We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and idealic location”
Review of Ducks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ducks Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Certificate of Excellence
Fife Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service and idealic location”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed here with my sister when we came to see a gig ...( JJ Gilmour if you ever get the chance to see he is amazing ). The staff with no exception were so lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was beautiful and full marks for cleanliness and presentaion. Food is top notch. The surrounding area is so beautiful too with lovely coastal walks. I can't recommend this hotel enough.. looking forward to my next stay :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    108
    30
    32
    11
See reviews for
54
121
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were travelling all oveer scotland when we passed this hotel it looked nice so we stopped. We were given a warm welcome and checked into a lovely warm clean room with all the facilities you would require. We were tired cold and hungry but told to take our time to freshen up before dinner. We went down to the dinning room well after seven and got a lovely meal well cooked and presented from a menu which was extensive. We were never made to feel rushed even though we were the last people dinning and the owner even made time to come and speak to us. Well done we had a lovely stay even though it was only one night andnext morning we had a pleasant breakfast before checking out.

Room Tip: We were travelling around scotland when we passed this hotel thought it looked nice and stopped we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandracampbell-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited Ducks for Valentines Dinner and experienced absolute delightful cuisine with terrific hospitality. Staff were very pleasant and ensured they did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. We had booked in to stay the night in the hotel, however after experiencing dinner in the intimate surroundings of Ducks restaurant we extended this to a second nights stay. On the second night we ate in Donalds restaurant and once more were welcomed by Owner and Staff alike and enjoyed another well prepared and presented meal. Breakfast was everything you could ask for with another welcome from Owner and Staff. We will return !!

Room Tip: Our aim next time is to ask for Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longniddry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Myself and my family have been to Ducks regularly over the last few years and on each occassion visited have never been disappointed by the food offered. The food is beautifully presented and tastes great and the wine list is also very extensive. The staff are always friendly and welcoming and I can't recommend highly enough. I would say that the a-la carte menu could occassionally do with slight tweeks as being a regular visitor to the restaraunt the menu can become slightly samey if you like. I have also been in the other dinning area and the food there was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dishydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed there recently and was bowled over by the friendly staff and service. They couldn't do enough to help you and this really made a great impression. We ate in the restaraunt one evening and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Ducks is a very quirky and homely hotel, set in the lovely village of Aberlady, and the welcome is as good as you're likely to find. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Ducks for 2 nghts (13/14 January 2012), we had stayed before and had a great experience then. The hotel is welcoming and cosy with friendly staff who are always happy to help. The room was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The evening meal in the Bistro was delicious. The breakfasts are relaxed, with no rush or hurry, yet efficient - staff very attentive. When in the area again we wouldn't go anywhere else now.
Alfie D

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dossett186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

When racing at Musselburgh, Ducks is the only place to stay. Great beer, amazing wine list, delicious food, comfy bed, friendly staff and owner. What more can anyone ask?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJSchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlady
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,227 reviews
2.8 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
8.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
13.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ducks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducks Inn

Property: Ducks Inn
Address: Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland (Formerly Ducks at Kilspindie House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Aberlady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ducks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1638, the eight bed roomed house and the neighboring school were converted into a 23 en-suite bedroom hotel in 1970. All rooms have central heating, hairdryers, ironing facilities, direct dial telephones, wi-fi access, colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. In Duck's Restaurant you can enjoy fresh local produce prepared skilfully with care. Other facilities include Donalds bar/bistro with an extensive whiskey collection, real ale and a sheltered courtyard for alfresco dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ducks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducks At Kilspindie House Hotel Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie Hotel
Ducks At Kilspindie Aberlady
Ducks Inn Aberlady, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing