We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is set in a stunning location but for me that's where the niceties stop the food now where do I begin if any chef has read this menu and thinks it works he should look for another career the combos on this menu are laughable oriental and Cajun chicken strips with chilli jam which continent does this dish come from even cooking a basic British dish like a medium fillet steak they can't get right this place could be so much better only if the food would reflect the business as a whole . The spa is really nice and a real plus point but the food really lets the whole package down please please get some decent food on the menu and some proper combos that work. Also to note the tapas in the spa are all italian I thought tapas where Spanish maybe I am wrong. Come for the spa not the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Socialscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RADGroupHotelManager, Manager at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your most recent visit to The Lochside House Hotel and Spa. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to monitor the level of service we are delivering and helps identify areas which may require our attention.

With regards to the restaurant menu the head chef has used old favourites and customer feedback to create new dishes and put together an inspired menu that fits all tastes and regularly receives great reviews on both the quality and choice available to guests. The menu can be viewed prior to booking on our website at http://www.lochside-hotel.com/ to give guests the chance of seeing what’s on offer before arriving at the hotel.
Alternatively, our chefs are always happy to discuss and accommodate any requirements or requests.

We are always delighted to address any issues our guests may have during their visit and would prefer if these are highlighted immediately to allow us to deliver experiences and memories of Lochside that can be treasured.

Warm Regards
Kevin Hewitson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

My partner and i had a very enjoyable visit to this pictursque restaurant, hotel and spa. The staff are very friendly and the food was spot on. we have since booked a spa day away for ourselves as we loved it that much. well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a visit to Dumfries House. I was fortunate to have had the recommendation of my daughter who used the hotel during her visit to Dumfries House last year. We found the hotel very comfortable and the staff excellent. They were welcoming and friendly and the service was good.

We had a garden suite which was comfortable and large with a good bathroom. There was a little terrace with a table and chairs to sit on. Throughout, the hotel is very clean and well presented. We ate in the hotel both nights and had superb meals which I thought were competitively priced and good value for money.

The hotel is set within a golf course and offers lovely views across the surrounding countryside, so it is very relaxing. There is also a verandah around the hotel where you can sit out on nice days and enjoy the views. I would certainly stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it, particularly if you want to visit Dumfries House or the surrounding area.

My only tiny grumble was the plastic spoons provided in the suite. I really felt that if you were paying for a suite then you should at least have metal spoons! Otherwise, a lovely stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: I chose a garden suite because I thought it was on the ground floor, but in fact you have to descend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaSef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Lochside Hotel and spa on bed breakfast and dinner basis.
We had a fantastic time and could not fault it in any way. Service, facilities, staff, spa, food and surroundings were 1st class. Would defiantly like to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mchriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

How anyone can find anything wrong with this hotel amazes me!
I booked recently as a treat for my partner and I... we loved it so much we are already planning a return!
The Garden view room was spacious and the decor was lovely.
We had a light bite lunch, dinner at night and breakfast the next morning... each meal was fantastic. 5 star food!
Must recommend the Pink Lady cocktail.. very sweet but tasty!
Looks like it would be a lovely setting for a wedding :)
The Spa is a must! We had the Back Ritual, but maybe next time I would just have a massage, just my own personal preference.
Definitely look out for deals on itison and groupon etc.. its worth it!

We would've liked to be able to walk round the Loch maybe? That is all we could even think of as a negative!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fagie1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

lovely evening at hotel, good food and loved the espa products within the spa.

would return again, nice atmosphere within bar area.

excellent sourrounding views of water and hills beyond.

relaxing time away and would recommend for little break away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Booked this hotel for my husbands birthday, we had already been here for my sons wedding so I knew what to expect.we were booked into room 21, garden suites paid a wee bit extra to get the garden suites, noticed when we opened the door the room smelled funny ,stinking drains,it got worse throughout the afternoon ,after spraying hubby's aftershave gave up and asked to get moved,only room left was room 19 for disabled clients ,didn't mind ,but the heat was horrendous,there was a fan in the room,didn't get much sleep with the heat and the whirr of the fan at max. Don't think we will be back, only good point was the meal

Room Tip: Don't get room 21 or 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
526 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
707 reviews
17.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range: £103 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing