We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Food!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I visited the hotel on Saturday evening with family, so we were a party of 12. We had pre-ordered 2 courses from the set Christmas menu. We were made to feel welcome and settled down at a festive looking table promptly. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food, so much so that we asked for bread rolls to soak up our gravy! The staff were friendly, pleasant and on the ball. They were attentive with our drinks and didn't mind the extra effort setting up couples' tabs. They also took a few pictures for us. Our only regret was that we didn't pre-order desserts, however we were asked if we would like any. (Unfortunately we had already arranged a bake-off style thing at home) While we were waiting on the bill, we were served warmed mince pies which was a lovely little touch. The price was very reasonable, considering the quality of the food. We have already decided to go back next year!

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    123
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
153
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Did not stay had to cancel annoyed by requests for review but no refund! Was unable to stay due to family emergency. Informed the hotel by telephone received invoice and notice of 48 hours cancellation policy! No refund forthcoming and not happy with requests to review.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank salvinkeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Mr Salvin-Keech

I understand your frustration and no doubt surprise to be asked for an online review when you did not stay. This is a new service trip advisor are offering that we signed upto only last week. We now understand we should have informed Freetobook ( the booking engine ) that in your case you were a "chargeable late cancellation" The automated response would have then been stopped - For that I am sorry and take full responsibility.

With regards to reviewing all our summary categories as "1's" I think is unfair as because you did not stay with us through no fault or our own. You cancelled at 3pm on day of arrival. No one is happy when they incur a cancellation charge.

Regards Scott Wilkinson ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Walked in off the street for dinner without booking on a Saturday evening. The waitress said they were booked but she would see if she could squeeze us in and she did. We got a table that was reserved for a later booking, great common sense approach to use it as we were not staying around all night. The waitress was cheery and helpful. The food was good, I had a steak burger which was fab, my husband had the curry which he enjoyed. We will definitely be back regularly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurf848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Staff all lovely - very welcoming and helpful. Room (in former stable block) was clean and quiet. Food was amazing. We hadn't originally planned to eat there every night but, following a great meal on first night, we went back both other nights. Atmosphere in both bar and restaurant great and good beer too! All in all, couldn't fault it and would highly recommend

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were staying at a B&B elsewhere in Aberdour, so can't comment on the rooms or breakfast, but we ate here on two evenings - the fact that we went back the second time says that we must have enjoyed it!

First time round the steak and ale pie was convincing, especially with the selection of nicely roasted root vegetables that came with it. Plenty of good flavours all round, though personal preference is for a shortcrust or suet pastry rather than the seemingly more common puff or flaky - but this was mitigated by being a tasty double crust pie and not just an oval of pastry plonked on a dish of meat in gravy. A pint (or so) of Eden Clock Brew bitter (local, from St Andrews) was a perfect accompaniment.

For the second visit the Mull Cheddar soufflé with beetroot starter and skate wing and crab Wellington with curried mussels both left me wishing we were staying longer (sadly we were due back south the following day).

On both occasions the staff were very friendly and accommodating, despite the slight feel that there were fewer on duty than might have been the case in high season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttingcdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in Aberdour for a few days and picked this hotel restaurant for one of our meals. The staff was very attentive and accommodating.
I have a food allergy that severely limited my dinner options, so I ordered the Fish & Chips. Let me just say that it was OK.
I also ordered the Turkish Panna Cotta for dessert and it was also a disappointment. It could just be that neither my husband nor my tastebuds cared for this dessert, but we both found it lacking in flavor.
I enjoyed a much better dinner at a hotel restaurant just a few buildings away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived unannounced late on Saturday evening hoping we could get a seat in the restaurant or bar for something to eat. Even though they were well booked up, the Maitre D was really welcoming but apologised that the restaurant was fully booked, but she could find us a place in the bar area - we agreed to that and she found us somewhere to sit straight away.
The bar area is immaculate with very comfortable seating, a really nice atmosphere and a great selection of beers (not many bars have a German wheatbeer on draught, but the Aberdour does).
The food was very well prepared and was with us within fifteen minutes of us being shown to our seats, which was excellent. The service was subtle, understated and effective. All in all, a great meal in a very welcoming hotel. Well worth stopping by if you are looking to eat in Aberdour.
Highly recommended.
I hope this helped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
183 reviews
7.3 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
14.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Property: Aberdour Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing