We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loch Lomand Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old School House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #2 of 3 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loch Lomand Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Can only echo previous comments: a warm welcome from Hilary and more importantly from Hamish the cat. Quiet countryside retreat and Hilary was helpful with information on local places to eat. Went to "Clachan Inn" at Drymen, and the pub and setting was rather like the Sam Peckinpah film "Straw Dogs." Had Hilary not recommended may have been reluctant to step inside - however the food was excellent quality at reasonable prices and the locals were friendly.
Although I travel a lot in the UK do not usually sleep well when away, but went out like a light.
Excellent breakfast and Hilary seems to have a genuine interest in her guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
34
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Old School House for two nights at new year. It was just what we wanted, a friendly and relaxing place to stay as we explored the amazing countryside and lochs. Hilary, the owner, was a perfect host, so welcoming and went out of her way to help us including giving us lifts to nearby towns and to the train station when it was time to leave. She also has useful maps, books and travel tips and knowledge of the surrounding area. She cooks a mean breakfast too! We were in the loft room which was small but very comfortable, with a great shower and good views of the distant mountains. We didn't have a car but the bus route passes right by the guesthouse, just stick your arm out! Only 10 minutes to the lovely village Drymen, and bit further to Balmahar on the edge of Loch Lomond where we started a long new year's day walk across the hills.

We'd love to return to the area in summertime for more exploring, and would stay at the Old School House again as it was so lovely this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hilary's B&B in early Sept. We experienced the same warm welcome that others have mentioned. We were in the "Loft" upstairs and although it was a bit tricky to bring the luggage up, we were very comfortable. Hilary has lots of good information to share with regard to the local area and has maps and brochures on hand for perusal. There is a delightful loch walk only 5 mins from the B&B and the little town of Gartocharn is charming. A delicious breakfast spread at the communal dining room table adds a nice touch and of course you can indulge in the cooked breakfast if you so choose. For us, it was a brief but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My partner and I have just enjoyed a night in this lovely B&B and would recommend it if you are planning a trip to the area. The owner, Hilary, was most welcoming and her accommodation was immaculate and extremely comfortable. She guided us to a local family run inn for a superb meal, and she went out of her way to take my partner back there the following day to pick up his car. I had the full Scottish breakfast and it was the best I have ever tasted! A truly great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms are average, but stylish. The bathrooms are excellent. The Old School House is located directly at the road.
However, the landlady Hilary is extremely welcoming. The breakfast is great. We were there with three kids and a dog and had a very nice and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHerriot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

On a bike tour around scotland from the Midlands, this was our first stop! The Sat Nav took us the long way I am sure!. Hilary met us on the doorstep, making us feel very welcome. Helped us to plan our next route too. Great Breakfast, Lovely warm, toasty room too. She even took us into the nearby village, taxis are few and far between. Managed to get one back though. Fantastic view from the back garden!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annafalshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

we arrived on the saturday with the intention to go for a walk round the loch then climb ben lomond on the sunday. Hilary was very welcoming, showed us the route up benn lomond on her map and also let us borrow it. She keeps a lovely, immaculate guesthouse. Room upstairs was lovley with beautiful views of the garden and hills. Bus stops right outside to pick u up to take u in to into town for food, drinks etc. would highly recommend

Room Tip: room upstairs is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haylster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
0.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Property: The Old School House
Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century converted school within Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park with beautiful views down to the Loch. Small owner/occupied bed and breakfast with personal service at all times. Great for a short-term stop off as part of a Scottish Tour or for longer term breaks. A great base for access to countryside walks, Lochs and Glens or visits into Glasgow and Stirling. 4 star accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old School House Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing