We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #1 of 2 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wanted a reasonable priced B&B for a one night stay for business purposes, and could not fault the "Old School House". My Single bedroom was small ( which I have no issue with at all ), cosy, and VERY comfortable. The Bathroom was superb, with lovely fittings. Everything was spotlessly clean. The Television worked well, and the room was fitted with kettle, alarm clock and all the touches that made for a wonderful stay.

( Full Scottish ) Breakfast was hot, fresh, and excellent, and the dining area ( which combined with sitting area for guests if required ) was spacious and interesting.

As I was the only person staying, that night Hilary looked after me wonderfully, and I have to say this is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in ... and thats with 40 years of ocassional staying in such accommodation. I would unhesitatingly return, if ever I needed to

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreyfox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
What a flattering review. Thanks so much, you brightened up my day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
37
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hilary came out to greet us at the car, then let is choose our room, introduced us to Hamish (the puss cat) and made us feel so welcome. The room with the skylight was wonderful, comfortable and so clean. Breakfast excellent and with a lovely lounge where we were invited to use glasses for our own wine (bedroom picnics are a B&B essential) and even a wee fridge with cans of coke to help ourselves to. Absolutely loved it and hope to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soomurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. So sorry you didn't manage to get the seaplane flight this time, but hope you'll be back soon to give it another try ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a really nice B&B. The location is ideal for sightseeing. The garden and view are just great. Hilary gave great tips on places to eat and things to see. Hilary runs a great place here. Just charming overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights during my husband's high school reunion. A beautiful place to stay and we can't thank Hilary enough for her warm hospitality and comfortable, homely accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble and she went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spotlessly clean, our bed extremely comfortable, the surrounding countryside is so beautiful and there's lots to choose from on the breakfast menu. Hamish the cat is also very accommodating, unperturbed by visitors and spends a lot of her time patrolling the gorgeous garden area. A truly delightful place to stay - so much so that I didn't want to come home! Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review Liz! I will have fond memories of your group forever more. The gazebo is still up in the garden waiting for our next planned barbacue in a couple of weeks. Think I will theme it as a braai :-) Please extend my regards to Vincent and the rest of the crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What a lovely place to stay. Hillary is a lovely person and made us feel welcome. Her B&B is first class and she works very hard to make sure your happy. Its cosy, well furnished and full of history. The scenery and view from the back garden is out of this world. 10/10, and her cat Hamish is cool :)

Room Tip: There all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night in the old school house on our way back Durness. Decided to book here after reading the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. Such a warm welcome From Hilary and Hamish after a very long drive. The room was spotlessly clean , comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast to set us up on our way home the next day. Can't recommend the old school house enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyashbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed as a single female traveller once a month for the last 9 months whilst attending a course. Every stay has been very comfortable and pleasant. Hilary is a friendly and welcoming host I tend to book the single en-suite room. It is a bit small but very cosy and has all the necessary comforts and is perfectly adequate for a single traveller. The accommodation is always immaculately clean and the breakfast is fresh and delicious and Hilary is always very accommodating. Over the last few months I have come to know Hilary and Hamish the cat very well and sorry that my course will be coming to and end. I would without any hesitation stay at the Old School House again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dione W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
3.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
12.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Property: The Old School House
Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century converted school within Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park with beautiful views down to the Loch. Small owner/occupied bed and breakfast with personal service at all times. Great for a short-term stop off as part of a Scottish Tour or for longer term breaks. A great base for access to countryside walks, Lochs and Glens or visits into Glasgow and Stirling. 4 star accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing