We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit disappointed for the first time in about 17 years!”
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Comber
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have been in Comber since 1995 serving only the best Indian food in County Down. The restaurant is licenced, however, you can bring your own drink and there are no corkage charges. Every Sunday evening is dedicated to Buffet where you can experience the choice of 3 starters and 4 main dishes, varying in heat. You can eat as much as you like from the buffet. Kids menu available.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wee bit disappointed for the first time in about 17 years!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Visited The Raj a restaurant that we have visited countless times and sadly for the first time ever I was a bit disappointed with some of the food. I make Indian food from first principles and the Shahi chicken was not good, particularly the sauce which was extremely sweet and of a very odd consistency. The Raj could do with improving its internal decor , a repaint would be worth it! I am really sad about this review but feel I have to be honest or else I make a nonsense out of my other reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Tyrone
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always spot on....buffet great value!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We usually visit here on a Wednesday evening simply because their Indian buffet is so tasty and also such good value! 2 courses, as much as you can eat, all rounded off with tea/coffee and a wee After Eight....you couldn't beat it! The food is always freshly prepared and I couldn't fault it....always a good choice of main course dishes including a veggie option for the non-meat eater. Even our young children love it, and will opt for The Raj for birthdays and other special occasions ahead for the more usual burger/pizza restaurants! Staff are always pleasant and friendly, especially the owner, who is always on hand and is very attentive and knowledgeable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank thornbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine at affordable prices.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

How lucky we are to have an Indian Restaurant in our home town that for years has consistently been serving great food every time.
Although the decor remains unchanged it is always lovely to pop in and have a really enjoyable meal with no fuss that doesn't cost a fortune.
Keep up the good work and see you again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great little indian”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

good food good staff always on hand to serve your needs the place could do with an update but don"t let that put you off parking on the street is ok very nice people

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“new adventure”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

live nearby never been before- unusual starter with kebab in a omelette lovely sweet and sour chicken- friendly staff - good value

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj also viewed

Comber, County Down
Comber, County Down
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing