We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Funday!”

Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Comber
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Eclectic little Bistro in Comber Square. Now recognised in The Georgina Campbell Guide Ireland. Winner of the 2014 Best Eatery and best licences premises at the Ards business awards. We source great tasting local produce, mostly from within Co. Down. We are open 7 days a week from 9am with a gorgeous Bistro menu running nightly from 5pm Wed to Sun. Join us for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee and cake.
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A great wee place to catch up with old friends and enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and some proper food. Unpretentious but interesting menu at a sensible price. Surf and turf consided of a generous sirloin with half a lobster and plenty of boiled new spuds and greens all cooked to perfection (locally sourced) and served quickly and all at the same time to our table of 6. I like to try new things so gambled on an orange and white chocolate bavarious dessert, which was a delicious and refreshing sharp frothy thing and a proper coffee to round off the evening.
The service was very attentive and genuinely friendly (not rehearsed) and we were made to feel extremely welcome from when walking through the door.
I will be definitely be returning to Sugarcane upon my next visit to Northern Ireland and look forward to it.
Oh..and...you can actually park your car(s)outside!!!

SD.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

A wonderful experience all round. The bistro itself is nestled in Comber's charming main square and the vibe on entering is warm, welcoming and relaxed, largely down to the convivial and attentive staff. Menus were presented but soon ignored when the owner remarked on the fresh lobster caught and delivered to his kitchen from the Copeland Islands. The result was a peerless 'surf'n'turf' with meaty, buttery lobster accompanied by a melt-in-the-mouth, medium-rare sirloin. Fresh local veg and a deep, peppery sauce completed a fine meal. I've eaten all over the world - Iceland, New York, South Africa, Rajasthan, Sydney - and Sugar Cane's food is right up there with the very best. I only wish I could have partaken in the choice selection of wines, but it was medication and not budget that prevented me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZaneRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Fantastic Sunday evening at Sugarcane. Fantastic Surf and Turf. Thanks to Peter and all the staff. DMcK

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren271269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Have been a regular here for years. No matter if it's just a coffee or a meal with friends always the same friendly service and wonderful food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank m30scs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had early bird menu very disappointing, small portion, chicken and champ, but when arrived it was mash. Tasted fine but very small portion. No selection of dessert, chef's choice, one only lemon curd in a cup with froth on top, did not taste nice at all. Even though there were other desserts they were not available to early bird menu. The cost was £12.50, includes a glass of wine, main and dessert. Very poor early bird menu, not worth the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete18107, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Sugarcane. I am sorry that you deem our early bird to be of poor value. You mentioned that the dessert was a lemon curd with some foam on top but it was actually an orange and white chocolate bavarois. Although it may not have been to your taste it is actually one of our customer favourites. If you had mentioned to our staff at the time I am sure we would have been accommodating and let you have something else as we hate to see a customer leave unhappy with their meal. The reason there is no choice with the dessert is because it's called Chefs dessert and we actually give that to you for free.

We believe our menu to be exceptional value considering a customer gets a main course, a glass of wine and the free chefs dessert (which changes frequently) for just £13.50. When you compare this price to some other restaurants it makes us positively cheap. For just another £3 you can add a starter so effectively 2 people can dine out with 3 courses and a glass of wine for just £16.50 each.

We continually monitor our menu and I have passed on your thoughts to the team. We are hoping to change our menu shortly and would encourage you to return. Perhaps you could contact us by email on info@sugarcanecafebistro.com and I will be happy to discuss your complaint in person.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarcane Cafe Bistro also viewed

Comber, County Down
 

Been to Sugarcane Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing