We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #2 of 2 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept this year. Hillary was a most welcoming host and the house was warm, very clean and Comfortable. Hillary has high standards of cleanliness. She was most obliging in giving us a transport lift to the local village for dinner, and provided details of the bus times for our return later. The village of Drymen nearby had several good restaurants/pubs in which to dine..
Our twin room, with ensuite bathroom was large and had very good facilities. There was good cupboard/ drawers storage, tea/coffee making eqpt replenished daily. We had a large lounge room virtually to ourselves, and a wine fridge there kept our own wine cool.
Having been on the road for a few days in Scotland we really appreciated the overnight laundry service that Hillary kindly supplied for a small fee.
This B&B is in a very good location for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, and the nearby Glengoyne Distillery is really worth a visit and tasting tour.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Old School House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hilary and Hamish the cat gave us a lovely warm welcome. Excellent weather meant that we were able to take advantage of the lovely garden and the swing! The breakfast was excellent - especially the smoked salmon. The room was lovely and clean. Hilary was the perfect host with a genuine interest in her guests and her knowledge of the surrounding area helped us enormously. We can't wait to stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank EastwickKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Can only echo previous comments: a warm welcome from Hilary and more importantly from Hamish the cat. Quiet countryside retreat and Hilary was helpful with information on local places to eat. Went to "Clachan Inn" at Drymen, and the pub and setting was rather like the Sam Peckinpah film "Straw Dogs." Had Hilary not recommended may have been reluctant to step inside - however the food was excellent quality at reasonable prices and the locals were friendly.
Although I travel a lot in the UK do not usually sleep well when away, but went out like a light.
Excellent breakfast and Hilary seems to have a genuine interest in her guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Old School House for two nights at new year. It was just what we wanted, a friendly and relaxing place to stay as we explored the amazing countryside and lochs. Hilary, the owner, was a perfect host, so welcoming and went out of her way to help us including giving us lifts to nearby towns and to the train station when it was time to leave. She also has useful maps, books and travel tips and knowledge of the surrounding area. She cooks a mean breakfast too! We were in the loft room which was small but very comfortable, with a great shower and good views of the distant mountains. We didn't have a car but the bus route passes right by the guesthouse, just stick your arm out! Only 10 minutes to the lovely village Drymen, and bit further to Balmahar on the edge of Loch Lomond where we started a long new year's day walk across the hills.

We'd love to return to the area in summertime for more exploring, and would stay at the Old School House again as it was so lovely this time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hilary's B&B in early Sept. We experienced the same warm welcome that others have mentioned. We were in the "Loft" upstairs and although it was a bit tricky to bring the luggage up, we were very comfortable. Hilary has lots of good information to share with regard to the local area and has maps and brochures on hand for perusal. There is a delightful loch walk only 5 mins from the B&B and the little town of Gartocharn is charming. A delicious breakfast spread at the communal dining room table adds a nice touch and of course you can indulge in the cooked breakfast if you so choose. For us, it was a brief but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My partner and I have just enjoyed a night in this lovely B&B and would recommend it if you are planning a trip to the area. The owner, Hilary, was most welcoming and her accommodation was immaculate and extremely comfortable. She guided us to a local family run inn for a superb meal, and she went out of her way to take my partner back there the following day to pick up his car. I had the full Scottish breakfast and it was the best I have ever tasted! A truly great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms are average, but stylish. The bathrooms are excellent. The Old School House is located directly at the road.
However, the landlady Hilary is extremely welcoming. The breakfast is great. We were there with three kids and a dog and had a very nice and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHerriot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
4.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century converted school within Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park with beautiful views down to the Loch. Small owner/occupied bed and breakfast with personal service at all times. Great for a short-term stop off as part of a Scottish Tour or for longer term breaks. A great base for access to countryside walks, Lochs and Glens or visits into Glasgow and Stirling. 4 star accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing