We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful base for 3 days for large family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #2 of 2 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful base for 3 days for large family”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, 3 days, because it was close to a family wedding. Took over the whole place, with 7 adults and 1 5 year old. It was perfect. The beds and rooms were super comfy. The breakfasts were huge, perfectly cooked and personalized to our different needs. And the lounge was perfect for family morning get togethers, and relaxing late night chats. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area for a holiday around Loch Lomond - even if we only needed one, two, three bedrooms - or all 4. Hilary was very personable, gave us good advice about where to eat locally. And we met the cat, who then ignored us, which was fine. My brother drove up from Glasgow Airport, which took him an hour. And the free wifi was very fast, without the faff of a code.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your great review. It was lovely to meet you all - such an 'international family' from UK, USA and Fiji ! I am still looking for those kilt pins but no luck yet. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were greeted by the lovely Hilary and her lovely cat Hamish(a) and taken to a lovely room overlooking the garden. The room was light and airy, very clean and well furnished. Refreshments were replenished every day so we always had a welcome cuppa and a biscuit. A lounge for guests is a great plus, somewhere to share a glass of wine. Also plenty of seating outside in the garden. A real home from home.

The filling Scottish breakfast was more than enough to keep us going as we set off on our visits. Eating at one large dining table meant we could meet the other guests and share our thoughts of the various activities we were about to embark on - a lovely atmosphere to start the day.

Hilary was very helpful in telling us of places of interest and where to eat. Once the nature reserve is complete at the bottom of the garden it will be yet another great attraction - the garden itself is well kept and lovely and peaceful.

We were there at the start of the Commonwealth games in Glasgow, and some of our fellow guests were spectators. Others were travelling on to other towns and cities. The siting of this delightful B & B is superb for Glasgow, Stirling and Helensburgh and more. Lots to see and do.

Thank you Hilary and Hamish for a lovely week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you! And it was a pleasure having you stay here. Glad you appreciated the atmosphere - it was a particularly special time during the Games and Hamish and I are still welcoming guests in their droves :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the evening as a stop off during a driving tour of Scotland. We booked last minute and we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our room was very clean and it had a homely feel. We stayed for a very nice breakfast before moving on. It is a great place to use as a base for walking our visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnyeo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review my place and even more thanks for the kind endorsement. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wanted a reasonable priced B&B for a one night stay for business purposes, and could not fault the "Old School House". My Single bedroom was small ( which I have no issue with at all ), cosy, and VERY comfortable. The Bathroom was superb, with lovely fittings. Everything was spotlessly clean. The Television worked well, and the room was fitted with kettle, alarm clock and all the touches that made for a wonderful stay.

( Full Scottish ) Breakfast was hot, fresh, and excellent, and the dining area ( which combined with sitting area for guests if required ) was spacious and interesting.

As I was the only person staying, that night Hilary looked after me wonderfully, and I have to say this is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in ... and thats with 40 years of ocassional staying in such accommodation. I would unhesitatingly return, if ever I needed to

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreyfox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
What a flattering review. Thanks so much, you brightened up my day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hilary came out to greet us at the car, then let is choose our room, introduced us to Hamish (the puss cat) and made us feel so welcome. The room with the skylight was wonderful, comfortable and so clean. Breakfast excellent and with a lovely lounge where we were invited to use glasses for our own wine (bedroom picnics are a B&B essential) and even a wee fridge with cans of coke to help ourselves to. Absolutely loved it and hope to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soomurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. So sorry you didn't manage to get the seaplane flight this time, but hope you'll be back soon to give it another try ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a really nice B&B. The location is ideal for sightseeing. The garden and view are just great. Hilary gave great tips on places to eat and things to see. Hilary runs a great place here. Just charming overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights during my husband's high school reunion. A beautiful place to stay and we can't thank Hilary enough for her warm hospitality and comfortable, homely accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble and she went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spotlessly clean, our bed extremely comfortable, the surrounding countryside is so beautiful and there's lots to choose from on the breakfast menu. Hamish the cat is also very accommodating, unperturbed by visitors and spends a lot of her time patrolling the gorgeous garden area. A truly delightful place to stay - so much so that I didn't want to come home! Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at The Old School House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review Liz! I will have fond memories of your group forever more. The gazebo is still up in the garden waiting for our next planned barbacue in a couple of weeks. Think I will theme it as a braai :-) Please extend my regards to Vincent and the rest of the crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
0.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Property: The Old School House
Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century converted school within Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park with beautiful views down to the Loch. Small owner/occupied bed and breakfast with personal service at all times. Great for a short-term stop off as part of a Scottish Tour or for longer term breaks. A great base for access to countryside walks, Lochs and Glens or visits into Glasgow and Stirling. 4 star accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old School House Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing