We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing good and service!!”
Review of Saison Spice Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Saison Spice Indian Cuisine
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: The newest Indian Restaurant at the oldest freehouse in Musselburgh the LEVENHALL ARMS listed in CAMRA's good beer guide. Bringing best of both worlds -traditional Indian homemade food and a wide range of fine beer and ales.
Edinburgh
1 review
“Amazing good and service!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a fantastic meal here last night. My partner and I both love Indian food and are not easily pleased.

Food was amazing, and staff gave lovely and friendly service. A definite must for Indian food lovers!

Great value for money and paid by card with no problems at the end. My partner even took a doggy bag home as couldn't bare to leave the amazing food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaAndDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Service was fantastic, chef explained all the meals and loved the spicy food. Had 4 pints of Ossian real ale from the pub attached to the restaurant that went fantastically with the food.

Charlie

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SAISON SPICE”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely afternoon spent in Saison Spice. It was my husband and I first time visiting the restaurant and we were both very impressed. The dining area is lovely and the view is great overlooking the raceourse and the golf course. We had a living social voucher which entitled us to a starter and a main. Rice/naan isn't included but isn;t over priced. We both really enjoyed the food and the portions were very god. The service was excellent, very attentive.
We look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BABYBLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really disappointed and starving!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Used Saison online takeaway order which was really easy and followed up with confirmation e mail. After 90 mins and no food decided to call the restaurant to find they were closed and on holiday! Not impressed to say the least:(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Thistled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great little Indian restaurant tucked away at the far end of Musselburgh. In the former lounge of the Levenhall Arms next to Mrs Foremans at Levenhall roundabout.
We have just been for our 3rd visit and were not disappointed. 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 sides and 2 drinks from the bar for £37.
The décor is fresh and the restaurant clean with only around 8 tables on offer. The staff including the chef are very friendly and willing to take the time to discuss dishes which they will cook according to how hot you like them. They are not big on deserts but offer a deliciously free mango kulfi iced desert.
Can recommend the Chef's specialities, garlic chicken tika, coconut rice and best prawn puri yet.
Never been busy when we have visited but I would suggest it is only a matter of time. They are part of the same group as Kushi's in Edinburgh and Dunfermline and the cooking is first class. Authentic Indian cooking at it's best

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewankay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saison Spice Indian Cuisine also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing