We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 East Linton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Something I always look for, great rooms, great food, great service in a great setting. The Linton ticked all the boxes for me. The rooms are well furnished, well decorated and comfortable. The bar area has a great atmosphere and good beer! The food was delicious. The meat being sourced from local suppliers, which is always a sign of good quality. The staff were really friendly and helpful, allowing me to stay in my room even after the check out time. I have already rebooked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnosallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    42
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
61
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at the Linton, Extremely easy to find, especially if you are coming via the A1, just follow the sign when you see it for East Linton, until you see that simply enjoy the drive, once you go over the bridge The Linton is straight in front of you.
We had an executive room costing £60 per night including breakfast, if I have 1 criticism here, it would be to say that the room was a little on the small side, but lovely and clean.
I highly recommend the full Scottish breakfast, but be prepared, your food fuel tank will definitely be full for hours.
Message to management: Please have the internet wi-fi connection looked at or boosted, thank you for a lovely stay, and I really did enjoy the belly pork from your lovely Bistro, 10 - 10 for the chef ;-)

It is ideally situated to be close enough to Edinburgh but without the hustle and bustle, lots of exploring to do, owners are very informative and very welcoming,

Room Tip: if your expecting a large room, not room 1, but if you want a welcoming hotel, in a great location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james12329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our stay here was brief but very enjoyable, the staff were very friendly, the bar has a lovely atmosphere and a wide range of beers and spirits. The breakfast was probably the best I've ever had!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The rooms was very nicely furnished and decorated and the bed VERY comfy. My advice is to avoid the pricey B&B's of North Berwick who clearly have delusions of granduer and stay here, it's only a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have eaten at this hotel's restaurant before and thought it would be nice to stay there. The hotel is small but the room was spacious. The breakfast was delicious and the staff lovely. The location is accessible to N Berwick for golfers. I am a cyclist and found the location a great starting point to ride the beautiful rural roads in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a small but clean and nicely decorated room with a comfy bed. The location was great for joining the coastal trail and visiting places such as North Berwick and Aberlady. Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant meals were excellent, generous quantity, my husband has never struggled to finish a meal but did here (steak & ale pie). The pub had a lovely atmosphere and we felt very welcome, Kenny the barman was great and gave advice on the local ales. All of the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Beautiful garden area to sit in on the 2nd floor. Michelle was having problems with a plumber so the shower was hardly working, she apologised and gave us a discount off the final bill as a gesture of good will. This is a beautiful old building with lots of character, in a beautiful little village with lovely walks along the river, ideal if you like birdwatching and seeing wildlife, we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozzii40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here and our first night of a three week trip around Scotland and the Highlands. It was the perfect place to start! Very family, food was good and local beers excellent!
Our room was at the top of the house and was clean, elegant and the bed was very comfortable. They had a special feature and it was just outside the window. The garden was light up and the local church was at the bottom of the garden and was all light up.. A really good relaxing start to our holiday.. Thank you for making our stay perfect...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were booked in here for 3 nights during the Ladies Scottish Golf which was only 10 minutes drive away. What a gem of a find, a lovely local pub/hotel/restaurant, nice clean rooms and comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was fabulous (need to book as it was packed every night) the restaurant is tastefully done with lovely soft lighting and a very cosy setting. they have lots of food awards on display, and when you've eaten there you'll know why,
There is a lovely little beer garden at the back which is nice.
Michelle the proprietor could'nt do enough for us nothing was too much trouble, the bar and restaurant staff was very attentitive too. definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custard1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Linton
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,227 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
5.2 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
241 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse

Property: The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Address: 3 Bridgend, East Linton EH40 3AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > East Linton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Linton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in this beautiful conservation village of East Linton in the heart of East Lothian, we are ideally located for fishing, golfing, walking and sight seeing. Our fantastic chefs offer menus featuring local and seasonal produce. Come and sit by the fire or in our unique walled garden (when the weather allows) and sample a few real ales or a chilled glass of wine. We hope to welcome you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse East Linton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing