We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Niche Golf Hotel”
Review of Ducks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ducks Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Niche Golf Hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have stayed at Duck's a number of times over the past few years, playing golf at Gullane, Luffness etc. Malcolm and the team always try hard to make you feel very welcome. The bar is usually populated with a mix of guests and locals and as a result has a happy and relaxed atmosphere. The quality of the food in the restaurant has improved this year - so well done to the kitchen team. Rooms are fine for a few days / men playing golf etc, but the bathrooms would benefit from a refresh...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    111
    30
    32
    11
See reviews for
56
123
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a fantastic find in Scotland. Visiting friends and needed somewhere near Edinburgh but forgot The Fringe was on as well as the Tattoo!! Came across this hotel which looked good. A small village on the coast Aberlady and only a 20 minute train journey into Edinburgh. Lovely clean room, plenty of hot water and comfy bed. Excellent food and the staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. Well stocked bar and good menu choices in the Bistro. Yes the floorboards did creak but it is a very old place with plenty of character. We had a room near a door to the corridor but were not disturbed by any noise. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What an amazing weekend we had here for Dad's 60th. I dont ever remember having service quite like this in the past. From the welcome greeting, bar staff and restaraunt staff it was just outstanding.
Everyone was so attentive to us, especially my 11month old son who was able to crawl all around the hotel safely to the waiter and waitresses working that night. We were so well looked after.
Rooms were lovely and homely, nice comfy beds and just all in all a fanstatic weekend. I cant stress enough how friendly everyone was.
We'll be coming back if you let us! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy250379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently stayed at this restaurant with rooms, or as others know it, Hotel with some friends. It was for a weekend of golfing and socialising that turned into a fiasco as I was made privvy to a rather heated dispute among the staff. There was a lot of tooing and frowing going on and one particularly scary looking guy trying to throw his weight around vocally. When the bar manager tried to calm things down, it only seemed to infuriate these other staff all the more which lead me to believe that there is a serious problem in terms of attitude and respect between the junior staff and the management. For such a quiet area, it is a really loud hotel what with the doors slamming, the creaky floor boards and staff that cna'y handle their drink. All in all it is not a place that I would go back to as the food is mediocre and over priced, and doesn't offer much of a choice compared with other eateries in the area. The rooms are cramped, stuffy and in serious need of some tlc.

Room Tip: stay at the Balmoral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited July 2014 for 5 days of golf.
The location is second to none for the courses we wished to play.
The hotel is very individual with very quirky decorations, mainly dominated by golfing memorabilia and DUCKS (a play on the theme created by the owners surname - Duck).
The food in the hotel bistro was very good quality. A short menu meant that we felt we needed to eat elsewhere for two of the four nights we stayed.

All staff were exceedingley pleasant and customer focussed.

Bedrooms were modest, but the beds were comfortable. It is an old hotel so rooms should not be compared to chain establishments with standard decor.

Malcolm Duck, the owner is a character who has a range of personal opinions which he is happy to share with anyone with the time to listen. We didn't receive any of his ramblings with offence, although I could see how some might occasionally. This in my opinion would be mainly caused by a misunderatanding of Malcolm's sense of humour.

We would be more than happy to stay again, is visiting the area.

If I was to offer any comment / advice on how to improve the hotel, it would be to ensure a regular cyclical replacement policy in respect of decorations and carpets. Costly, I know, but actually an important factor in the appearance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a 9-Day Scottish Golf Tour. Played Turnberry, Prestwick, Royal Troon, Muirfield, Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Old Course at St. Andrews. Stayed in 4 incredible properties and this was, most certainly, a HIGHLight. Malcolm, Fiona and their staff (Sam, Brian and Jamie amongst others) have MASTERED the art of service and making total strangers feel like family within minutes of your arrival. Food, Drink, Service, Staff and Accomodations were all perfect. Exactly what we were hoping for and expecting, while surpassing both! In the center of an incredbly beautiful, peaceful and welcoming community/village the Kilspindie is a crown jewel. In fact during our 2-day/2-night stay, if we weren't on the course we did not leave the property. Meals were all fantastic at Donald's Bistro. Can not say enough about how much we truly enjoyed this spot. Will most definitely be back and recommend any and everyone to stay here without question!

Room Tip: We had a group of 12 so we got to walk around and see a lot of different rooms. Each one different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had booked this as a 40th birthday golfing treat for four professional English guys, looking for some Scottish culture and great golf.
On first impressions the place was fantastic, and the staff were very welcoming. Rooms ok but walls are thin. Food is great and bar staff, hotel staff are very friendly and did all they could to assist.
Main gripe about the trip was the owner who clocked that we were four English guys and made an assumption that we were trouble. We were given a 10 minute diatribe about how uneducated we were about Scotland, how our national anthem was an anti Scottish and offensive song and how we could not sing it for the England game that evening (??). we had also found good seats in the room early to watch the game (on his advice as the locals were all coming in) but were not allowed food in the bar lounge and had to move 8yards away into the restaurant to eat, in an obvious attempt for locals to get our seats. He was also racially offensive at the same time whilst claiming to be from Pakistan.
Not trying to go on, but this really riled with us as we spent nearly 1000 in his establishment over three nights, but this affected us so much that we went out both of the other nights.
Having said that, the location and golf was amazing, and the rest of the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlady
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
205 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
243 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ducks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducks Inn

Property: Ducks Inn
Address: Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland (Formerly Ducks at Kilspindie House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Aberlady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ducks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1638, the eight bed roomed house and the neighboring school were converted into a 23 en-suite bedroom hotel in 1970. All rooms have central heating, hairdryers, ironing facilities, direct dial telephones, wi-fi access, colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. In Duck's Restaurant you can enjoy fresh local produce prepared skilfully with care. Other facilities include Donalds bar/bistro with an extensive whiskey collection, real ale and a sheltered courtyard for alfresco dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ducks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducks At Kilspindie House Hotel Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie Hotel
Ducks At Kilspindie Aberlady
Ducks Inn Aberlady, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing