We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay - just stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gifford, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kirstybla...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay - just stunning”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for a weekend and had the most fantastic time. The attention detail, scenery and hig-spec finish of the bus all helped make this a wonderfully memorable trip. The hosts were so very accommodating and we felt right at home from the very beginning. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for the perfect R&R.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambolady
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family summer holiday (2 adults & a 12 year old daughter)”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wow! What a gem of a find this place is. We booked this bus for 10 nights, our last night tonight and we don't want to leave!!

Our hosts Balfour & Elaine have gone out of their way to ensure that this holiday has been one of our best holidays in a long time. We will remember it with fondness and a great desire to return. Scores 11 out of 10!!!!!

After a disastrous journey and Car breakdown we arrived on the back of a low loader. Not how we had planned to start our holiday but Elaine welcomed us with open arms in the pouring rain. Both Balfour & Elaine helped get everything out the car and into the bus and arranged for our car to be put into the barn so that we could make arrangements to have it fixed.

Even then they didn't stop and arranged for someone to come a fix the car for us - on site! Above and beyond in my book, 100%.

We spend 2 days being confined to site but this was not a downside (our hosts did very kindly offer to drive us to train stations or into the local shops whilst stranded but we were happy to stop on site). There are beautiful walks, animals to visit, plenty of your own private space for games with the kids on the lawn, or to sit out on the decking on Sun lounges enjoying the fabulous views and not forgetting your own hot tub!!

The hot tub has been used every day, sometimes twice a day and very welcoming after a day of sightseeing. Late evening soaks followed by sitting round your fire pit with a glass of your favourite drink and watching the stars- it doesn't get any better than this.

Everything is supplied in the bus, all your pots, pans, cutlery, glasses etc. Nice size fridge with a little freezer section. Towels and t-towels also included, and if you book a long stay like us you will get regular changes of towels and bed linen.

The bus has heating in the bedroom and bathroom and a fire in the lounge, the bus is quiet warm but if you have chilli mornings you may want to light the fire. Lovely to have it going whilst having breakfast

Finally, if you love proper fresh eggs, right behind your bus is a smaller bus for the hens who lay fresh eggs every day. Delicious

If you are in two minds about booking this bus, stop dithering and book it - I promise it will be the best decision you have made!

Thankyou to our wonderful hosts, we will be back for more of your spectacular bus and hospitality. Thankyou for a very special holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane A
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting and panoramic views”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Bus Stop. We had the 4 berth Bus. The bus has been beautifully transformed into living accommodation. The stunning views from either sitting on the decking or from the hot tub were amazing. This is such a peaceful location. Balfour and Elaine were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Elaine had even left home baked Lemon Drizzle cake and cookies for our arrival. I would highly recommend The Bus Stop as a quirky glamping holiday. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a three night stay at The Bus Stop. Elaine, Balfour and Sandy couldn't do enough for you whilst not intruding. The Bus itself clearly took time to get it the way it is. Everything is finished to perfection. This is the perfect place to go for a chilled out break. Couldn't recommend it any higher!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandymoo3...
Dumfries, Scotland, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A fantastic place....”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 young children (3 and 2) , and we have not stopped raving about it since! The whole experience is just fab.... And the bus.... WOW! The quality of the furnishings and the whole bus conversion has been so well done. The kids enjoyed having the freedom to run around and you just felt they were safe.... Not something you feel a lot nowadays! We enjoyed collecting the fresh laid eggs, seeing the horses and alpacas, cooking on the bbq and sitting outside just taking in the fresh air and the views... And the hot tub is just the icing on the cake. We cannot wait to go back.... Our 3 year old says she's going to save her pennies to go back to stay on the bus! Well done to the owners.... You've clearly worked hard to create something special... We look forward to seeing the future conversions.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a 3 night stay at "the bus stop" Was totally unique and would highly recommend. Set on a lovely farm with great views and a great place to relax and chill. Will be back in the future!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing