We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great place in East Lothian”

The Crown and Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$41
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Definitely worth a trip out of Edinburgh to visit the Crown and Kitchen. It's a really cool place and good for either a drink or food. We had the pulled pork with BBQ glaze and it was amazing. The staff were great too and we'll definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy R, Assistant Manager at The Crown and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us and so positively. The pulled pork has been a great success story and we are now looking at further options on our smoked choices. Look forward to seeing you again and providing you with another great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stumbled upon this fantastic bar/restaurant and WOW! A great menu, so much I wanted to try, suit all tastes. The smoked pulled pork, which they smoke on the premises, is delicious! The staff are friendly and look after you well. They allow dogs in the bar area and kids very welcome. There is a lovely small beer garden at the back for those sunny days, This hidden gem has it all! Can't wait to return, if only it was my local! This place has it all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kimB282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy R, Assistant Manager at The Crown and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Great review and deeply appreciated. Really glad that we could provide you with such a great time and menu. Look forward to seeing you on your next foray from Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First impression on entering was a lively and busy bar. Then through to the restaurant at the back - lovely ambience. We had excellent service - friendly and efficient. But the food was superb - beautifully cooked and presented. Great value for the money. Well done! If you can keep up this standard, you'll do exceedingly well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bibisteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy R, Assistant Manager at The Crown and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review. We will certainly make every effort to maintain the standards and exceed them for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I took our two under threes out for a spot of lunch! The welcome at the Crown was warm and very friendly. The service was attentive without being in your face. The Children's food was home cooked goodness, mini pizza on homemade dough and amazing fish goujons. The children's food was served quickly and at a sensible temperature (the beans hadn't just been nuked in a microwave). My husband had chicken breast that was delicious. I had the lentil burger which was fresh and enjoyable but the lentils lacked seasoning, it needed something else for flavour. The beer garden is enclosed and so a great place for the children to potter about until it was time to eat. All in all a relaxing and enjoyable time was had, even with tired children. Definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy R, Assistant Manager at The Crown and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Brilliant review and very much appreciated. We are very happy to of been able to provide you with the quality of food and service that we believe should be the standard. We have recently changed the children's menu after previous reviews and I am very glad it has made such a good impression. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We couldn't decide which restaurant to visit in East Lothian. We opted for this one on the strength of the kids menu which was admittedly daft. We waited an hour on our food. There were only two other tables occupied. The table next to us eventually complained about the slow service so got their food before us, despite their having come in later. My husbands burger then came burnt and when he complained, the complaint went unacknowledged until I prompted the waitress. We were told 'too bad since you ate it'. He ate it because he was starving by that point. The other meals were good. The olives were lovely. The decor was lovely though the place smelled acutely of cats pee a fact we generously put down to the fresh hyacinths on each table? The bread was odd- 5 of us didn't like it despite being pretty starving. The staff were too young, too inexperienced and too under supported to deal with what must have been a bad day in the kitchen. Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy R, Assistant Manager at The Crown and Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Here at the Crown and Kitchen we always aim to the highest standard and, to have every customer leave happy having enjoyed every part of the service. Obviously on this occasion we have failed to achieve that and for that we are acutely apologetic. We also have a policy for trip advisor to never enter an opinion differing to that of the customer, but on this occasion it is felt that some justification may be necessary for other users of this site.

We at no point in the history of this operation have allowed any feline to enter the building, to suggest such a thing seems highly suspicious. Hyacinths are lovely smelling flowers and do not give off a pungent aroma of feline urine either. I have spoken to the staff at length about your quoted conversation about " too bad since you ate it" and I firmly believe this is a miss quotation. The staff on shift that day are highly trained and very skilled at there job. We carry out check backs as standard on every course served, to every table and are eager to replace any food that falls short of our high standards. It does make it very hard if, on the occasion that a meal is below expectation of the customer, that the customer eats the meal in its entirety and then complains about its quality. I am sure anyone reading this will also concur there are very few industries where you can use a product completely and then return it. All our food is cooked fresh to order and no tables food can be sped up to overtake another tables order. There is a disclaimer on the menu alerting customers to the fact that we cook our ingredients fresh from raw, to order(, with exception to a few of the accompaniments) and that this may delay meals to the time of cooking. i.e a supreme of chicken will take 20-25 mins to serve. I have spoken to the kitchen at length about the day you were here and it has been concluded that the "hour" wait seems to of been an exaggeration as well. At this point I would like to alert you to all the other trip advisor reviews we have had, from the start of trading, mostly positive but also a few unfortunately negative and how they have been responded to and at no point has ever a view been entered that was not an upfront and an honest apology or acknowledgment . These may highlight quite how strongly we feel that your review is an unfair representation of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown and Kitchen also viewed

 
Haddington, East Lothian
 

Been to The Crown and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing