We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of The Quay

The Quay
Reserve with OpenTable
The Quay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 56 Restaurants in Musselburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whether your tipple is a specialist tea, ARTISAN coffee or a delicious COCKTAIL, The QUAY - FRISCO BAY is the perfect place to dine. With a wide range of menu options available to suit all the family, and pricing to suit every budget, you're sure to find something to tickle your tastebuds! A set LUNCH menu is available between 12pm & 4:30pm Monday to Friday with favourites like FISH & CHIPS and Macaroni Cheese and High Teas are served every afternoon. From 5pm, a delicious A la carte Menu including FAVOURITES like Traditional Steak Pie, Pizza, Pasta and mouthwatering STEAKS is available. The Quay was always well known for it's INDIAN cuisine so for those who like it HOT, The Wee Curry Menu will be irresistible! Another exciting addition is The BURGER Den which serves handmade burgers, Hot Dogs & Milk Shakes and we have also introduced an Ice Cream and SUNDAE PARLOUR serving the best quality Ice Cream. No doubt this will be popular with both adults and kids alike. A weekend BRUNCH menu along with a weekend ROAST has been put on for those who like long lazy weekends by the HARBOUR. We look forward to welcoming you soon...
Musselburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute booking”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very grateful to Staff here who managed to get us a table for 8 at the last minute, without a prior booking, after previous venue let us down. The staff were extremely polite and helpful with my special dietary requirements. Plenty of choice and brilliant for the kids as they got to try a bit of what they fancied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolacola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    129
    53
    25
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“family meal”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great choice of food, all piping hot & constantly being checked & replenished. Kids loved the sweet bar. Polite staff. Good place to go to to please everyone

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful, worst experience in years!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I called in for lunch on the off chance. I wish now we hadn't. The staff were un helpful, grabbing plates before we had finished. Plates were cold, pizza and chips were cold. When mentioned it to the staff they told us the pizza was up to temperature, er COLD.

The rice was cold and old! The pakora was cold. This is a buffet style restaurant and is waiting to serve you disease on a plate!

Never again!

Within 5 or 6 hours I was visiting the loo constantly!
You have been WARNED.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Pwrrtyuuiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were visiting family who live nearby and happened upon The Quay in Musselburgh. We were amazed at the variety and quality of the different food on offer. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and I particularly appreciated that the desserts were in small portions, which meant I could have more than one! Staff very attentive and excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really bad experience this time”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited the quay for the 4th time as the same group of freinds as we have all enjoyed the food and selection, although we visited on tuesday the 22nd april as my birthday celbration and the food was poor temperature can only be described as luke warm to cold and the curries on selection were more like water, i really hope this visit was just a bad one this time and our next visit will be much better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quay also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Been to The Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing