We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Host”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musselburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed with Annie for three nights, she was very helpful & went out of her way to provide great service including a top rate breakfast. The location is fantastic with the Esk running past your door and a selection top class restaurants nearby an added bonus. Just a 20 minute bus ride to central Edinburgh (Annie even offered us the correct money in case we did not have the change) it's a lot easier than taking your car into town. We will stay with Annie again if we are in the area and will be recommending her to our friends in Australia for the 'Homecoming 2014'

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Annie's for 4 nights as a husband and wife visiting our teenage daughter, who was working at the Edinburgh festival and we loved every minute of our stay. This is a pretty fishermans cottage which sits on the banks of the river Esk, a view we woke up to each morning. When you step inside, you step back 200 years, in all its original character. Our double room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. Annie is warm, friendly, kind and extremely funny. She said she was 70 but we thought she was going on 35, whatever your age you will be entertained, great sense of humour. I was surprised that visitors were put off in being shown how to operate front door, lights and shower switches as you have to consider this is someones home, a very old one at that, and not a hotel. Once she has shown you how everything works she leaves you to your own devices and does not disturb you, unless you require something. You only have to ask as Annie is eager for your stay to be as enjoyable as possible, she really looked after us.
Annie's breakfasts are a real treat, to start off with we had fruits from her garden with yogurt, an english breakfast with tomatoes and herbs, also from the garden and homemade marmalades and jams. I discovered Annie is Cordon Bleu trained and one morning treated us to Kedgeree which she made with fresh salmon, it was delicious. We found the location ideal as we parked the car in front of the cottage and caught the bus to Edinburgh to sightsee (20 mins) . It costs £1.50 each way, alot cheaper than London or you can buy a daily travel card for £3.50 and travel around the city. The bus stop is a 2 minute walk and you don't need to worry about driving if you want to experience the many bars in the city. By car it was a 10 min drive to the city centre. This guest house, B+B, is great value for money especially with its quality breakfast more often found in 5* hotels. We would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: As a couple we had the front double room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiseoldowl378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed with Annie for two nights and had the most wonderful time. If you want to have a awesome breakfast, (you must ask for her melt in your mouth omelet) sleep in a genuine 19th century attic. Enjoy wonderful company then Annie's is the place to go.The B&B is on the outskirts of Edinburgh so you do not need to drive into the city centre. Annie gives gives good advice for the first time visitors to Edinburgh; of how to get around by bus and where to go. Adele and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We are a middle-aged couple who needed somewhere to stay while settling our daughter into university during freshers week.
An unexpected phone call from Annie quizzed us about our whereabouts in the middle of the afternoon, and informed us we HAD to be there before 7pm or we would be "locked out!" We arrived to find a lovely cottage beside the river Esk, however not such a friendly welcome.
Annie first felt the need to establish whether or not my husband (a mechanical engineer) could manage to securely lock the outside door and made him demonstrate his ability several times - inside AND out.
Next we endured a neverending list of dos and don'ts, i.e
DO turn lights off before turning the next one on,
DO refrain from burning your bottom on the radiator as you get dried
DO close all doors QUIETLY - not to mention an exceptionally inappropriate remark demanding that we "DO IT QUIETLY" as she would be sleeping in the next room. At this point I decided that we would be better off sleeping in the car overnight rather than in what can only be described as a regimented boot-camp. We left abruptly without obtaining our deposit back, and we will certainly NEVER return.

Looking back on the experience, it was honestly like an episode from Fawlty Towers, and, although funny afterwards, it was somewhat less amusing at the time, not to mention the huge inconvenience caused by losing our accommodation and trying to find somewhere else during the hectic freshers week in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
15  Thank co-kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

After reading the strong reviews, my cousin and I decided to meet Annie ourselves. She is quite a character and does run a tight ship where you are expected to "tow the line"...unfortunately, this atmosphere is not very conducive to a holiday mood. It was a bit like sitting and having breakfast with my great grandmother and both my cousin and I felt as though any moment we were going to get our hand slapped for putting the jam jar in the wrong spot on the table. The "friendliness" forced and it was tiring listening to the rules of conduct. Running a B&B involves meeting all sorts of people from different cultures and backgrounds and requires some flexibility...Annie needs to work on her flexibility.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KatherineL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

As you've read in previous reviews, Annie comes across as a bit of a school ma'am ..... 'do's & don'ts' are laid out before you , in a too small house, the 'front room' is also the dining room , and is not recomended for other than that ...... like relaxing with a paper or a good book . We had the 'attic' bedroom , those stairs are a bit of a climb, especially for the elderly traveler ! In the night, when the toilet is needed - in the dark - a nightmare ! Otherwise a generous bathroom ..... shame it's not on the same floor as the bedroom . Meals were very good , the lady attentative , just a bit 'frosty' at times ...... nice doggie though :) It's OK for the money , Edinburgh is about 20-30 minutes away , depending on transport ..... but if you're heading back South on the A1 after - you're just a mile or so from it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pierre34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

There most definitely was not a warm and friendly welcome from Annie on our arrival. We (a middle aged couple) were shown round the house with Annie giving us precise instructions on what we could and couldn't do and what was and was not acceptable while staying in her house. We clambered up the twisty cottage stairs to our 'attic' room which we discovered had no lock to it. Also our 'private' bathroom on the floor belowcould not be locked off. The room was claustrophobic and our only thought was how on earth do we get out of here if there's a fire. It was no pleasure having to negotiate the steep stairs during the night if we needed to use the wc. Turning lights on for this nightime journey was vital but light usage was strictly monitered by Annie and we were soon told if we had over used the electric "which is expensive" We had need to contact Annie one evening when we returned and found signs that our 'private' bathroom had been used by others and so we would like some fresh towels, but Annie wouldn't answer the phone. There was a constant unidentifiable acrid smell lingering in the house that hit you as soon as you walked in. We would stay out each day until about 10 to 10.30pm so as to spend as little time as possible in the accomodation. Breakfast was nothing special we've had far far better, more inviting breakfasts in other B&B's we've stayed at. Annie needs to realise that for some this is their one holiday of the year a time they've been looking forward to. Being happy with your accomodation plays a huge part in whether the holiday is enjoyable or not. We couldn't wait for the time to come for us to leave the B&B vowing never to return. We definitely would not stay at this B&B again and we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank candle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musselburgh
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ravelston House
Ravelston House
#2 of 5 in Musselburgh
41 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mackenzie Bunks
Mackenzie Bunks
#2 of 3 in Musselburgh
28 reviews
2 mi away
Drummohr Holiday Park
Drummohr Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Musselburgh
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 53 Eskside West, Musselburgh EH21 6RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Annie Deacon`s Hotel Musselburgh
Annie Deacon`s Bed And Breakfast
Annie Deacon's Bed & Breakfast Musselburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing