We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party of 6 on Friday 16/8/13”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Comber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Party of 6 on Friday 16/8/13”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Took 5 guests to dinner on Friday night.service very slow, food nice but expensive. Felt particularly ripped off by being charged £9.00 for bread rolls with the pâté starters. Bill came to £339.00 which included a service charge of £39.00
5 starters
6 main
3 desserts
5 coffees
3 bottles of wine
3 beers
1GT
Will not be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comberspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    36
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Five of us dined here each taking something different from the extensive menu. Excellent menu and superb food and varied wine list. This was our first time here and we were told it had been revamped the decor not to everyones taste, the tables are far enough away not to hear another conversation. The only thing retained was the beautiful floor and the old radiators. Yes I would go back for the food and the friendly attentive staff. But if you want an old school house decor you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des & Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner used to dine here regularly and took me here when we met but after a few years the place was decidedly tired and dusty. I heard it had been updated so booked this as a surprise and he was not disappointed. We had the breads as an appetiser and my partner's only complaint was the amount of butter given - he loves slathering it on. Starters were gorgeous and he declared that his ribeye main was fantastic. I had the duck and I was a little disappointed with the portion size and I have had tastier elsewhere. I decided not to explore the dessert menu which did have several enticing sounding items but I did steal a little of his chocolate brownie which was lovely.
The wine menu was excellent and the service was good.
All in all a successful evening and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Once you have ate here you will be back again and again .The food is amazing ,the surroundings are beautiful and the beds are really comfortable .The staff make you feel special and comfortable .It is fine dining with a real warmth off a family run business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0anneg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we had heard that the schoolhouse had had a revamp and that chef will brown was in charge after a sojourn in London with marco pierre white. The last time we were there was millennium and my goodness as soon as you walk throughout the door you can't help saw wow. Such a difference. The restaurant now a very stylish understated chic dining room and bar area. The staff are all extremely friendly, well informed and efficient. The wine list is delicious, something for everyone. The food omg I had the ribeye, it melted in my mouth . The desert which we shared! Bread and butter pudding, extremely light fluffy and delicious. This is a fabulous restaurant and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were really looking forward to our visit to the Old School House last Saturday evening, having read great reviews about the food and the recent refurbishment. It started off well with a warm welcome from the hostess who claimed she would be looking after us for the evening....After our champagne aperitifs that was the last we saw of her. We shared the home made bread as an appetiser and for starters we had the summer vegetable and beetroot salad and the foie gras on brioche. Delicious food and well presented. Our main courses were equally high quality, but the service was pretty much non existent. We poured our own wine for the evening and our empty aperitif glasses were still on our table at the end of our meal. We weren't offered a dessert menu and it didn't arrive even after we asked to see one. We ended up paying our bill at the bar... Disappointing really, it could be much better than that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pixie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I visited the the Old Schoolhouse Inn after an absence of more than twenty years. The restaurant is being much talked about at present as a must visit venue after it's recent refurbishment. The head chef/owner Will Brown is London trained by Pierre Marco White with Johnny Glass formerly the head chef in Cayenne there too. The food is excellent in every area, the menu is not too complicated with the right amount of choices and the courses are presented excellently as you might well expect. The wine list offers plenty of good choices without outrageous prices. The service is good and the restaurant has lost none of it's original schoolhouse charm.

A must visit in my opinion, the food these guys produce is not to be missed, as good as any of the top London restaurants at a fraction of the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comber
5.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
9.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
5.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
10.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Property: The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Address: 100 Ballydrain Road | Castle Espie, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Comber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Schoolhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little piece of Heaven situated by the shores of Strangford Lough in an area of outstanding beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Schoolhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Schoolhouse Inn Comber, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing