We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for 1 night, free street parking, very friendly hosts, (couldn;t have been more friendly) nice clean warm room with extra pillows in wardrope!!! Good breakfast, great coffee and would stay again!

Room Tip: rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Spent two comfortable nights here, very soft pillow! Elegant decor, well maintained and clean everywhere. Proprietors welcoming and helpful and it was nice and quiet, I never even heard a plane. In reply to an earlier reviewer I have to say that reaching Edinburgh by bus was dead easy, there is a bus stop almost outside the door and more than one service available. Musselburgh also a friendly place and easy to find your way about in. I too did not read the small print and had not realised I had booked Room Only, I had taken it for granted it was B&B as it has been in all of the many places I visit.

Room Tip: .I am expected it seems to fill in this bit too, If a room is warm and clean and has a decent bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked this guest house Thursday 14th November for the weekend 22nd--24th November.
Had to cancel because of medical reasons.This was done on 18th Nov.
The booking was through booking.coms
. who took my credit card number as proof of booking.
I am now being charged £85 cancellation fee, I have found out this is not Bookings.com who are charging this but the guest house, this is after being told by the guest house the fee would be £20. The guest out changed all this saying that a member of staff wrongly should not have told me that price. BE VERY CAREFUL THIS IS SHOCKING.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank petercaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
It really is a shame that customers who have not stayed with us can be so rude about us. Perhaps if you had read the terms and conditions on Booking.com site before you booked your would have been aware that one nights accommodation is charged should you cancel within 5 days of your arrival.....As for the wrong information being given we did on2 occasions explain what happened in full and this was accepted by yourself.
Again before you book with any online site you should read the terms...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you want a nice view overa horse race course and the oldest golf club of the UK, then this hotel is made for you. If you want to visit Edinburgh, it is not to be recommended as it is a bit far wawy and not so easily reachable by bus. On the other during the August festivals, many hotels in the centre are overbooked or overpriced, so this one can still be free and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. we actually look over the oldest playing golf course in the world.. With a bus stop right outside the door to Edinburgh that takes 20 mins to the city centre and a train station that is 1 mile away that takes 7 mins by train we are not too far from Edinburgh. We are glad that you did enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room lovely and clean, beds comfortable but no real connection socially. I know its a business to the owners but a little less "stiff upper lip" from Robert would have been nice. Breakfast menu was OK but if I had known I could have ordered fried eggs and bacon I would have done so instead I had the full cooked breakfast of which I don't like, beans, mushrooms or cooked tomatoes. The racing was a brilliant night but would not go back to Arden House.

Room Tip: We are having a three night stay for the same price as a two night in Arden House, so not real value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loridev2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, its easy to order from the breakfast menu, you just delete what you don't want and that way you will find you get what you do want. When we have 7 rooms = 14/18 guests staying with us every night during peak season, sometimes it is difficult to chat to everyone, we are sorry if we did not get the chance to chat to you to make you feel welcome..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I would recommend the Arden guest house. My friend and I stayed for one night June 2013. When we arrived we were met by Betty who showed us to our room and could not have been nicer. A lovely woman, very attentive. Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked by Betty's son in law and to my request. I am hoping to stay here again later this year. Thank you Betty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jos1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. On the positive side there are great views of the race course and the road outside is relatively quite. My room was massive and very clean the staff were quite friendly.
Negative when I arrived late at night the room was very cold as the heat was off, my bathroom was across a landing which was not so bad apart from on my last day there was no hot water for a shower and I had to leave early in the morning. Breakfast was good but the servings times are a little restricted (8-9am), and my tv signal was really bad and the remote hardly worked.
One of the most annoying things although small was that the floor of my bedroom creaked and the wardrobe would make a noise every time I walked across the floor, I know its only small but it got a little irritating by the 3rd day! Overall quite good accommodation my a lot of small things need to be ironed out to take this place on a rung.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyRManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musselburgh
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ravelston House
Ravelston House
#2 of 6 in Musselburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Property: Arden Guest House
Address: 26 Linkfield Road, Musselburgh EH21 7LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star Visit Scotland guest house, looking directly on to Musselburgh Race Course along with Musselburgh Old course, golf course - the oldest playing course in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Musselburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing