We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House with everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrteegras...
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic House with everything you need”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed for a week from 24th March with Family. The house is in a beautiful location with great facilities and everything you could possibly need. I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone. Kids loved riding their bikes around the grounds and playing in the garden and pool. Nothing was too much bother for Emily and she quickly dealt with any questions. One of our party was allergic to the feather bedding but this was rectified immediatley with an alternative. The pool table provided a great entertainment in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeTys...
Yealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked High Wards for a family holiday and it certainly lived up to our expectations being even better than the photographs. The house and facilities are amazing we had no problem in selecting bedrooms as they were all very well appointed. High Wards is an ideal for a family holiday there was more than enough room for our party of 8 adults and 6 children of varying ages. The views from the house are fantastic and you can actually walk to the lochside best in wellies though. Also the location is excellent for trips out.
There were lots of toys, bikes and ride on tractors etc for the children to play on together with swings slide and playhouse. Unfortunately the trampoline needs some repairs. The children had a great time with loads of space both inside and outside. The pool was great for all ages and was always warm. The house was always warm maybe too warm at times. The great room was great for the adults and children to get together and had an excellent pool table and large tv. The kitchen diner was superb and was well appointed. Overall a fantastic property which is supported with excellent service by Emily the owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ant A
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking in Every Way!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly I want to thank Emily the owner for her amazing hospitality during our stay at High Wards. Not only was the booking process as easy as picking up the phone, but the level of detail involved in our stay was beyond my expectations. She was more than happy to help no matter how big or small the query, and offered an amazing array of home-cooked food, which I can't praise enough.

The lodge itself is by far and away the most luxurious and stunning house I have ever stayed in. The facilities were absolutely incredible, with the swimming pool being a hit with all of our guests. As well as this, the Main Hall, complete with pool table, log burning fire and the most breathtaking views over the Loch, really completed a great weekend.

None of the guests could fault any of the bedrooms, all of them being generous in size and well decorated.

Thanks again for making our trip such a memorable one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to spend good times with family and friends”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had 15 people staying for the weekend. The weather was mixed and we didn't venture far but there was no need to. This house has enough space be together or have space. The swimming pool was perfect as was the pool table. We didn't have to worry about the noise when playing trivial pursuits either. The rooms are of such a high standard that you feel like you are luxury boutique hotel.
Emily made or weekend easy by ensuring that we had everything we needed and kept in touch to ensure or needs had not changed
Thank you Emily and team for making our weekend perfect
Gordon & Yvonne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master suit was fantastic as was the master bath
Liked least: Not great mobile phone availability
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous house for a five day Wedding weekend with wonderful family and friends!”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It really was love at first sight when I first went to visit High Wards House. I knew that one day I had to throw a special party there and so when my Husband Andrew and I decided to have our Wedding at the nearby Boturich Castle we knew there was only one beautiful house that we wished to rent for our 5 day family celebration! The perfect house to hold a relaxed dinner and drinks reception on the eve of our big day, for family and friends who had travelled from all over the Globe. Everyone enjoyed that Friday evening and commented on what a wonderful house High Wards was. It has such a relaxed yet luxurious feel! The Kitchen was equipped with everything you could ask for to cater for a group of 60 that evening. We retired back to Wards after our big day with 180 guests to continue the party with our close family and friends. The next day we had an open house BBQ where a chef kindly recommended by the owners came and cooked a delicious feast! The sun was shining bright and we took full advantage of the spacious outdoor dining area. Games in the garden, playing cards and drinking lots of Fizz! Emily and Jim who own High Wards went beyond every expectation and truly made our stay a 5 star experience in every way! Such a kind and fun couple! The views from the Great room are exceptional and set an amazing back drop for the Groom and his Ushers to have a photos taken while they played pool and enjoyed a few fine Scottish Malts... With our close family all staying together we really did enjoy a wonderful weekend that we will all never forget! Each Bedroom offers every luxury imaginable. The 9 kids in our party loved waking up each morning and having a pool party with all the family in the fantastic heated indoor swimming pool! Equally the kids play area outside provided lots of fun for our little ones! By recommendation from Emily we took a little boat over to one of the islands on the Monday evening and enjoyed our last family night together with a private dining experience... We received so many lovely messages from all of our amazing family and friends who joined us at High Wards commenting on what a marvellous time they had and how we really must get together there again for another party in the future! I cannot wait to organise our next stay there! Fantastic memories were made and I look forward to our next weekend all there together again!
Thank you Emily & Jim for everything! x x x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High Wards House offers a fantastic space in the Great room to enjoy a wonderful celebration! Absolute Luxury!
Liked least: could not fault a thing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at high wards for my friends hen weekend. The house is absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are all very spacious and the living rooms and kitchen are also amazing. The house is so well equipt. The swimming pool was fantastic and we were able to make good use of this. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we were there so we didn't get a chance to play tennis or use the grounds but this didn't spoil our weekend in the slightest the house was so comfortable and the views were amazing that everyone was more than happy to stay in the house. Emily was so helpful from the initial booking right through to our departure, I would definitely recommend High Wards to anyone, it is a stunning house in a beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
934oved
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No money back but a nice apology”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the High Wards for a week in August to celebrate the wedding of our oldest son.

The High Wards is indeed a fabulous house with a nice setting close to the Loch Lomond.
Upon recommendation from the owner of the Ward Estate it was arranged so that Jam Jar Kitchen in Cardross was to supply the dinner at the wedding. Everything sounded terrific and very customer focused during the planning phase. We were a small wedding party of only 36 guests so it should be no problem to cater for any individual need. In our party we had some guests having various food allergies. They charged us 150£ extra to guarantee a perfect handling of those guests special demand.

As the main course we agreed upon Beef Wellington, being a spectacular composition that we expected would enlighten our wedding dinner. However when served the meat inside the pastry was extremely overcooked and with a structure more close to charcoal than the soft meat you expect to find inside the pastry – the beef was killed! Regarding the allergies another catastrophe was avoided thanks to one of the guests being observant of what was served. A plate containing gluten was given to the guest being highly intolerant for gluten.

High Wards charged us 150£ extra for perfect handling of the allergies and another 5£ extra/person for the spectacular beef. Despite all this extra money the staff provided was not up to handle such important tasks. Shame! We tried several times to contact both with the High Wards and directly with Jam Jar Kitchens to discuss their performance. However none of them wanted to discuss these matters with us. To collect performance opinions or care for a satisfied customer is apparently not on the agenda of these two companies.

To rent the High Wards using an intermediate agency might be something you can consider, however I strongly advise against doing any business directly with the Wards Estate. The main problem is the Wards Estate’s way of acting. In all meetings face to face they are nice and customer focused, very willing to find solutions to improve your stay at the house. The problems come if you involve yourselves in any direct business with them, like catering, entertainment etc. In mail conversations it starts sweet and nice but later change style like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde to suddenly become penny-focused to get any extra they can from the customer. They will require you to pay 100% in advance or hence they refuse to do anything. Should something go wrong with any of their deliveries they will never give you a refund. When requesting some money compensation they will tell you it’s not due as they already have given you a nice apology for the inconvenience occurred to you. When trying to argue with them they start to write mails in an American lawyer style with arguments that a glance looks very solid. However when analyzing the basis for the arguments you realize that many of them are merely white lies given to support their case. Moreover we later got copies of mail from them sent to suppliers were we as a customer was described in a rather rude wording.

To summarize I can’t recommend you to rent the High Wards. The place is great in a beautiful location however with the attitude of the present management you take the risk to end up in troublesome American law style conversation. To get compensation or many back if something goes wrong you just can forget, but indeed you get a nice apology.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
We were and still are extremely sympathetic with this situation where the guest had booked High Wards for accommodation only to attend his son?s wedding at Boturich Castle. However, due to circumstances, the bride?s family pulled out of the wedding and did not attend the wedding. We were asked at short notice to organize a much smaller wedding on an extremely tight budget. Turning to the specific complaints, we have the following comments for the readers of our reviews. The guest requested beef wellington against our caterer?s recommendation due to the precise cooking and serving requirement. After many toasts, the guest?s speech went way beyond the allotted time, and the caterer?s staff was dismissed from the room despite being told they could serve during speeches. Of course the rare beef had to be returned to the oven to keep the pastry crisp resulting in medium/well done beef. The guest had almost finished his meal before raising a comment, and indeed went on to finish the beef. All guests cleared their plates and we received some lovely feedback. We did not think it fair for the caterer to refund a supplement for beef fillet as the food had been eaten, enjoyed and complimented on. We apologized for error of the incorrect dessert being placed with one of the allergy guests, which was swiftly removed before being tasted and the correct dessert was served to the guest in question. As there was a lot of work involved with 7 guests having allergies, we also did not think it was fair for the caterer to refund the additional chef required on the day given the spread of canapes, starter, main, dessert and evening buffet requirements. We spent a lot of time in trying to please the guest, and did not charge for many of the extra costs he requested to host a small wedding at High Wards. There was confusion over payment of the deposit as the guest had advised that he had paid the agent whilst also claiming he had paid High Wards direct, neither of which were true, and had also tried to withhold 10% of the additional third party supplier costs. There were numerous emails sent regarding payment, costs and the menu including 250 pounds of silk chair sashes that went missing on check-out ? allegedly having blown away in the wind ? and found by CCTV to have been collected and taken to Sweden ?by error?. In this case we were not able to satisfy all of this guest?s demands. We take customer service extremely seriously as shown by our other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing