We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day out”

Musselburgh Racecourse
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Musselburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musselburgh Racecourse is a Visit Scotland 5 Star venue and named one of their top-rated visitor attractions offering fantastic value days out for all ages. With 29 race meetings a year there is always something to look forward whether you are looking for our Sell out Ladies Day, or great value Family days, with loads of free entertainment for children or the perfect stag or hen night at our Party Nights! We can offer a choice or places to eat and drink at the racecourse catering for all budgets.
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

£20 taxi from Waverley station Nice race course with good viewing plenty of cover. Good food for a low price. Friendly feel plenty of on course bookmakers plus 365 office. This was my first time racing in Scotland and would recommend Musselburgh racecourse for a great day out

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fourstaronly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    8
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“fresh”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

good food and view very busy on race days food good surroundings recommend fish .at far end of mussleburgh . don't forget to get your ice creame take away cartons at lucas on way home

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank margerat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stobo Castle Ladies Day at Musselburgh Races: Fri.14 June 2013”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Taking advantage of the courtesy coach from Wallyford Park and Ride, I arrived alone and with some trepidation at a misty Musselburgh Racecourse, where guests were assembling in their matching bags and shoes, keen to take advantage of this ideal chance to practice their betting and trend spotting skills; and The Blackbird Pop-Up and The Pommery were among two places from where you might purchase a cocktail or glass of fizz: I brought a picnic to accompany my prosecco and delightful coffee. I also got to try Stobo Castle's spa facilities in a specially designated marquee; this allowed those who risked sun damage to get in out of the heat (I brought my parasol) and get a mini-makeover. Banishing the memory of this luxury Scottish Borders retreat as a fat farm, I sampled a mini-massage from one of Stobo's finest, which certainly left me in no doubt where my arm muscles are. I also tried their Dreamwaterjet massage bed which is rather like a shiatsu chair. When you lie on it, (in this case in a tent out of the back of a Stobo road vehicle), it ripples like being transported motionless on a river. Being there solo as an ordinary punter, it was certainly good to have these distractions, without being mistaken for being a serious race-goer. I did take a flutter on a few of my chosen favourites and I was lucky enough to see the main performers later on in the parade ring. It certainly is a tough gig for the horses, certain of the attention as they glisten post-race under the gaze of the media and their sponsors. Across the other side of the track while the horses were under starters orders, Catherine Brown: thanks to Stobo and the Edinburgh Evening News, was being presented as The Face of Ladies Day in her new role she was here to judge Fashion in the Fields. A psychology student at Queen Margaret University, Ms Brown had the unenviable task of finding who was to be the recipient of three prestigious titles including that of King of Style, and among the prizes on offer were a luxury spa stay, future racemeeting tickets, shopping vouchers and cash. Without any obvious signs of nerves, each participant of the three fashion events was then interviewed by Forth One's Grant Stott about their fashion moment. Later, as the crowds dispersed, it was left to one veteran race-goer wearing a top hat and tails who spoke to me as I awaited the last return courtesy bus (which never turned up) to say "some of the girls get in such a state" he eyed me knowingly as he licked his ice-cream and waited for his wife to take him home for his birthday celebrations were next day and he had to get an early night. But unless he confused his birthday for his funeral, for myself most of the crowd were excited yet composed despite the occasional press of bodies, and although the toilet facilities may require improvement: the Ladies - had a urinal taking up valuable grooming space; and it is always trickier doing all that flirting but in heels - for me the day was a clear winner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenysePresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

January 3rd race day. Had a fab day out. Snack vans overpriced, dry and hot chocolate watery. Apart from that great day out for us all. Will def be back for the family day in July

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Years Day Racing”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The whole family booked tickets here for the 2013 New Years Day Race Meeting and had a great day out, good various food outlets at different prices so will cater to all pockets. Decent price for a ticket especially as the kids are free, we have booked again for this year and hopefully the weather will be good again this year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank davie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musselburgh Racecourse also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Musselburgh Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing