We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Comber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived just before a huge storm. We made our way inside and had some trouble finding where to check in. When we finally found some help, we were shown to our rooms. They were warm and well-appointed. Surprisingly, all of the rooms were named for American presidents, each of whom had Ulster roots, we were told later. The rooms are about to get a makeover, according to a sign in the rooms, so I am guessing that the decor will be changed in 2014. The beds were okay, but not particularly comfortable. I hope that these will be changed as well. Other than that, the rooms were spotless, the bathroom spacious, and the staff friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was luxurious, enjoying local, seasonal flavors as part of the price fixed menu for the holidays. The covered walkway came in very handy between dinner and bedtime. In the morning, we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, with eggs made to order and a number of other treats available. I would recommend this location for a hospitable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noonles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for The Old Schoolhouse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We decided to try a first ever Christmas Day dinner away from home and I don't believe we could possibly have chosen a better location than the Old Schoolhouse. Party of six plus baby superbly catered for. Food outstanding for all five course (sauce reduction on the main course incredible) and an excellent and at all times attentive staff. Many thanks to all concerned. Already seriously considering a return for Christmas 2014!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have eaten at The Old Schoolhouse Inn several times since it had been renovated in June. The service is excellent and the food superb. My family, friends and fiancé all agree - we have booked to have our wedding reception there next June.

The décor and ambiance of the restaurant is lovely - smart yet relaxed. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and extremely professional. The menu is diverse and I have eaten some of the best food I have ever tasted in this restaurant. The house red and white wine are both delicious and reasonably priced. A meal in this restaurant is more of an experience rather than just to 'fill a hole'.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I will be back many times between now and my wedding!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amy03xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently dined at the Old Schoolhouse Inn restaurant, with my husband and friends. It was the first time any of us had eaten there since its refurbishment under new management. The restaurant is now super-modern, with minimal decor, in contrast to its previous collection of schoolroom memorabilia. Just a school bell in the entrance to remind guests of the origins of the building.
The bar is furnished with comfortable custom-built armchairs, and a pleasant place for pre-dinner drinks.
The menu was full of locally-produced food, a good selection, and it was beautifully artistically presented, and exquisitely full of flavour. The service was exemplary, attentive staff well versed in the contents of the menu, yet not over-intrusive.
The only criticism we had was that once the restaurant filled up, it became very noisy, probably due to the minimalist decor - although one wall is covered with padded velvet, the rest of the walls are bare, and one wall has large windows, all of which reflect the sound. The staff were appreciative of our mention of this - they will probably take action on remedying the situation quite soon, we felt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieO34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I bought the dinner B&B deal and were not disappointed. The food was really great. A novel menu which delighted and excited the taste buds. Great flavours subtly assembled to produce wonderful plates of food.

The dining room makeover perfectly matches what this talented young chef sets out to do. The food is complimented by the high standard of friendliness and service.

Next stage is hopefully coming soon and that is to refurbish the 8 rooms to complete the overall package.

Congratulations and we'll done to all including the 'retired' Avril and Terry who should be very proud of Will.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BarabusBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

An amazing experience from start to finish. Immaculate food, excellent service. A rising star at an exceptionally affordable price. Accommodation is more than adequate with an outstanding breakfast! Looking forward to returning.

1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was my first visit since Will Brown took the helm at The Old Schoolhouse Inn.
Lots of rave reviews from friends inspired me to give it a go.
Perfect temperature and beautiful, subtle décor created an instantly good mood. The delicious Irish cider served further contributed to a great first impression.
There was an offering to suit all budgets which was a well judged move.
Every course was fabulous and well presented and my friends and myself were suitably impressed.
I generally prefer more rustic and realistic food but simply couldn't find fault as the flavour matched up with the presentation.
I would definitely return ASAP where I had any reasonable excuse for a celebration.
Very well done.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheknowsyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comber
7.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
251 reviews
10.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
9.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,012 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Address: 100 Ballydrain Road | Castle Espie, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Comber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Schoolhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little piece of Heaven situated by the shores of Strangford Lough in an area of outstanding beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Schoolhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Schoolhouse Inn Comber, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing