We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan dining area Open plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Stunning open plan dining area
Open plan kitchen
Dining table to seat up to 8 guests
Snug sitting room with wood burning stove
Ground floor bathroom with roll top bath
Shower room on first floor level
First floor landing
Family bedroom with high loft bed and a super king sized bed
High loft bed suitable for little ones.
Double bedroom on first floor
Smart TV
Perfect dining area outside
Front garden
Decked patio which is accessed directly though large sliding doors
Patio area with plenty of seating round the fire pit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
East Linton, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin B
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was spacious and was just as presented on the internet. We had plumbing issue but Coastal Properties quickly arranged for a plumber to visit. We are used to finding a lot more local information when we stay in self catering cottages and would have also liked to have access to the instruction manual for the oven, microwave and washing machine. All in all a good cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Martin,

I am delighted our plumber was able to fix the problem right away for you and really appreciated your call to let us know. I certainly will put more instructions in to the guest folder and maybe some more information about East Linton and the surrounding area. I hope to see you again in you are up visiting Eas t Lothian.
Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astral333
1 review
“We all loved Driftwood Cottage!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We all loved Driftwood Cottage. The place was very welcoming, clean and well presented. Cleverly executed modernisation provides an interesting layout that has a spacious feel. It was well provisioned, comfortable and very homely. The garden was a delight, we had breakfast on the patio. Easy to find, a few minutes walk to the shops, it had everything we needed. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you Steve, We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes
Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andersons...
Isle of North Uist
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it should be”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed over Christmas 2015 with family. Great location. Cottage is rather lovely and much bigger than it looks! However, the whole place needs a "Deep Clean" . No poker/tongs for the woodburner, not enough dishtowels for drying considering there is no dishwasher for a house that sleeps up to 7, no instructions on how to work central heating/hot water and no hot water in the big bath downstairs (lukewarm) . Several lightbulbs needed replaced and on our second day we came home to find a plumber in the house undertaking a routine safety check on gas! No idea he was coming! I did contact the owner re above so hopefully it will be rectified before next booking! Shame really, just needs a wee bit more love and attention to detail. I think the house is more suited to summer lettings.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
I am so sorry the cleaners did not clean the cottage to the level we expect and we will definitely be bringing this to their attention. It's such a shame when I offered to come to replace the light bulb in the side lights in the sitting room the holiday guest said that it was ok and not to worry. The annual safety checks are renewed in December and the company who carry these out for us, unfortunately they did not advise us they were going that day. We will certainly buy some tongs or a poker for the log burning stove and will look into why the water was only lukewarm for roll top bath. It is so important to us that our guests enjoy their stay at Driftwood Cottage and if there is anything we can do to ensure their stay is more enjoyable we are only to happy assist
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul Y
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Holiday Home”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Driftwood cottage is deceptively spacious, with three good sized bedrooms, and a large sitting room. Also surprisingly quiet as it's set well back from the busy village road it's situated on. Extremely large, well kept garden at the rear of the property which was lovely to sit in during the recent sunny weather. The cottage is also well maintained and equipped with wi-fi provided as standard. Great central location for exploring East Lothian and only 30 minutes from Edinburgh itself. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light and airy sitting room
Liked least: Parking was sometimes an issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is lovely , we particularly enjoyed sitting relaxing in the lounge with the double doors to the lovely garden open . Beds very comfortable . Property clean and garden well-maintained . Made some suggestions about kitchen equipment which the owner has undertaken to provide . Traditional cottage with sensitive modernisation which has made the property light and spacious .
Very convenient and lovely location , near to North Berwick , and lots of lovely walks , countryside and tea rooms nearby . A bit concerned that car parking would be a problem esp as we had visitors who lived in area , but the there was plenty of on-street parking & it wasn't an issue .
Would certainly stay in this property again .

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
We are delighted you loved Driftwood. Thank you too for letting me know that the kitchen scissors were missing and not enough wooden spoons. I have made sure they are in place now. Look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skislopef...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unusually spacious period cottage with enticingly tiered garden”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

In need of a much needed break Driftwood Cottage gave us what we needed. There were a couple of problems on arrival which were quickly dealt with by Gillian. The only negative comment would be that a couple of wooden spoons and a pair of scissors would have been helpful. The book selection was the best we have ever encountered in a cottage and something for everyone. There were up to date games and the old family favourites too had been well thought about to keep everyone happy. The upstairs double bed was very comfortable with spotless linen. The furnishings were comfortable and clean. The garden was a delight and well planned with plenty of space for outside eating and with a large table for a family. It is an old cottage so could be cool in winter but since it was one of the hottest weeks for years we never had a chance to try the stove. Parking although limited was available for a single car within a short distance. East Linton is a pretty village with many amenities and trains run from nearby Drem or North Berwick to Edinburgh in 20 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright sunny lounge opening to south facing garden.
Liked least: Back door awkward to lock
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
I am delighted you enjoyed your much needed break at Driftwood Cottage. It is so important to us that our guests enjoy the cottage. The woodburning stove in the snug room is wonderful and really would only be needed should you wish to add to the atmosphere, the central heating is very good. We would love to welcome you back
Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing