We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Snack”
Review of Grace of India

Grace of India
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Aberlady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Quick Snack”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a "drop in " on a quiet Wednesday evening I was hungry and just wanted a quick something to eat, so I had a small starter and a main course.
The service was quick friendly and the portions almost big enough for two,
Only complain they don't serve alcohol and I had forgotten that
otherwise - its a great place to eat

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric_of_Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just Right”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good food, served quickly, hot, delicious, and service just right. Not too much food, and not too little. It hit the spot on a dreich July Wednesday evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like Indian food - you'll be in heaven eating here”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ordered a takeaway from this restaurant as were on holiday in the area. We dropped in just to pick up a menu. The restaurant itself is modern, immaculately clean and gave a fantastic first impression.

If I tell you the quality of the printed menu is exemplary - it was followed up by the quality of the food. Seven people were ordered for, lots of different dishes and they were all outstanding!

Please, please give either the restaurant or a takeaway a go - it is the best Indian food we have ever eaten!

What more can I say. We are going back in September - can't wait to enjoy their sublime food again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteandSallyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macmerry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem in the quiet East Lothian village of Aberlady. It can be accessed by car as there is plenty on-street parking or by bus. There is an extensive menu and all the food is prepared fresh to order. I had chicken shishalik which was delicious. There is no table licence so remember to BYOB if you want an alcoholic drink! The staff are all very friendly and even the chef came out to meet everyone and make sure that we were enjoying our meal.
The decor is modern and fresh creating a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. I'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“aberlady gem”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Decided to try The Grace of India having been disappointed on the last 2 visits to the 'other' restaurant in Aberlady. Pleasant 10 minute stroll from the caravan site. Very clean restaurant with crisp linen tablecloths and napkins. Attentive staff, very quick service. The meal was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. This was the first time we have frequented a BYOB so it was a very pleasant experience when we received the bill! We were not harassed to leave the table when we had finished our meal, even though the restaurant was very busy. Looking forward to returning when we are in Aberlady next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grace of India also viewed

Gullane, East Lothian
Aberlady, East Lothian
 
Gullane, East Lothian
Aberlady, East Lothian
 

Been to Grace of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing