We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet ruin”
Review of Hailes Castle

Hailes Castle
Attraction details
Upnorth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet ruin”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Out of many castles in East Lothian, this is by far my favourite. It's location is off the beaten track, single track road, about 1.5 miles south west of East Linton but so worth it when you get there. It's a ruin and the best part is that it is free. Very tranquil with beautifully kept grounds and well maintained. Great for children although behind the castle lies the River Tyne so need to be careful if they are running free. Interesting history and as we picnic here often, I find Hailes Castle is a very easy setting to imagine how times were here in the 13th-16th centuries and so quiet, you could hear a pin drop! Please do pay this one a visit, well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Let your imagination wander here”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Arrive by foot or car and explore the ruined castle and riverbank. No entrance charge, toilet, cafe or other trappings for the visitor. Managed by Historic Scotland and is one of several castles in the area. With a bit of time management you could visit several in a day. There are good places for eating in the villages that you will pass through.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsPepperpot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hailes Castle is lovely; a bit of a challenge to find, but if you download the GPS coordinates from Historic Scotland for all of their sites, it certainly makes it easier. This is in an absolutely stunning location and the pit prisons are pretty interesting, although creepy. Definitely worth a stop. No staff or shop at this location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank celticdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hailes Castle is only a few miles from where I stay but I have never visited before! It’s just one of those things – you never seem to visit the interesting places that are on your own doorstep!

So, on a lovely sunny day recently, my husband and I took ourselves off to visit Dirleton Castle then Hailes Castle. It’s not too difficult to find, but it is quite hidden in a dip and surrounded by trees. The road to get to it is a single track and there are not too many passing places! When you get to the castle, which is a ruin and unmanned, you can park outside the entrance, but there’s only space for around three vehicles. As it was a sunny day when we were there, it was actually quite busy and we found it difficult to get our car parked off the road, but we eventually found a spot a short distance away.

Although unmanned with free entry, the grounds are well kept and the gardeners were doing some grass cutting at the time we were visiting.

I was surprised to find that the castle stands on the banks of the River Tyne, but you can’t really see that until you walk into the grounds of the castle. It was so tranquil and families were enjoying picnics on the banks of the river and within the castle grounds. There were also lots of swallows flying around and I could see many swallow chicks in their nests actually inside the castle building.

This castle really is a hidden gem and is well worth a visit, especially on a gloriously sunny day when you could take a picnic with you (be aware though that there are no toilet facilities).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always a quiet and interesting medium sized castle to visit.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Its peace and its slightly hidden posistion also hides the comfort within secure walls the Hepburn family once enjoyed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScotLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hailes Castle also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
Dirleton, North Berwick
 
Pencaitland, East Lothian
 

Been to Hailes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing