We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House way better than expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aed34
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House way better than expectations”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most fantastic stay at High Wards!
We knew from the website and photos we were in for a treat however I would say it was even better and bigger in real life!
The only way to describe it is simply stunning, it is so well equipped, and everything in the house is the highest quality! The kids just loved having their very own swimming pool, toy room and the games room with pool table was very popular too!
There is so much living space it always seems so peaceful even although we had 15 kids in our party!
The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious and again very high quality furnishings!
The house is not far to get to the centre of loch Lomond, only about a 10 minute drive!
Emily the owner is also very friendly and nothing is too much trouble!
We had the most amazing stay and will definitely be returning soon hopefully! Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evapospi
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place with 5* service and very friendly relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We appreciated how kids friendly it was (great playroom and a lots of outdoor stuff to play with) as well as tasty homemade kids meals made with the attention to details. We enjoyed tea time in the Great room with large sofas, fireplace and stunning view. Excellent home made meals served with the best service, beautiful bedrooms, nice small swimming pool with outside sitting area, game of tennis and few walks made our family weekend even more special! Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambykitt...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Large group of ladies stayed here for 2 nights at the start of September for my sisters surprise hen weekend. We were all blown away by the house! Before our stay I couldn't stop looking at the pictures online and thought the house was too good to be true however on arriving it was even better than the pictures. Emily was friendly and gave us a lovely welcome and was very attentive throughout our stay and was also our chef for a night, providing us with a delicious 3 course meal. We had arranged a team of entertainers to come and preform a murder mystery night, Emily was very accommodating and helped the planning around this. One of our group had accidently left a watch and jewelry in the house and Emily emailed straight away to make us aware and posted belongings promptly. We all had a fantastic weekend and cant wait to go back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondan...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where dreams come true!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had the best long weekend here in May 16 for my wedding. We stumbled across the house in Jan 16 & with the help of the wonderful Emily organised a great weekend wedding. Everything you could possibly think of is & can be catered for here. If only we could win the lottery to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANN A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect spot for a summer wedding”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An amazing location, with beautiful views of the Trossach mountains and surrounding countryside, a perfect self contained venue that was exclusive. The facilities, catering and service were excellent and it all made a perfect day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ski_A...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very unique and special venue.
We stayed here with 19 of our family for 4 nights.
We were getting married at Highwards and what a venue it is for such a special occasion.
The whole family loved staying here - it's luxury wrapped up in the most amazing views.
The house has a great amount of space for everyone to relax and socialise and the outdoor space seems endless.
They house caters for your every need - cooking, dining, comfort and enjoyment.
Indoor swimming to out door BBQing something for all weather. We were very fortunate as even the weather was perfect for us.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and with a variety of different sleeping arrangements.
As a wedding venue - Highwards have something very special and exclusive here. Working with Emily to arrange your big day will ensure you have the flexibility to have everything just as you want it with the peace of mind that you are in safe hands.

We had the most amazing 4 days celebrating our wedding with friends and family.
It's a hidden gem that will exceed your expectations.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie C
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exceptional short stay and our Wedding day at High Wards”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I booked High Wards Estate for our wedding in May, 2016 and stayed for 3 nights. We first made contact with Emily about 12 months prior and from the first email I knew that this prospective venue was going to be very promising. Upon visiting we were 100% sure this is where we wanted to tie the knot. Emily was very helpful from the beginning; sending us menu options and answering all our questions over email, it truly felt like nothing was too much trouble.

The grounds are so much more stunning than photographs convey, the views are breathtaking and the property's location means it's wonderfully peaceful and secluded. Everything is so well-kept and clean and there's a real feel of luxury as you wander around the grounds. I was especially fond of the side garden which we had some gorgeous photos taken in on the big day.

The house itself is everything you could need for a group/family stay. The kitchen is excellently equipped, the receptions rooms provide lots of space to spread out and the great room is something to behold with its magnificent panoramic window and full-size pool table. The bedrooms are spacious and clean with luxurious bathrooms and each one offers a unique view outside. We had no complaints from our families who came to stay with us, they all spoke so highly of the quality of the accommodation. Many enjoyed the swimming pool too!

We decided to have a small ceremony with only 12 guests so we didn't need an extra marquee and just used the wooden gazebo outside. We opted to have all meals except breakfasts catered which was just brilliant and allowed us all to feel like we're on holiday without someone having to do the washing up. The meal options were fantastic and each day Emily cooked delicious dishes from scratch. Our wedding breakfast was the best food at a wedding I'd ever had!

The ceremony itself was a wonderfully emotional and intimate event, walking down the aisle to such a stunning backdrop is one of the best moments of my life so far and I couldn't imagine doing it anywhere else. The grounds of High Wards made for so many photo opportunities that we almost ran out of time! Despite the drizzle we had on the day, High Wards offers an exceptionally beautiful setting full of character and romance.

On top of the wonderful surroundings, I believe Emily and her staff made our wedding day what it was - it's so rare to find a holiday rental where the owner is so invested and passionate about making your stay memorable. The success of our wedding day is a real credit to Emily & co. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and grounds
Liked least: Tesco delivery driver couldn't find the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;