We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a lovely location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for her 30th Birthday and loved every minute of our stay. We arrived a little early but our room was ready so we were aloud in. We stayed in the Lowes Suite which is african themed, the views form the room were looking over the Loch and are fantastic along with the animals in the room.

We had a afternoon tea with a glass of Prosecco which had a selection of sandwiches and cakes. These were well worth having and filled us both up until dinner.

We hadn't booked any treatments in the spa so on a whim we tried to book in but they were unfortunately full up on our arrival day but did have spaces the following day so we booked in (This was well worth it as we had a 1/2 hr massage and use of the thermal suit)

We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious, full of flavour and the presentation was fantastic.

All in all we were both really impressed with the hotel and stay and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Splash the extra cash and book a suit if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmcgrath1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    171
    73
    22
    18
See reviews for
248
452
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just want to say what a fabulous experience we had, service was very good, food wow what can we say especially the steaks we ordered were cooked to perfection, presentation great! Well done to the chef !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have had several meals at the Lochside House Hotel. We are never disappointed . We were there for my Sisters 40th birthday . We all had a lovely meal Compliments to the chef. Plenty of choice on the menu . The waiter was very helpful and pleasant . The hotel seemed very busy but nothing was any trouble for the staff. The views over the loch are stunning . Lovely place . First Class . We will certainly be back again

Room Tip: Best to book if having a meal as hotel is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just had a fantastic afternoon at Girls Day Out. Glass of bubbly and a goody bag and excellent fashion show. The main hall was filled with beautiful clothes,hand made jewellery, makeup, fancy goods and lots more. The Spa girls were very busy demonstrating what's on offer in their department. Almost 'naked waiters' on hand all day with trays of mini light bites. I believe the hotel is having another Girls Day Out in December. A fabulous day for only £6.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hielsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Out for dinner with friends & our two year old son , found restaurant very pleasing and staff very polite , we were guided to our table by kris who was well mannered and helpful . We all enjoyed our meals I had the fillet steak which was cooked to perfection , the girls serving were great and were gettin entertained by our wee one who kept making them laugh . Well done will defo be back in future many thanks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rab-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have read a lot of reviews of this hotel and I don't get it
I would give 3.5 stars if I could aren't able
The ground are very nice ,,,, the food is good hotel food
If you are used to food from national restaurants chains like F&B or Harvester you will find the food excellent
I thing a lot of people end up there on some sort of deal (spa package)(DB&B package) or a wedding
I was there for neither and was informed that I could only use the facilities (pool / sauna )at certain hours which were very inconvenient (before 10 am or after 7pm if memory serves well correct)
For a wedding venue I would give it 5/5 as the grounds would give you lovely photos and the food is good

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notimeforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the lochside on an overnight voucher in June as an Anniversary treat. It also was to get an idea what the place was like as our daughter is getting married there next year . We were in one of the Garden suites, and were very impressed . We were also given a tour of all that we could expect on the big day ,the staff could not have been more helpful in showing us the ceremony room,the bridal suite and the reception room which had been laid out in all its splendure as there had been a wedding the day before. The restuarant was also very good and the meals were very tasty ,a good choice of food to suit all tastes. The bonus was that we could also use the spa ,a very enjoyable experience, We are already planning another visit to include the spa's treatments. Would recommend a stay here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
17.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Property: Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing