We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

The Peppercorn Bistro
Ranked #10 of 19 Restaurants in Comber
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

W often stop for breakfast on a Saturday. The food is lovely, and there is plenty of room for buggies etc without making you feel trapped. The staff are friendly and the food is not greasy.
I have heard that they also serve afternoon tea, but haven't sampled it yet!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPKP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Wee Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Purchased two deals for this place, a Breakfast one and a Sunday lunch one. We had the Breakfast deal a few weeks ago and were most impressed! Great portion sizes and all was washed down with super Roberts coffee, just the job! We enjoyed it immensely. The .Sunday Lunch deal we had last Sunday, I opted for a starter of deep fried Brie wedges followed by roasted North Antrim Stuffed Turkey with roast and mashed potatoes,veggies and gravy really tasty!, There was no veggie option for a main course so my friend had a great cheese omelette with chips with a starter of homemade vegetable soup with wheaten bread he was delighted with it.This a no nonsense no frills establishment. well cooked and presented food and I can highly recommend it! The afternoon teas looked super and I'm sure we will go back to try one!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recently enjoyed afternoon tea in this lovely wee café. Found the staff very friendly and welcoming. The table was set beautifully with vintage china and the food was served on a 3 tier cake stand which was packed full! Top ups on tea and coffee were available. The variety of food was fantastic from finger sandwiches, mini scones with jam and cream, mini cakes and tray bakes. Unfortunately me and my friend could not finish all the food but was able to take the rest home for the kids in cute wee boxes. Can't wait to find an excuse to book again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilolil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Vintage Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is just off the town centre in comber and you could walk past it, but do go in and you will be delighted to find the bone china crockery of days gone by, a great selection of sandwich fillings (these can be tailored to suit) and a wide variety of clotted cream scones and fancies to suit everyone. Very good value for money, excellent variety, pleasant surroundings and a lovely way to spend an afternoon with Mum or a girly chat time. Definately worth a visit if you are in and around the Comber area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipidity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not a patch on other afternoon teas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

While the setting is pleasant and the table was nicely set with the vintage china, we did not think it was a great spread as other reviewers did. The sandwiches were fresh and nicely presented with a variety of fillings. There was far too much mustard on the ham filling and a random ( though possibly vintage,cheese and pineapple choice). The scones were nice but after that the baking looked very much shop bought rather than home baked. Fruit brack was something I'd never been served at afternoon tea before and neither of us tried it / like it. Pink French fancies and cut up Mr Kipling slices or similar were a disappointing offering. One other bun I tried that looked home baked was extremely sweet. We left most of the sweet stuff, and although we had seen others leaving with bags ( a nice idea) we didn't want to bring any home. One of the staff kindly followed us out to offer this but we declined. Obviously others have enjoyed it but we would return to other excellent afternoon teas that we have enjoyed elsewhere.

Helpful?
4 Thank SortedbyGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peppercorn Bistro also viewed

 
Comber, County Down
 
Comber, County Down
Comber, County Down
 

Been to The Peppercorn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing