We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mothers day spoiled by ' fancy ' traditional sweet!!”
Review of Ducks Restaurant

Ducks Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Aberlady
Price range: US$29 - US$65
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ducks Restaurant is an intimate two AA Rosette fine dining restaurant with a long history originating in Edinburgh’s New Town, with just ten tables it is one of the best in East Lothian. It has an A la Care Menu and two tasting menus one of which is vegetarian. Ducks restaurant is open WEDNSAY to SUNDAY, November to end February. March to October it is open Wednesday to Saturday
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“mothers day spoiled by ' fancy ' traditional sweet!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

All were looking foreward to apple crumble but what came was disappointing -- a cored out apple with few crumbs of crumble inside it!! The chef may have taken a lot of effort making it but that is not what diners want from traditional scottish food. The friendly service made it difficult to complain. Not sure to return soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lothianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    47
    20
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

we were only booked into this hotel for one night bed and breakfast on a deal but we stayed a second night and also booked an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and well presented the staff were very pleasent and helpfull our room was at the front of the hotel very clean and comfortable this was a very relaxing stay in a lovely unspoilt area with brilliant walking which our dog bisto really enjoyed plenty of wide open space to have a good gallop we hope to return sometime

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievable.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great staff, amazing food, everything cooked perfectly, I ordered a rare rib eye, for once it came properly rare! Presentation was outstanding. Car park bit tight to get into (driving a merc 4x4) but a normal car fine, once into car park plenty space. Definitely worth the journey!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BearlyThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Valentine's Night at Ducks”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our first Valentines night out ever, and we made that choice simply because the menu looked so appealing.
Started with a cocktail of hazelnuts and vodka which was delicious, then moved onto the Valentine's menu where we had warm salad, langoustines, lamb and maybe the best sea trout we've had in years. The whole meal was complemented with a beautiful rose cava and the service was both pleasant and prompt, despite the restaurant being pleasingly busy.
Chef got it spot on throughout with his seasoning - the sea trout in particular, which he seemed to have left more or less to itself, which is something of a rarity. We often find that restaurants over-salt and/or over-garlic everything, but this balance was not just perfect, but good enough to remark on. The starters came with candied walnuts and candied chilli, which probably sounds weird but was an inspired choice!
Definitely one of the best meals we've had here. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“hogmaney bash”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very friendly staff great party night rooms comfortable great breakfasts food well presented only gripe was frozen chips served rather than home cooked give them benefit of it being New Year and they were very busy

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinty478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ducks Restaurant also viewed

Aberlady, East Lothian
Aberlady, East Lothian
 

Been to Ducks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing