We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice day out”
Review of Aberdour Castle

Aberdour Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$793.80*
and up
Explore The Royal Line in a Private Minibus from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 13th century fortified residence of Aberdour was extended by the Douglases in the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries. It boasts a delightful walled garden and terraces with beehive-shaped dovecot.
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice day out”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I have been to Aberdour three times and really enjoyed it there. The staff are so helpful and the gardens are beautiful. It is located right beside the train station.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sycamore68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    76
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and immaculately kept castle”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very interesting and well maintained castle with beautiful gardens. The painted ceiling is well worth viewing. Good quality range of items in gift shop. Friendly and helpful staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited Aberdour Castle on Sunday. We had wanted to visit for a while, having spotted it on train journeys to Edinburgh. Was very impressed, amazing building and gardens. Well maintained, and very visitor friendly. The lady at the gift shop was very helpful and friendly. Through her advice we joined Historic Scotland, which we had thought about before, so are now looking forward to lots more days out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint serene castle full of hidden treasures”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Aberdour is a gorgeous castle. The ruins show of the great fire. There's plenty to do also, the 1st floor has a grand dining room which with the music playing takes you back to long ago where you can conjure up fantastic images. The gardens are well kept and the dovecot holds many an adventure. The most spectacular feature has to be the room with the painted ceilings. 1 of only 2 castles with surviving feature makes this a must see

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendajane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Used our Historic Scotland membership to view this attraction - one that I've always wanted to do having passed many times on the train. An easily found attraction with adequate parking facilities. Allocate no more than an hour to view this attraction. Laden with copious historical artifacts provides an excellent local history sessions for children of all ages. Although the majority of the castle is in ruins, the signage and other pointers helped make the visit more interesting.
Our children loved the visit and the quiz provided added to their fun. When visiting take the opportunity to get a family portrait in the garden grounds, excellent backdrop against the castle and the colour enhances the shot. This well kept and clean attraction is worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aberdour Castle also viewed

 

Been to Aberdour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing