We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for stopover on way to Highlands”
Review of Ardoch Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardoch Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

(A bit late with this review!) We stopped here for one night in April on our way from Cumbria to Cannich and it was very well located as a stopover. The house is cosy and beautifully decorated and Paul and Mabel gave us a warm welcome, even though it was well after 9pm when we arrived. Rooms were comfy and well stocked and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Plenty of parking space too.
I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Ardoch Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Paul and Mabel were so helpful and accommodating from tailored suggestions for things to do and directions to gourmet breakfasts! Ardoch Cottage is warm and inviting -we enjoyed the evening fires in the lounge. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Ardoch is in a great location being in the heart of the Loch Lomond area and near many local attractions and small towns. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and hightly recommend Ardoch to anyone. If we ever get back to Scotland, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenEric97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed at Ardoch Cottage as we were attending a wedding nearby. The Cottage is lovely; well-decorated, cosy yet spacious and has everything you need - including a lovely open fire! The owners are very hospitable - serving up a good breakfast and helped us out with finding a taxi when several inches of snow tried to hinder our getting home! If you want to get away from it all (there's no phone signal!) and relax in a beautiful part of the country (right next to Loch Lomond) I would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly186360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

what an excellent stay we had at ardoch house at the weekend, this property is absolutely stunning been decorated and refurbished to a very high standard would highly recommend here and would certainly hope to stay again. The open fire was lit for our stay and made it like a home from home. only thing dont expect a mobile phone connection not possible but that suited me down to the ground as its superb to get away from the nuisance helen & alison

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helaborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marlinette645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mabel l, Owner at Ardoch Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Isaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milieR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mabel l, Owner at Ardoch Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
3.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.9 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
12.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardoch Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardoch Cottage

Address: Ardoch Cottage Main Street, Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range: £72 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardoch Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gartocharn, Loch Lomond, Ardoch Cottage provides 4 Star award-winning bed & breakfast accommodation for visitors to the Loch Lomond area of Scotland all year round. The Lindsays have lovingly restored their cottage which overlooks rolling countryside towards Ben Lomond to provide a welcoming base for visiting holidaymakers. The cottage was originally a toll house on the old military road running between Stirling and Dumbarton Castles. Gartocharn, on the A811, is located on the southern shore of Loch Lomond, world renowned for its natural beauty, and is ideally situated for country leisure activities. Ardoch Cottage has 3 bedrooms and guests have a private lounge with a real log fire. All bedrooms have en-suite WC/shower, television and Tea/Coffee making facilities. Ardoch Cottage has a No Smoking policy throughout the premises. Open parking is available. Large private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardoch Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardoch Cottage Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing