We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprice Restaurant

Caprice Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 55 Restaurants in Musselburgh
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Caprice is a family run restaurant in the historical town of Musselburgh. We specialise in a Italian Swiss cuisine, with almost 50 years experience. Our Succulent pizzas are cooked in the traditional manner, in a Wood Fired Oven to give them that extra taste of quality. Each pizza is treated with special care. Dough is freshly made on the premises every day. Even the wood used, Scottish Pine, is chosen because it adds the required flavour which lets you know you are enjoying a genuine freshly baked pizza. You can of course see our pizzas being carefully prepared and baked while you waiting for your order, and there are 21 delightful recipes to choose from.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Went with a little trepidation as the reviews were mixed. We ate from the reduced menu and it was super for the price. Service was friendly and efficient.
Definitely will be back.

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    63
    26
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian on our doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Brilliant little Italian restaurant with a nice atmosphere, warm traditional cosy décor and caring staff. Myself and my partner have been to this restaurant lots of times either to sit in for a meal or to take food away. Either choice is equally consistently great.

Pizzas are cooked in a log fire oven creating a taste you don't get unless cooked in this way. On the menu they have a half and half choice which I normally choose consisting of 1/2 a pizza with 1/2 pasta.

overall I've never left The Caprice disappointed and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Just about ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Caprice has been in Musselburgh for years, so as we were in need of something to eat @ the last minute, we decided to pop in.
Nice welcome from front of house, but the waitress who seated us was miserable & continued to be so throughout service.
Nothing particularly special or different about the menu, we chose soup to start. Very lack lustre.
Pasta for main course was ok, again nothing special. Ordered desert as we were hungry - again just ok.
As this place has been around for years, we expected it to be good & were disappointed.
We won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizzas and service are fantastic, the rest not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Ive been here a few times now, and there's a pattern emerging. The pizzas and starers are excellent, the service is excellent and the restaurant itself is lovely and cosy. It is however a little over priced for what you get and a lot of the mains are bland and a little small. These things would put me off going again though, Id just make sure and order the pizza for my main

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair_Martin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went for my sister in laws birthday. The service was very welcoming and the menue is very nice i had carbonara and it was the best i have tasted. the only thing is i wish they would do more deals as my partner and i like to eat out regularly and find we would return more if there was a deal on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caprice Restaurant also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Been to Caprice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing