We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant week”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gcoull11
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant week”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends (14 Guys) spend an amazing 4 days at High Wards. The house is incredible. Well decorate, equipped and the grounds round about are perfect for a week away from the outside world (we didn't leave). Emily (owner) and her husband live just up the road and were more than helpful with any questions we had. The views are incredible and we couldn't have asked for a better setting for a week away with the guys. Would 100% recommend High Wards to anyone!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Hired the house for a hen weekend, house was stunning and beautifully decorated. Grounds were well kept with plenty of seating outside.

We were lucky to have been there on a sunny weekend which added to the beauty of the place.

Would recommend High Wards House to family and friends

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful all round”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Highwards for a friends birthday and my anniversary it truly was superb.The minute you approach the house you know it's going to be lovely.Emily and Jim have fitted the house out with high quality furnishings and enough crockery for the number of guests that can stay.We had dinner on two of the nights and Emily made everything from scratch and it was delicious.She really is a credit to Highwards.The outside seating areas are well furnished and the views truly amazing.Would not hesitate to book again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwen h
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at highwards for a weekend fri to Monday, there were 20 of us, all adults for a 30th birthday celebration.
the house was stunning, with everything we could want. we had thought about doing some hikes and activities in the area but there was so much to do within the grounds including the tennis courts, pool table, swimming pool, trampoline and garden that we ended up spending pretty much the whole time at the house.
Everyone wants to find an excuse to return and I certainly hope we will.
thank you for a perfect weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah P
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Hen Weekend ever!”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I was at a Hen Weekend at this beautiful house. It is in amazing grounds and the house has everything you could want/need. All the bedrooms are en suite and the kitchen is exceptionally well equipped. There was even a cupboard full of wellies to use. The pool is just the icing on the cake too. It is tastefully decorated with lots of room for a large family. It is the perfect place for a large family holiday. Can't rate this house high enough.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma22028...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a stunning location! This house has it all!”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently stayed at High Wards House for a hen weekend and everyone can't stop talking about how AMAZING it was!

The house is absolutely beautiful! Emily (the owner) has really taken great care to think of all the amenities people would need for their stay and provided them such as plenty of big, fluffy towels (extra ones for the indoor pool as well!), Arran Aromatics hand soap, Bose bluetooth sound system and every kitchen utensil you could possibly need!

The bedrooms in the house are stunning - and MASSIVE! Each one has a beautiful en-suite and I was amazed at the size of them all. The beds are ridiculously comfortable - I kept saying it was like sleeping on a cloud!!

During our stay we hired a Photo Booth which was set up in the conservatory and there was plenty of space to fit all 21 hens into the photos. We also booked a BBQ chef which was great as it saved us having to cook so we could sit back and relax.

If you are planning a gathering then this house is PERFECT and really is as good as it seems! We will definitely be returning as soon as we can. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing - everything is amazing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcn5
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic house. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Good location for walking. Near airport and Waitrose home deliveries. Very enjoyable break with the extended family and all ages loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing