We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan C
1 review
“Great house in a great location.”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A great house in a great location. There were 13 of us staying for a work / social event and the house and the surroundings were exceptional. The house was of a high standard and Emily and the team were only too willing to accommodate us. A huge house with great social space. Highly recommended and I have been told by my team that we are going back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmallwoo...
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Strictly Fab-u-lous!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

And it's a 10 from us.
We have hired a number of properties for family holidays over the years and have sometimes been disappointed. We had high expectations of this one and we're not disappointed in any way.
Everything about High Wards is six star. The rooms (including every bedroom and ensuite) are spacious and beautifully furnished. The house is well stocked with everything you could possibly want. All the appliances are top quality. The kitchen is fantastically equipped - three double ovens, three dishwashers, coffee machine, enormous fridges and freezer. One almost needs an app to discover everything in the cupboards.
The bed linens are top quality and best of all luxurious full size bath sheet towels in all the nine bathrooms and the swimming pool. Unlike most rental properties they supply all the basics - tea, coffee, sugar, toilet and kitchen rolls, olive oil, foil, washing powder, dish washer tablets etc etc. Also they supply body wash and lotion in all the bathrooms.
We were a family group (age range 3 to 72 ) and there was lots for the children of all ages to do. The swimming pool is warm and provided hours of fun. Also there is a tennis court and a pool table. The play room has a toy cupboard. Full WiFi for the teenagers and a fulll Sky package which enabled them to watch Manchester United win their first match of the season 4- 0. Also a good stock of DVDS in the playroom for the little people.
The enormous gardens are well maintained and the views spectacular. There is lots on offer in the immediate area but there was so much to do at the house that we didn't venture out much.
There are two barbecues and top quality garden furniture on the various patios around the property which allowed the grandparents to escape and enjoy an early evening glass of wine in the evening sunshine.
The owners Emily and Jim are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
I could go on and on but perhaps I should just say that we have already booked it for next year.
In the words of my five year old grandson - Brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Garden, Great Host”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The House is so spacious and comfortable without being overwhelming. Just so easy to move in and feel at home. The gardens are beautiful but also fun to play in.
Emily is a star who keeps it all calm and efficient.
We stayed for a week, loved every minute and were sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly magnificent property”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed her with 16 friends and family to celebrate a birthday. The house was ideal and the standard of comfort exceptional, such comfortable beds. I highly recommend this property, suitable for all ages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alananth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to stay...”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family stayed at Highwards over a long weekend surrounding our daughter's wedding at a nearby venue. The house provided a high level standard of accommodation for our various family groups.
The great room has the most stunning views where we saw deer in the garden and loads of wildlife. The room layout allowed for both relaxation and a more formal drinks party. The pool table was well used by our party too. We just didn't have enough time to enjoy the music and tv facilities and the 'wi' that is available for use.
The main lounge is a huge space which we used for a formal evening dinner as well as board games and relaxation. The tasteful decor and ambience is first class.
The kitchen and eating area is every cooks dream. Every appliance and utensil is of a high calibre and a pleasure to use.
The swimming pool was well used and the constant warm temperature, abundance of towels made it a pleasure to swim.
Each bedroom is of a different style and decor but each one is impressively fitted and decorated and with bathrooms to match.
The grounds and patio furniture allow for great al fresco eating.
Children of all ages catered for from a toy room indoors to a large play area in the garden.
On arrival for our stay the house was presented impeccably throughout.
Emily provides a warm welcome and is most helpful from the initial booking process through to arrival and then throughout your stay. Her enthusiasm and love for her house is obvious and this spills over to your enjoyment of your stay.
This really is the perfect place to stay and couldn't recommend it more highly.



Sent from my iPad

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraboyle...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a girly hen party”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A group of 21 of us stayed here for the weekend for my sister's hen do. It was a surprise for my sister and what a surprise it was! We had such a ball. Every single room was absolutely stunning and the views are breath-taking! We were so comfortable and the pool went down a treat! We had everything we needed and because there was such a large group of us, the cost was so reasonable between all of us. Thank you so much Emily!

We will definitely be back.

Sara

xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb week”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just spent the last week staying at high wards. The house was fantastic, spacious and very luxurious. Accommodated us all and plenty space both in and outdoor. Can't recommend the place highly enough

David

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;