We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day Of Our Lives....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
mrsmcdee
1 review
“Best Day Of Our Lives....”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Well, well what can I say?? We were married at the Lochside House Hotel on 02/01/2010.

From the minute we walked into the hotel for lunch one afternoon in November last year we knew this was the place we wanted to have the most important day of our lives. The staff were friendly, efficient and extremely professional. We felt immediately comfortable...all this was just a typical lunch...no idea we had came in to enquire about a wedding.

We had lunch, a wee chat and knew there and then it was going to be our wedding venue. After a delicious lunch we asked if we could possibly speak to the wedding co-ordinator. We had a wee chat, were shown around and said our goodbyes. The next day we'd arranged for our parents to come and see it and made our booking!! Deposit paid...SORTED!!

Next were our parents, both sets loved it. Few reservations about distance for family etc to travel, decided to hire a few buses...problems out the way..full steam ahead!!

Throughout the full planning experience all staff were amazing and we were also treated to a wee meal to sample the food (even though we'd been before and knew the food was amazing)

Unofrtunately we had a wee bit of news and had to bring the wedding forward. The hotel were so busy but we managed to move it to 2nd January...we just couldn't have imagined going anywhere else for our wedding day. Anyway 2nd Jan it was .. extended New Year Party!! (also the other people who moved dates and helped us loads deserve a wee mention here the band, DeVille...Amazing...and also our piper booked through Bryce McCulloch and Cathy Dunlop, registrar. Big shout out to Loudoun Media for pics&dvd...moved heaven and earth to help us out and made our day extra special...book them you will NOT be disappointed)

The service was amazing...we'd like to give a special mention to Kevin, Neil, Fiona, Debbie and especially Lynsey, wedding co-ordinator extraordinaire, who put up with my million emails!!! Unfortunately Lynsey was on holiday on the day, however we were assured this wouldn't have an impact on our day. We met Simon, who again was fantastic!!

Oooohhh then came the big day itself. I'd like to thank all the staff who were there at the hotel. everything was just perfect!! Simon was a star, Debbie on reception again kept me going and Karen....what can I say!! Even at one point Karen was underneath my dress helping with my underskirt...a pic the photographers captured quite nicely lol. Debbie and Karen certainly went above and beyond when they got the sponges and water out to clean up my bridesmaid and I's dresses (we'd been out in the snow to take full advantage!!)

Overall it was AMAZING. The best day of my life was made even more perfect by the Lochside House Hotel and their great staff.

If you know anyone with a wedding coming up then tell them to book it!!

I wish I could do it all over again and so does my husband!!

Will be back again for many meals, lunches in the future!!

Thanks again everyone xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    171
    74
    25
    19
See reviews for
256
460
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2010

What a perfect wedding day my daughter and new son in law had at his hotel. I cannot thank the hotel and staff enough.
It has been a few weeks now since the wedding, but i can honestly say there has been nothing but praise for this hotel from all the guests.
I think it is only right that the hotel gets the recognition it rightly deserves....I would have no reservations about recomending this hotel to anyone,.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie trip
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Ive just returned from a wedding at this hotel, 4 star hotel with a 5 star service, fantastic food, and rooms were fab. Beds comfortable. Staff are first class and very helpfull they go out there way to give you best service, highly recommended for a wedding you wont be disapointed at this lochside hotel. Everything about it was just fab. cheers to all the staff for making jac and steven wedding day go smoothly.

Maggie&James Karen &Jay

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

After posting a couple of negative reviews, I thought it was time to dish out some praise.

this is a really lovely hotel, great rooms, great views and great food. it also very reasonably priced. I would recommend this to anyone,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNearWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the Lochside House Hotel for a family wedding and would thoroughly recommend it. The wedding was very well organised by the hotel and the setting was beautiful. The meal was excellent and all of the food was piping hot, the only quibble being that they didn't seem to have enough waiting staff. This meant that some tables were still being served food when other tables had finished that course. It was a midweek wedding and the situation may be better at weekends.
Our room was very comfortable and although we didn't need to use it the menu for both room service and the restaurant looked very good. Breakfast was tasty and there were various choices.
The grounds are well looked after and there are lovely views.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspiration08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We picked this hotel having found it on Trip Advisor and upon checking out the website found that they offer a three night dinner bed and breakfast package for £130 per person. When we phoned to book Fiona at reception was really helpful and was even honest enough to tell us they were having a wedding that weekend so it might be a bit noisy. She later phoned back to offer us a free upgrade to one of their cottage suites to ensure we had a quiet room for our 10 month old baby. We were aiming to have dinner whilst leaving the baby asleep in our room so were concerned about whether our baby monitor would work over the distance required. Fiona offered to keep both a hotel room and a cottage suite available for us so we could have a look at both and make a decision on the day.

The hotel room looked nice but we decided to take the upgrade and went for a cottage suite. This had a separate living room and bathroom (not an en suite) with a bath and shower which was ideal for us meaning we could relax in the evenings in the living room whilst the baby slept in the bedroom. Both the living room and bedroom had flat screen televisions with loads of channels. The only thing I'd say is that the description of it as a cottage is not really acurate. The three cottages are essentially 'flats' lined up inside one building with a corridor running along the front. Still great though and despite there being a prom and a wedding during our stay we heard absolutely nothing!

The location is really nice with the two big waterbodies in front of the hotel, there's plenty of parking and despite being on the main road from New Cumnock it is set far enough back that we heard no road noise at all. There is also a railway line running alongside which slightly worried me but this was very quiet too with only slow freight trains and the odd two carriage local train using it. If you like golf you'd be in your element with the ensuite golf course! The views from the dining rooms and function room were beautiful with the lochs in front of you with fields and hills in the distance.

The food was good, even with the restricted menu for the inclusive package we were on. Three courses with a choice of roughly six to eight dishes for each course. The normal menu seemed very extensive and the quality of the food was good for a hotel, proper restaurant standard. Drinks weren't as expensive as expected, being comparable with pub prices.

The staff were all friendly and very attentive and if we were in the area again we'd definitely come back..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exdreddedcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We travelled up from West Yorkshire to this hotel for a family wedding during the weekend of the 21st March 2009. From first arriving on Friday afternoon to leaving on Sunday morning our stay was absolutely fantastic.

It would be difficult to find fault with anything at all at this hotel. Every member of staff we encountered were so polite, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the Friday evening and this was really good.

The wedding reception was fantastic. The staff were brilliant and professional. The food was outstanding and I think I can say the best we have had at a wedding reception.

We met the chambermaids on the corridor and they were just as friendly as any of the staff which is unlike some hotels that we have visited.

Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable, but was a little bit on the small side. My father's room was overlooking the loch and was roomy and really lovely.

The breakfasts were exceptional and the staff serving there were the friendliest waitresses we have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble for the whole weekend.

All in all it was a perfect visit, perfect location and the service etc was just er !!perfect!!. We will definitely look at staying here again for a holiday sometime.

Well done all the staff of the Lochside House Hotel - you made a special occasion -perfect!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Property: Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing