We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiful and interesting cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Schoolhouse Inn

The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Comber
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skiful and interesting cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked a sunday lunch treat - arrived about 4 ish and restaurant still busy with a variety of customers and all ages. All courses were delicious (smoked aubergine a standout idea) - some of the presentation slightly 80's looking but minor preference. Staff lovely and engaging - would recommend highly - all in all a great experience and I congratulate the kitchen staff / chef on menu creation and interpretation. Well worth a detour if you're in this part of Ireland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    33
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok; but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Food was excellent, but portions were misiscule so was still hungry after the meal. Service was ok, but not exactly with a smile. Wasn't too pricey, but would have happily paid more for a bigger meal. Would have been the perfect size if i was a hobbit; sdly i'm not

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Drawer experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for an excellent standard of food service then don't by-pass this hidden gem. Local produce beautifully cooked and presented. Excellent service as well and a great buzz for such a sleepy hollow of Ballydrain. If you are travelling from Belfast, make use of the B&B facility to really top off a great overall experience. Congratulations to all at the Old Schoolhouse, keep up the very high standard we experienced on Saturday 3rd May.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raymondo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flipping ace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I never review flipping anything so this is a testament in itself. Superb food, superb service. Beef, locally brewed cider and soup were unreal. A real gem in the middle of nowhere. Christ I cant wait to go back..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhippoflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Really really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

As part of our crusade to find restaurants with rooms we have a new leader. Will and his team have just jumped into the lead.

We stayed in the attached rooms which have had a recent makeover with some new furniture and a bit of an update. The dinner B&B deal also makes more of an event of the evening out.

We were well looked after from start to finish. The team working in the restaurant knowledgeable and with enough 'patter' to engage in friendly conversation throughout without ever becoming intrusive.

Choice of wines was great and plenty of choice at reasonable prices. Served at perfect temperature for me too.

We ate reasonably early and had a choice of three menus, a taster menu, an early evening menu and the full a la carte. Any of these would have been good, to have the choice was great.
We ended up choosing a mixture from early and full a la carte.

Presentation of the food and attention to detail was fantastic.

Mixtures of flavours and textures was impressive on all the food we had. We each had starters mains and dessert and we swapped plates so we could get a good taste of everything.

Some of the dishes have playful old-fashioned sounding names, but be assured that it will be a modern twist on 'Corned Beef' or 'Seafood Pie'.

Our particular highlights were the deep-fried cauliflower florets and the shaved cauliflower and radishes as well as all the little pickles on the side.

The lamb and Steak were our main choices both were fantastic.

For dessert we enjoyed the Lemon selection and the cheese. Both again were brilliant.

If there was any room for any tiny complaint, one piece of the lamb was a little tough and perhaps a tiny increase in quantity would be welcome.

We also enjoyed breakfast after a good night's sleep. Breakfast was quick and efficient and tasty and all piping hot.

Fantastic fruit salad and great homemade bread to accompany the full 'Ulster Fry'. Nice hot coffee and interesting selection of cereals.

We will have to go back to try some of the other food we didn't get to try this time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Schoolhouse Inn also viewed

 
Comber, County Down
Killinchy, County Down
 

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing