We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to school”
Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School
Ranked #1 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Four night stay whilst visiting relatives nearby. Mike looked after us very well, even though he was busy with the refurbishment of the kitchen. Very comfortable History Classroom, with sitting area and en suite, facing to the rear, trading the view for peace and tranquility. Excellent full Scottish breakfasts. Art work by local artist Brian Carey an unexpected bonus, especially as it is available for purchase. We liked the Old School so much we stole our room key - sorry Mike, it is in the post!

Room Tip: The Art Room has the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay, thank you for putting up with the upheaval in the kitchen and the late bacon. The other keys have been miserable since the untimely departure of the History key. We look forward to welcoming it back ;OD .
Many thanks , Mike & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for The Old School
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on 27th September while attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. On arrival we were upgraded without asking to the Geography room which has a beautiful 4 poster bed and a massive, spotlessly clean ensuite bathroom. I must say that we had one of the best nights sleep we've had anywhere. Mike and Liz were perfect hosts and we would definately recommend The Old School if staying in the area. We just wish we hadn't overslept and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review, When you stay next I'll give you a wake up call so you don't miss our beautifully locally sourced breakfast :oD
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Liz & Mike gave us a very warm welcome. They could not do enough to make you welcome & to ensure that you were comfortable. In the foyer I noticed an old school desk which was lovely. The breakfast made by Mike was very tastey & lovely could not fault any part of our two night stay. We would definately recommend to all our friends & family, to which we would most definately go back.

Thank you Liz & Mike for such a lovely pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: We were in the History Classroom which was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizMc1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Old School.
Mike and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Myself plus eight of my family and friends stayed at the B and B for two nights before my wedding. Mike and Liz made us all feel really welcome and allowed us to use the Old School House as our home for two days. They were accomodating in every way- from making us lovely surprise loveheart muffins, to ensuring that I was well fed before setting off for the big day! Staying at the old school house has added to my lovely memories of our wedding and I am very grateful. My family also commented repeatedly on what a good choice of accomodation for us to relax in, before the big day. Top marks on all areas and an official thank you card will follow soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review.
It was an Absolute pleasure having you and your family use the Old School as a base for your wedding.
I think we had as much fun as you all did :OD
All the best for the future,
Mike & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Mike and Liz gave us a wonderful welcome. The fire wasn't needed, but the offer was there to put it on.
Mum and I were taking two days out in Ayrshire and stayed in a wonderful twin room, very comfortable, beautifully decorated and the beds better than home form home.
The breakfasts were tasty with the produce sourced locally . . . . . . including the garden . . . . . for the truly free range eggs.
We booked our evening meal with them and it was lovely to come "home" for dinner, glasses provided for the wine we brought and not have to go any further after dinner. The portions were generous and we were catered for beautifully.
I can't thank them both enough for a most comfortable stay, just a mile up the road from the farm where my mum's grandma was born, a serendipitous find!

Room Tip: Share any mobility or access needs with Mike, I know he will do all he can to be of assistance.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabblingBr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

What a lovely review, It was a pleasure having you both stay with us.
We hope that if your ever back this way you will come back to The Old School.
Many thanks,
Mike &Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Warm, friendly and a total blessing! A warm fire was crackling in the shared living room when we arrived. The decor was perfect in every way and tastefully executed. The beds were ones of dream like comfort with in suite facilities were luxe and modern. The owners, Liz and Mike, were like visiting dear old friends after years apart. Warming up to laughing and funny stories before the tea had cooled. For the duration of the stay, we forgot our toils and foul weather and we were carried away by serenity.

Room Tip: Pick any room and experience the comfort and quality of a luxe room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Old School, we did have a laugh ( who heard the bell ??? :OD
The perfect guests, many thanks,
Mike and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at Mike's and Liz's Old School B & B.

We drove up to Cumnock specifically to see a friend and when she heard where we were staying she said that we would love it ... she was right.

Mike and Liz have recaptured the school theme in their quaint B & B - even down to the mini blackboards on easels as breakfast menus.

We stayed in the spacious Art Room - double bed with ensuite shower and a lounge area with settee.

The room was perfect with great views over the surrounding countryside from any of the six windows.

The breakfast was excellent with a very good continental selection topped off by Mike's excellent cooked breakfast.

Mike and Liz are a very friendly couple with a great sense of humour. They are very accommodating and always happy to help out with suggestions or information on the local area. On our second night we arrived back around 9pm with some hot chips and Mike opened the dining room for us and got us plates so we could eat in comfort. Naturally he was up for a chat as he was just getting the room ready for breakfast.

We cannot fault the Old School at all and will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiesLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, It was a pleasure to make your acquaintance. Liz and I thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Mike & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
2.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,137 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
495 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
129 reviews
22.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Address: Dalleagles | New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range: £70 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Dalleagles is a 4*Gold B&B in rural East Ayrshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing