We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolut genial!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old School

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Old School
Ranked #1 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolut genial!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Old School for only one night. Mike is the ideal host, very friendly and caring. The rooms are lovingly restored and everything was spotless. Breakfast was great, good food, good choice and cooked very well by a happy Chef (including the singing entertainment, which we really enjoyed, too) We'll be staying there again, if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDE2LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I'll need to upgrade the insulating in the kitchen/dining room wall !! :0D
Regards,
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
156
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay if you are about east Ayrshire. The building is an old school which has been converted. The rooms are the old classrooms and are spacious. Very comfortable all round with plenty of parking at the front. A good breakfast served in the morning. Only a short drive from the village of new cumnock. Recommend this place without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgwmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We're glad you enjoyed the building and your stay with us.
Regards,
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Old School are very friendly and helpful, Mike and Liz are wonderful hosts.
The rooms are lovely, each one reflects a classroom as it was in the School, you feel that
everything is in keeping with the building.
The service and attention to detail is fantastic, as is the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to see you again.
Regards
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever had the pleasure of staying in, Geoff/Mike (private joke) was really accommodating and could not do enough to please us and make our stay as welcoming and comfortable as possible. The Geese, hens and the family dog were a welcome addition to the artistic well thought out environment.
The room was clean tidy spacious and warm also the facilities lived up to the reputation that preceded them. The breakfast was very nice with a choice of lots for all to enjoy.The art from local artists was well placed and appropriate to the surroundings and the finer points of hidden art in the brickwork left you with a smile on your face. Very, very happy couple we will return if we are lucky enough to be in the area again. In all a well presented well thought out bed and breakfast...Recommend to all my friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Wow ! what a Fantastic review, thank you :OD
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
If you are ever in the area again we would be delighted if you stayed with us again.
Regards
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely place doesn't do this b&b justice. Huge rooms, lovely welcome, a bit of history and superb evening meal! The only slight downside(not B&B's fault) is the very bumpy access road when cycling in to it.

Room Tip: any room here would be smashing, but from rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank outonourbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your evening meal.
You'll be pleased to know the Council have been out and filled the pot holes !!

Regards
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Old School was the first stop on our latest Scotland road trip and we stayed there for 1 night in early June. The B&B is beautifully decorated with lots of interesting touches and artwork. We stayed in the Geography Classroom which is huge and very well appointed, with a comfortable four poster bed and lovely bathroom. We also had a chance to see all the other rooms as we were last to leave in the morning and all are very nice. Our room was very clean and looked out onto the garden at the back of the house. The B&B is in a rural location with great views and is very quiet. Mike cooked dinner for us, which was very nice, as was breakfast the following morning. Both Mike & Liz were very friendly and are very good hosts. Their dog, Whisky, was adorable and very friendly if guests want to meet her. We thought that the Old School was a lovely B&B and very good value for money. We would stay here again & would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your meals.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland.
Whiskey says hi :oD
Regards
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Amazing place!! Always wanted ta take a nap during a lesson :-) Now I got the whole classroom for myself only. Clean and everything prepared to the last detail. One of the best places I ever visited :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you.
Regards
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
2.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
12.0 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
16.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
21.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Dalleagles | New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4QW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Dalleagles is a 4*Gold B&B in rural East Ayrshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing