We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic, quiet, peaceful, warm and wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan dining area Open plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Stunning open plan dining area
Open plan kitchen
Dining table to seat up to 8 guests
Snug sitting room with wood burning stove
Ground floor bathroom with roll top bath
Shower room on first floor level
First floor landing
Family bedroom with high loft bed and a super king sized bed
High loft bed suitable for little ones.
Double bedroom on first floor
Smart TV
Perfect dining area outside
Front garden
Decked patio which is accessed directly though large sliding doors
Patio area with plenty of seating round the fire pit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
East Linton, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
apett2015
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but in need of a deep clean”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My bridal party and myself stayed at Driftwood, for the run up to our wedding in East Lothian. First impressions are all that count they say. My first impression was that the front garden was untended, and in need of a good seeing to, including painting the front gate, and weeding. This trend continued to some degree inside the house. The house reeks of a rushed DIY job, with paint on most surfaces, where it shouldn't be, like wood work etc.
I found most of the things in the kitchen sticky....and the up stairs carpets where quite stained..
The oven was also so covered in grease it smoked the whole house out!

Second impression, was that there was no welcome note, wifi info/other info. Or even a bottle of wine like I have received in so many other places. Some rentals give you a whole hamper!

I would say, there was an over all lack of personal touch.

It comes down to standard, at the end of the day. You might think a bit of paint splatter, cooking grease or dusty bookshelves are ok in your own home. But when renting a property, I for one have higher standers.
However the décor is very tasteful and modern, with great big windows at the rear of the property. The bathroom fittings are good, with excellent water pressure for a good shower. The fridge is nice and big, and the beds are comfortable.

I would stress that the property really needs a deep and thorough clean, which frankly as a paying costumer, I shouldn't have to point out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The spacious light decor.
Liked least: the need for a good clean
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
I am so sorry that the cottage did not reach the standards for this bridal party. I really wish I had known that the cottage was going to be used prior to their wedding and as the honeymoon venue, I certainly would have ensured that lots of little extras were put into place for their arrival. The price for this particular booking was for a 4 night break was only £400.00 for 7 guests, we provided high chairs and travel cots free of charge too.

I think the brides suggestions of additional items, like chocolates, flowers and a hamper is a really lovely idea and something I will do, for the next bridal party. I do understand that standards need to be high not only for a wedding party but for everyone. My cottage is a two hundred year old cottage with loads of charm there is a beautiful garden and as such does need regular attention. The cottage has had a deep clean and I employ a professional team of cleaners. There is a gardener too employed to attend to the garden every Saturday. I know a wedding is one of the most special days and that everything must be perfect for this bridal party. I hope that we can accommodate many more wedding parties in the future, however please let me know so I can make sure there are lots of little extras for you to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesthomp
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There was a group of six of us (plus dog) stayed here for my fathers 60th birthday. East Linton is a lovely village with plenty of walks nearby, two lovely pubs and a few shops too. The cottage is pretty easy to find, on the street along from the Co-op, it's a pretty busy street so parking was a hassle sometimes but I suppose we did have three cars.

The cottage is a great size, plenty of room in the bedrooms and living room area, but the decor was pretty poor. The downstairs bedroom was painted terrible, it looked like it had been done in the dark, there were also patches like this in the sitting room too. The kitchen was pretty well equipped but every cup had a chip/crack in it and a lot of other things were grubby looking.

There is a yurt in the garden which we all thought would be nice to sit in but it was in a very bad state and smelt very foisty so this never happened.

I have stayed in cottages before and you quite often get a welcome letter left, even flowers or bottles of wine, biscuits etc but there was nothing left at all.

I would not stay here again, it is a shame as the cottage could be so much better.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that Driftwood Cottage was not as it normally.would be and that your experience has been disappointing. The cottage is scheduled for repainting and will be completed by February 2015. We have had some problems with the yurt during the torrential rain and unfortunately some guests left the yurt door open again causing rain to come in. The yurt, really is best used during dry weather at the moment, We are considering the best way forward with the yurt, either it will be removed and replaced with a round house or upgraded to ensure it withstands the Scottish winters.

Gillian , Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fires, the quiet and the space and of course the Yurt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of having high standard of amenities and location
Liked least: Weather....when it rained :(
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;