We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House & Amazing Hostess”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise G
1 review
“Amazing House & Amazing Hostess”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Cannot put into words how amazing our weekend was for my sister's hen!! Emily was the most amazing hostess and the food was out of this world. The wedding diets went to pot this weekend but it was more than worth it. The house is incredible and photographs cannot do it justice. You must see it in person to fully appreciate the beautiful house and location!! The views are absolutely stunning. Thank you thank you thank you!! Definately planning on coming back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel764...
1 review
“Stunning views, luxury digs and accommodating owner!”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I was lucky enough to have booked a hen weekend here in March 2018. While the pictures show how lovely the property is, I was still in awe when I actually arrived.

Beautifully furnished, big reception rooms- plural!
Plenty of space for meals for big groups, so nice to be able to have everyone at the table at the same time.
Each bedroom has a unique twist to it, all of which have access to either en suite or own bathroom.
Kitchen gadgets looked to be high spec, but we were lucky enough to have the lovely Emily cook for us, so I didn't actually use them. However, the instruction manuals were all included, as were the instructions for the different sound systems.
The meals provided by Emily were delicious, not a single person could find fault. She was lovely to deal with, and so helpful with the various dietary requirements. She really made an effort to include options that were more than the basic. Completely went above and beyond.

Real thought has been taken to include all amenities, from your basics like crockery and bin bags to things like racquets and balls, wellingtons, and ice!

The grounds of the property are stunning as well, with plenty of wildlife to see. There are binoculars included dotted about the house to view different bird species and also the deer that wander closer by.
We were lucky enough to be staying the weekend of the Beast from the East's attack, so were able to see the views with snow. It felt like a little winter wonderland of our own, with the log fires on the go or in the indoor heated pool, watching the snow fall.

The owners obviously take great pride and care of the venue, as well as meeting their guests' requirements. Definitely worth every penny.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I9976DUbr...
Bishopbriggs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent venue with amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was at the house last weekend with a group of friends. Everything was excellent and anything you would need was there. Rooms spacious and all decorated and maintained to an extremely high standard. Two very large sitting rooms excellent for big groups. We had ordered lunch and dinner cooked by Emily. Both were delicious. I have Coeliac disease and require a gluten free diet. Emily understood exactly what was needed and it was clear she had gone to a lot of trouble to ensure my meals were tasty. My dinner was excellent and I would particularly recommend the gluten free sticky toffee pudding (often my choice is ice cream or ice cream)! Nothing too much bother for the owners. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbaragr...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Set in the most beautiful countryside near the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, High Wards is the most stunning property with all rooms furnished to a very high standard. The two main lounges are simply out of this world and allowed us to carry out our planned birthday programme of quiz, fancy dress party and murder mystery with ease. One of my best memories will be of us all seated together in the lounge beside the pool room, watching the England v Scotland rugby match by a roaring open fire! The kitchen is a wonderful focal point, very well equipped and including a splendid dining table. All bedrooms are perfect, especially the master bedroom with its double shower, free standing bath and separate dressing area, not to mention the amazing views from the unusually shaped windows. Having a morning dip in the swimming pool really set us up for the events of the day, which included a pleasant walk up the nearby hill (looks like a dumpling!).
We opted to have Emily do the catering on two of our evenings - we were not disappointed - the chilli, mac n cheese, lasagne and veg curry were all beautifully cooked and very well received by everyone.
Now we are just looking for an excuse to return for another weekend as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnieh53
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Venue”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Booked High Wards for a long weekend for a family and friends ‘get together’ and birthday celebration. The house is fabulous, very well equipped, roomy but very comfortable with lovely scenic views of Ben Lomond. There are plenty of activities for children and adults available in the house and grounds but although situated in the countryside it is only 10 minutes travelling time to main routes. Emily provided wonderful meals for us, and everybody had an extremely enjoyable and relaxing time. Cannot recommend this property enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus P
1 review
“Large Group Weekend Away”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I booked High Wards for a group of 20 staying at the start of Feb. We had an absolutely amazing time. This really is a fantastic spot to base yourself and explore all that Loch Lomond has to offer. We went on a speed boat pub tour. We played Highland games on the front lawn and had spectacular walks. When we arrived, all the group were blown away by the house and the location is truly spectacular. We ended up cancelling one or two of our activities and just staying in the house! Emily was a brilliant host and the catering offered was delicious. We couldn't have had a better stay. I would absolutely recommend High Wards to any large group!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnc1201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Venue with amazing owners”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What an amazing house, location and owners. Just returned from a weekend stay with my friends for a hen weekend and we had a fantastic time. The house is stunning and every room is done to a very high standard. So many aspects to the house and the swimming pool is a lovely touch. WiFi available within the house and plenty of space for us to spend some quality time with our friends.
The owners, Emily and Jim are such friendly and accommodating people and are always happy to help. Unfortunately due to the snow my car got stuck. They were incredible and quickly came to our rescue. After trying and trying to get my car out the single track road, Emily kindly drove us home in her 4x4. They went above and beyond for us and got us home safely. There are people in this world who put others first and Emily and Jim and two of these people. Thank you so much.

Definitely a 5 star rating for the house, location and owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing