We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 East Linton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here and our first night of a three week trip around Scotland and the Highlands. It was the perfect place to start! Very family, food was good and local beers excellent!
Our room was at the top of the house and was clean, elegant and the bed was very comfortable. They had a special feature and it was just outside the window. The garden was light up and the local church was at the bottom of the garden and was all light up.. A really good relaxing start to our holiday.. Thank you for making our stay perfect...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    40
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
59
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were booked in here for 3 nights during the Ladies Scottish Golf which was only 10 minutes drive away. What a gem of a find, a lovely local pub/hotel/restaurant, nice clean rooms and comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was fabulous (need to book as it was packed every night) the restaurant is tastefully done with lovely soft lighting and a very cosy setting. they have lots of food awards on display, and when you've eaten there you'll know why,
There is a lovely little beer garden at the back which is nice.
Michelle the proprietor could'nt do enough for us nothing was too much trouble, the bar and restaurant staff was very attentitive too. definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custard1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were booked in here for a local wedding. Unfortunately, almost certainly not the fault of the hotel itself, our booking was accidentally cancelled. However, Michelle the proprietor bent over backwards to sort out alternative accommodation for us locally, and even provided Kenny, her barman, to give us a lift there and back so we could have a drink with friends booked into the same pub.

We did see one room, which was lovely, and ate an evening meal there, which was excellent quality and very generous portion size. Our payment for this meal was refused as a very generous gesture of goodwill. East Linton is a pretty village very handy to the A1, and on,y 30 minutes to Edinburgh. The bar was full of locals and had a great atmosphere. House wine lovely too.

We would return!

Room Tip: Quite steep stairs if you have mobility issues, rooms to the rear look over the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a lovely little hotel/pub/restaurant. We had two rooms a family and a double for a two night stay. Remember this is an older building, but every thing was just spot on, lovely clean linen, great fluffy towels, coffee/tea/biscuits, tv/dvd, hair dryer, in other words all that you would need. Welcoming staff, excellent breakfast, and a lovely bar and restaurant with first class fayre and food that would make your mouth water. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

For the price this is a lovely hotel. Quite old and creaky but the rooms are like a cosy bedroom. Comfy bed and everything was clean. Breakfast was good in the morning and all the staff were very friendly.
The only thing that let it down was the shower was the worst i've ever had. It was like a dribble. They do recognise this though and apologise inside the breakfast menu. I believe they are fixing this urgently so by the time you stay it shouldn't be a problem.
Great place for a cheaper stop before Edinburgh or very close to berwick which is where we were off to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here at the weekend and was made to feel really at home. Room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, and the owners were more than helpful and hospitable . Breakfast in the morning was tasty and good quality, with good coffee. Really enjoyed my stay and me, my husband and my 2 year old little girl had a lovley stay. Would recomend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a fantastic little find the Linton is . Thank you to Michelle and her fantastic hospitality . She could not do enough for all her guests . She a real worker whom nothing is too much bother . Food was fantastic the lamb and artichoke was superb . Good hearty breakfast with fresh ingredients . A perfect base for exploring such a beautiful stretch

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claremcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Linton
5.3 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
7.6 mi away
Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor
#2 of 4 in Dunbar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown & Kitchen
The Crown & Kitchen
#1 of 2 in East Linton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse

Property: The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Address: 3 Bridgend, East Linton EH40 3AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > East Linton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Linton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in this beautiful conservation village of East Linton in the heart of East Lothian, we are ideally located for fishing, golfing, walking and sight seeing. Our fantastic chefs offer menus featuring local and seasonal produce. Come and sit by the fire or in our unique walled garden (when the weather allows) and sample a few real ales or a chilled glass of wine. We hope to welcome you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse East Linton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing