfhound is still there, but sadly she may not.

The attention to detail - crispy white Irish linens and cottons on the beds, quilts, peat fire, a Belfast sink in the kitchen - I could have lived there forever. In the kitchen are the welcome basics for an Ulster fry. A breakfast that creates an all-day stomach lump!

If you want to explore Northern Ireland, there is no better place to have as a home base as Rosevale Farm Cottages. I would go back any time!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anywhere-not-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Had A Great 3 Weeks In Primrose Cottage. Lived Up To All Expectations.Living In Australia For 40 Years & From Belfast Originally.Location Was Excellent For Visiting Family & Friends. Hosts Ann & David Were Very Friendly & Nothing Was Too Much Trouble.Say Hello To Fergal & Friends. Thanks Once Again For Your Hospitality. Until Next Time.James & Jennifer Clements.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holiday2Melton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Later this year we will travel from Australia for the fourth time to stay at Rosevale Farm Cottages.

We particularly liked the quiet secluded location where we would watch pheasants strut across the fields, see jackdaws gather round the chimney pots and hear the cows graze in the early morning. We spent many hours wandering along the North Down Coastal Path which is rich in birdlife and only a short drive from Rosevale. The cottages are also an ideal location for trips to Belfast (about a 20 minute drive) and further afield.

The accommodation has everything for a comfortable stay in a self-catering "old-world" cottage, centrally heated but with the romance of its own peat fire. And, importantly, our hosts, David and Ann, have all the qualities of good friends, always at hand, but never intrusive.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelbourneDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

My parents have stayed here a number of times and finally my husband and I were able to stay at the Rosevale Farm Cottages too. It was absolutely beautiful. Our cottage was called "Primrose Cottage" and it was exactly like something in "The Quiet Man" movie. Painted white
with a half-door, turf fire, lovely kitchen and separate dining area.
King sized bed in a loft. The bed was piled high with pillows, blankets and cuddly duvets with a view over the farm fields. Our hosts were the kindest people you could ever hope to meet on your travels. Every day spent at Rosevale Farm was a treat in itself. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Can't fault anything at all.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2006

NORTHERN IRELAND - This latest trip to "Rosevale Farm Cottages" was approximately my '9th' stay. I consider the cottages my second home, planning my return trip before I depart for home, Orlando, Florida. I have, in the past, stayed at other cottages in Ireland, but absolutely none can compare to "Rosevale". The non-working farm is a perfect location for a restful vacation. Immediately upon entering the cottage, you are home, as the entire cottage is well appointed with everything that you need for your stay. Even your refrigerator is well stocked, along with other necessary foods. The Irwin's, owners, are extremely accommodating. Nothing is too much for them to make your stay one of the best experiences you would ever have. Another plus is that the Irwin's reside on site. The location is quite good too because within a few minutes you can be in Bangor on Bangor Bay and the Irish Sea, or the village of Crawfordsburn where the 'Old Inn', built in 1614, is located. I can hardly wait to return this December for a month's stay enjoying the Holiday Season and the warmth of the Irwin Family. No other accommodation is like "Rosevale Farm Cottages".

  • Liked — Beside superb accommodations, the warmth of the owners
  • Disliked — "nothing" - is perfect!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book well in advance because property is in my opinion the best in N. Ireland and booked to capacity the majority of time
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
0.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
974 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosevale Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosevale Farm Cottages

Property: Rosevale Farm Cottages
Address: 76 Cootehall Road, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1UW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Crawfordsburn
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home comforts in traditional Irish cottages. Rosevale Farm Cottages provide ideal self-catering accommodation in a country setting close to the coast of North Down. Annie’s and Davy’s, now fully refurbished, have their origins in the eighteenth century when Rosevale Farm was the home of workers from the Sharman Crawford Estate of which it was then a part. Primrose and Hugh’s cottages are newly-built but in the vernacular style and are set apart from the other cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosevale Farm Cottages Crawfordsburn, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing