We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“less than average food, pleasant staffl” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarcane Cafe Bistro

Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Comber
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eclectic little Bistro in Comber Square. Now recognised in The Georgina Campbell Guide Ireland. Winner of the 2014 Best Eatery and best licences premises at the Ards business awards. We source great tasting local produce, mostly from within Co. Down. We are open 7 days a week from 9am with a gorgeous Bistro menu running nightly from 5pm Wed to Sun. Join us for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee and cake.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“less than average food, pleasant staffl”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

we called in for a quick bite last night, greeted by very pleasant and attentive staff, waited for over 40 mins for chicken main dish, while we weren't complaining about the wait when the meal arrived the chicken dish was dry and unappetising, the other main course - a beef special dish was overcooked - burnt around the edges and dry in the middle. We should have complained on the night but because of a recent bereavement we left after the main course. We live and eat regularly in and around Comber but will not be revisiting the Sugarcane anytime soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    77
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newtownards
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Family meal, first visit by some off the family.All I can say is, it was excellent.Staff were friendly, service was excellent, and good menu.Will visit again, and must also say I thought it was well priced for a family off 6 adults....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewtownardsColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice, popular Café”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We planned to go for lunch and drove to Comber to try the Sugarcane after reading the reviews.

The lunch menu looked quite good and I was in the mood for the open prawn sandwich.

It was a decent portion but nothing exciting, or in the presentation, prawns on wheaten bread with a basic dry salad on the side consisting of leaves, baby tomatoes, red onion and a boiled egg.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting but I guess something a little more exciting than I would make at home. I will go back to the Sugarcane again but next time would like try something else on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NIreland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmturner, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Bistro.

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit overall although I am disappointed that whilst you enjoyed our Prawn open you did't feel it met your expectations. I do hope that the salad was correctly dressed with our own home made vinaigrette and not dry and that the sliced cucumber was also on the plate. We make all our own speciality breads too including the house wheaten.

I hope that when you return again you sample some of our more adventurous dishes that allow us to present much more flavour and panache than the humble prawn open.

We do run a cracking Bistro menu nightly from Wednesday to Sunday, with locally sourced foods such as Tynedale Goat which with me make a lovely burger with homemade beetroot relish and Irish Goats cheese or our salt aged Sirloins from Hannans meats of Moira.

Again, thanks for taking the time to offer us some feedback and hopefully we will see you again sooner rather than later.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Right on my doorstep sugarcane is a brilliant little bistro. Had dinner there last week while my Canadian family visited and reminded myself that I should go more often! Started off with a most welcome cocktail and then my favourite chicken Caesar salad which I have used as a benchmark anytime I order elsewhere! Staff are always welcoming and attentive. It's a must visit if you're ever in comber!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanKHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the crew at Sugarcane for an excellent & friendly service today , enjoyed the craic :-))

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank italian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarcane Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
Comber, County Down
 

Been to Sugarcane Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing