We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the right balance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seanie Guesthouse

The Seanie Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seanie Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Aberdour B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just the right balance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My worry with b&bs is always that people will fuss too much. The owners here strike just the right balance. They are always there to help and can't do enough for you but without making you feel hemmed in at all. The fact that you get your own door/key is great as well.

The room itself is lovely; decorated in an individual style but not over the top. It isalways immaculate and has a private garden to catch the sun. I've never had the breakfast but if the odd evening meal I've had its anything to go by I'm sure it is excellent.

Nice and close to the station as well.

Would recommend wholeheartedly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lightlyTravelledGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Seanie Guesthouse and it deserves 5*. The owners Cath & Mike are friendly, welcoming and cant do enough for you. The accommodation comprises a small breakfast room, a bedroom and a shower room. It is quiet, cosy, compact, well decorated and is immaculately clean. It also features its own private entrance via the garden so you never feel that you are disturbing your hosts. Comfortable beds with white linen and clean soft fluffy towels each day just adds to the experience. The breakfast menu is comprehensive with something to cater for most tastes The railway station is nearby and its a 25minute journey into Edinburgh. Would certainly stay there again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanie8, Owner at The Seanie Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your great review Greta and Len. It was most welcome. Hope to see you both in the future. Enjoy your holiday in Mallorca. Regards Cath and Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a fabulous B&B. The room we stayed in was very private and even had its own garden entrance and own bathroom. The decor is tasteful and charming - a little bit of Paris in Aberdour. The breakfast (vegetarian for us) was delicious, had a lot of variety, and was cutely served to us through a little window that opened between our room and the kitchen. The owners have thoughtfully considered all details of their guests' stays, and it results in a wonderful and relaxing experience. Lovely all around - 5 stars.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thecelticllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

An elderly friend has just stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful stay. The care and attention was outstanding and the room and facilities of a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for Cath. Would definitely recommend the Seanie and my friend will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

A lovely warm welcome, and a beautiful high standard room, with nice comfy beds. Loads of lovely little extras and so well thought out. We would recommend a stay to anyone visiting the area, and will certainly be visiting again ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve70n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

Little gem just north of Edinburgh! Room is good size and extremely high standard, spotless and tastefully decorated. Cath is very welcoming and flexible in accommodating for special requests like very early breakfast. We will be recommending this place to anyone planning to travel that way!

Maya and Richard Marsh

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

A wonderful find! Cath & Mike are superb hosts. All the little extras were very much appreciated.

  • Liked — It was clean and really pretty
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amele51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.3 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberdour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seanie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seanie Guesthouse

Property: The Seanie Guesthouse
Address: 3 Murray Place | Burntisland, Aberdour KY3 0XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdour
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Seanie Guesthouse Aberdour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing